We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #2 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed at a Banyan Tree before, so we had high expectations before we arrived. The Banyan Tree Mayakoba did not disappoint. From the very beginning to the very last day we were surrounded in luxury and treated like royalty. The customer service at the Banyan Tree is consistent, friendly and of exceptional standards.

The villa was exactly as we saw on the photos - so spacious and well appointed. Housekeeping is excellent and the turn down service with a little gift each night leaves you feeling so well treated.

The food can be pricey, especially for the area, but you get excellent quality each time. As long as you are aware of the prices, then you cannot fail to be impressed. We ate all but one night at the Banyan Tree and tried all the restaurants - the food is impressive and worth the price.

Special mention goes to William at La Copa bar - who was so friendly and knowledgeable of the area. He remembered our preferences and offered special cocktails to suit. Our host, Alan, was always at hand for any of our needs. We were originally placed next to a loud generator but Alan immediately moved us to a quieter location without any fuss. He was very friendly and attentive.

Overall an amazing, relaxing holiday at a luxurious hotel with exceptional customer service. If you are looking in this price range, look no further than Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

Room Tip: Room 201-203 are near a loud generator - avoid if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welltravelled07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear welltravelled07

On behalf of all the Banyan Tree Mayakoba staff I say thank you for the nice comments you just have written regarding your stay with us.

I personally feel happy to know that you felt very pampered and relaxed during your vacation and that the personnel you mentioned has gone beyond the expectation you had before arrival.

I wish to be able to welcome you again to our hotel

With best wishes,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,635
    206
    79
    26
    14
See reviews for
424
1,154
22
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We're not crazy about big hotels but the banyan tree definitely did not disappoint. The great architecture and attention to detail is present everywhere you go. We loved taking the boat to the beach, hanging out at our own pool, thai massage/body treatments and even the kitschy rainforest experience at the spa. Out of all the restaurants we enjoyed having dinner at tamarind the best. I know that saffron is highly rated but since we live in los angeles, we're no strangers to delicious thai food. I'm not a fan of breakfast buffet's but I found myself looking forward to eating at the oriente every morning : )

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank naiainlosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear judyk226

It is with great pleasure to read that the staff of the Banyan Tree Mayakoba was able to deliver service up to your expectations.

Thank you for sharing with other travelers that you had an enjoyable stay.

We are looking forward to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

With best wishes,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent 7 nights in a Courtyard Pool Villa. In the past I have stayed in other BT's (Madivaru and Al Wadi) so my expectation of this resort was very high. I am happy to say the hotel was a lot better then I expected. I would go as far as saying it was the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

The Villa was big, well decorated and relaxing. The private pool was the biggest I have seen in a pool villa and so was the hot tub.

The food was incredible. In particular the Lobster Salad in Tamerind was out of this world. I had it at least once a day. You have to try it!

The service was off the richter scale. I thought I had experienced good service in the Middle East and Asia but the service here was a step above. The word NO was just not in their vocabulary. Every request was replied with a friendly "yeah sure no problem". The staff all speak perfect English, friendly and seemed to loved working there.

As long as they do not change anything, I will be back.

Room Tip: 202 was a good room. Very close to reception and Oriente.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nealphillipsBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear nealphillipsBangkok

Thank you for writing at the Trip Advisor site about your stay with us. Your nice notes regarding your experience are very well appreciated by all of our associates; it make us happy to know that our service as left such a good impression on you.

We will be glad to welcome you back again to Banyan Tree Mayakoba,

Wishing you a wonderful day,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Fantastic Hotel. The concept of private villas is unique and quite well implemented. The service is always close at hand but not overwhelming.
I traveled with my wife, and everything was just perfect. I don't know that it would be ideal for kids.
Well worth the prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear viajero de BanaynTree.com

It is great to know that you and your wife had enjoyed the time in our hotel. Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

We will love to welcome you back again for another short break in the sun.

With my best wishes,

Maximilian Lennkh,
Vice President
Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is fantastic. I went there for my honeymoon. My wife and I strongly recommend this hotel for a honeymoon or getaway of any kind. It is perfect for couples. We really enjoyed our garden villa, particularly the private pool, hot tub and pavillion. The rooms are clean, comfortable, stylish and extremely nice. The resort itself is beautiful, well-designed and well-maintained. It is very complimentary to its natural surroundings. The staff was - without exception - helpful, courteous and professional. We loved the on-premises restaurant, Saffron. In fact, it was so good that we ate there twice during our one week stay. We also really enjoyed the breakfast buffet available at the onsite restaurant, Oriente. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear viajero de BanyanTree.com

I am very happy to read that we have been able to live up to your expectations and that we have been able to help to make your Honeymoon a memorable experience. I want to say thank you for celebrating this unique event with us.

Your nice comments are very much appreciated by the whole staff of our resort, thank you for taking the time to recommend Banyan Tree Mayakoba hotel.

With best wishes,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Staying at Mayakoba was an experience I wont soon forget. The level of customer service was off the charts. I need to point out 4 exceptional people. Dassi for giving me the best massage that I have ever had. Francisco at check in . Rafa at The Sands restaurant. Antonio for bringing our delicious coconut drinks on the beach. Our villa was fantastic. This was my first visit to Mayakoba, I cant wait until I can go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear viajero de BanyanTree.com

Thank you very much for your review on your resent trip to our hotel.

All of our associates are appreciative when they receive complimentary comments like yours, and the fact that you have named some of them makes them feel even prouder.

I am happy to note that you enjoyed your stay and please do let me know when you come for a second visit.



With best regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I cannot rave about this resort enough! The stunning villas with private pools and outdoor bathtubs, the perfect white sand beach, the friendliness of the staff, the incredible service, the lush landscaping, the architectural details, the over-the-top brunches.... Our hosts, Priscilla and Francisco, were both extraordinary, and took care of our every need. I have been to Banyan Tree 3 times and plan to return soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 2014alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Viajero de BanyanTree.com

On behalf of Banyan Tree Mayakoba, I would like to thank you for visiting us again. Your nice notes have been shared with our staff, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back for a fourth stay to our resort and we will make sure your stay is nothing else but a amazing experience again.

Wit Best Wishes,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,656 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
1.4 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#11 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
6.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Property: Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing