We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #2 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I brought a very large group to this hotel in March 2012 and am just getting to write this review, but I can't get the Banyan out of my head! It is one of the nicest hotels I've been to and I travel pretty extensively. The villas are stunning, staff is attentive and the food was delicious. The grounds are lovely and the villas offer a ton of privacy. Saffron is one of my FAVORITE restaurants. I don't understand why they haven't received 5 diamonds since they really deserve it.

Room Tip: There are lots of different villa types. The regular rooms are great if it's just 2 people. If m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear PiaWilliams,

Thank you very much for staying with us and writing a review about your experience..

I am very pleased to read your gracious comment of our villas, our staff and our restaurants and I will share your compliments with all mi associates. Hopefully you will come back soon to enjoy again the Saffron restaurant, our Chefs will be delighted to prepare you their culinary highlights.

Please let me know if you need any assistance to organize your next trip to Banyan Tree Mayakoba or any other Banyan Tree around the world.

With best wishes,
Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,661
    209
    80
    26
    14
See reviews for
429
1,176
22
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our townhouse reeked of cleaning fluid after it was cleaned each day. It also smelled musty the rest of the time. Water damage was apparent at the baseboards as they were bubbled. We had to open the sliders to the master bedroom each day to air it out. Also, AC downstairs did not work (despite room card in holder you could NOT control the temp downstairs). We froze and had to turn it off all night in order to sleep. High end coffee maker was a huge pain that only worked when it felt like it. Backed to golf course and a building that roared generator or AC sounds all day long. GORGEOUS property but not worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank MasterOfMultitasking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear MasterOfMultitasking,

Thank you very much for staying recently with us and writing a comment about your vacation.

I sincerely apologize that you did not have a perfect stay at our hotel, and that we felt short of your expectations. I really appreciate your constructive comments which highlight specific areas that we need to rectify to improve our standards, and to reach for a perfect service.
In Banyan Tree Mayakoba we all work with that goal in mind and we will not stop until we have achieved it.

We are looking forward to be given the opportunity to welcome you again.

With best wishes,
Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed for three days to attend the festivities associated with a wedding. It was a wonderful weekend. The accomodations, service, ambience and food were all five star. I especially enjoyed riding the provided bicycle around the beautifully landscaped property..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Richardcoburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear visitor of Banyan Tree Mayakoba,

We are all pleased and honored with comments like yours. We really wish to thank you for your complimentary comments about our hotel facilities, and associates.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

With best wishes,
Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Five days last August. Nice beach, excellent resort facilities. Probably the best managed hotel where I have stayed. If you are in this part of the world, and if it is within your budget, don`t think twice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Pedro1962,

Thank you very much for staying at Banyan Tree Mayakoba and sharing your experience with us.

We really wish to thank you for your complimentary comments about our hotel facilities and associates. Your appreciation is our motivation.

Please let me know if I can assist you in any way to organize your next trip to our hotel.

With best wishes,
Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked a last minute trip to the Banyan Tree Mayakoba in March 2012 and we very pleased with our choice. The hotel was lovely, and the privacy of the villas was exactly what we were looking for - we could be completely self-contained if that was what we wanted, although we did spend time at the main pool and at the beach througout our stay. We stayed in the base-level villa - we were far from the beach but close to reception and to the restaurants. The food at the restaurants was pretty good - we were frankly a little tired of eating at the hotel after 6 nights but that was to be expected. The gym was small but decently appointed. The beach itself was far from the best beach I have ever been on, but the hotel certainly made the most of it and as compared to the other hotels in the same area, we were definitely happy we had chosen the Banyan Tree. If I were to go back, I would ask for a room that got a little more afternoon sun - we got a good portion of the sun in the morning but were in the shade for the most of the afternoon, which was disappointing. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful which made the experience all the more enjoyable. If you are looking for a very low-key, relaxing getaway I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you plan to grab sun in your villa, make sure to get one that is not shaded in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amznyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear amznyc,

The Team of Banyan Tree Mayakoba thanks you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Mexiko and for taking a few minutes to write about your vacation.

I appreciate your positive notes about the hotel, and I was very happy to read that you liked the villa, the service and other facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Mayakoba in the near future.

With best wishes,
Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Bayan Tree Mayakoba for our honeymoon.
It was the final destination and we were amazed.
We found a little paradise.
The service was fantastic, great deal, from reception, clean transport, all very attentive and friendly.
The food in all the restaurants is amazing. Everything is delicious. Waking up every morning and enjoy the extensive breakfast buffet is great, you start your day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank esteverodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear esteverodriguez,

Thank you for staying with us to celebrate your honeymoon and for writing a review about this experience.

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our hotel and to pamper you newlyweds as much as we can! Hopefully you will come back for your anniversary or your babymoon.

Your little paradise will be waiting for you.

With best wishes,
Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just returned from a three night stay at the Banyan Tree Mayakoba. This was to be the highlight of our trip to Mexico and sadly it didn't work out that way. As we were pulling up to the Banyan Tree we were really impressed with the architecture. The lobby area is simply stunning and dramatic!
Our room was not ready upon arrival which was understandable since we were early.. however we didn't get to our room until about 4pm. They placed us in villa 404 which has to be the worst Garden Villa location on the property. Right next to the main drive into the resort and it was so loud outside in the courtyard. Also what suprised me the most was the wear and tear of the villa. The inside floors were stained and looked dirty and the whole villa was dark. The bathroom was also smaller than I imagined. The exterior of the villa, and garden also were a bit of a let down with burnt and torn up grass and poor maintenance of the roof. We were moved to another villa, 508 which was much better inside however the exterior continued to have the same issues and suprisingly you could hear the main highway from even inside the villa.

We had multiple issues with the hotel, the worst being food poisoning from Sands restaurant. I spoke to the front desk the following day to let them know what happened and they neither apologized or offered to investigate. It was really odd. We found the service at the beach to be hit or miss. Some days we were greeted by name and some days there was nobody to be found. Never received complimentary treats like we are used to at Four Seasons hotels or other luxury properties. We always had to go search for staff to take drink orders. We let the hotel know prior to arrival that we were celebrating an anniversary however there was no congratulations and turndown service was hit or miss as well as theynever had slippers placed next to the bed. I have an allergy to seeds and this was communicated to the waiter at our dinner at Saffron. They brough us over some goodies after our meal which was all seeds. Just the attention to detail is missing. We were charged for a car service we didn't use but this was rectified at check out. Besides the food poisoning these are small issues but everything just kept adding up. We sent an email to the assistant front office manager to let her know about our stay and we never received a response. It just seems that the hotel caters to group business and the leisure traveler is forgotten. I expected more from the Banyan Tree.

We did like our spa treatments.. in fact mine was the best I have ever had and we have been lucky enough to go to some wonderful spa's in Asia, including the spas at thePeninsula Bangkok, Landmark Mandarin Oriental, and Four Seasons Hong Kong. My partner commented how he didn't like the layout of the Spa. He didn't like that there was no true locker area and that there is a $48 charge to use the wet facilities which seems like nickel and diming when you are paying $600 for a standard villa. We also loved Saffron... maybe because its setting is beautiful... and maybe because we love Thai food! It was nice to eat something different after 7 nights in Mexico!

Finally, we stayed at a hotel before called the Blue Diamond Riviera Maya. This was the former Mandarin Oriental. I was a bit worried about staying there as I wasn't expecting to get a true luxury experience. I was wrong. We had a beautiful suite, which was larger inside, and in better condition than our villa at the Banyan Tree. The service was leaps and bounds better than the Banyan Tree. I believe many of the staff are left over from when it was the Mandarin Oriental so that may be why it was so good. The property is all inclusive, which was another worry for me. We found the breakfast and lunch to be of excellent quality and what we are accustom to at luxury properties. Dinner was a bit of a let down as it wasn't as good as the other two meals but perfectly adequate. The spa facilities were beautiful and we loved the south beach style vibe by there pool area.

Room Tip: Make sure to avoid rooms near the entrance road to the resort.. rooms in the low 400's if bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear NYC10001,

Thank you very much for staying recently at Banyan Tree Mayakoba and taking a few minutes to write your comment.

I am deeply saddened of the incidences that happened during your stay and we are working hard to ensure that the same are not repeated in the future. Our aim is to satisfy our guests, could be with a romantic turn down service for their anniversary or with the immediately help to resolve any problem our guests may have. Please be kindly assured that your remarks will be discussed with our department heads and that the required action and measures will be taken.

Again, I sincerely apologize that you did not have a perfect stay at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, and that we felt short of your expectations. I am extremely sorry that you had a bad experience with us and I do hope that we are going to be able to restore your confidence into our brand.

With best wishes,
Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,736 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,646 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,033 reviews
6.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,761 reviews
1.4 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Property: Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing