We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$300
$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$238
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Occidental at Xcaret Destination(Playa del Carmen)
$233
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$437
$421
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$371
$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$419
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$410
$344
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$403
$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,758)
Filter reviews
3,758 results
Traveler rating
3,118
426
120
57
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,118
426
120
57
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssen linambassador sectioncocina de autorzen sectionambassador poolwater journeygrand class poolbutler conciergeazul restaurantzen suitesambassador suiteambassador classkids cluball inclusive resortplunge poolroom servicefour seasons
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 3,758 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2017

At arrival to the time of departure the staff could. It do enough for you! At first we had an issue with our room and Santiago, our concierge, went out of his way to have us moved and even moved our belongings for us!
The resort was gorgeous and clean. The food was amazing! Typically we do not like all inclusive resorts. We have always found the alcohol and food to be mediocre because they didn't need to make an effort since they already had your money. THAT IS NOT THE CASE HERE! The food and drinks were delicious and they use all top shelf alcohol.
We were extremely happy with this vacation and would highly recommend the resort. We will return one day!!!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank hollia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorGVRM1, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

It is our sincere pleasure to note that you became overly satisfied with our personalized customer service, and "amazing" food and beverage, to the point that we may have just changed your overall perception on all-inclusive vacationing.

As a 5 Diamond property, we realize perfectly that our clientele is accustomed to many of the finer things in life. That is why we brought in some of the best culinary talents in Mexico, and the world, to provide you and all our discerning guests world-class dining experiences. And of course, to reach your high expectations, the ingredients and labels that we utilize are rarely found in other all-inclusive hotels, and that, combined with the service you received, helped to generate the feeling of astonished satisfaction that you are expressing in your review.

Thank you for entrusting Grand Velas to deliver this incredible, all-inclusive vacation to you and your family. We are thrilled to know that you are now committed to returning, and you can be assured that you will find the same great consistency in all facets of the holiday experience.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
srgonzalezrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

The hotel is wonderful and absolutely recommended. All its facilities very well maintained and first class. The service in all areas excellent and impeccable. The staff very friendly and ready to have your vacation nice. The food very rich and very varied; there is something for everyone.
Rafael and Monica who works in concierge was very kindly.
The hotel is absolutely recommended.

Room Tip: Grand Zen suite
Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pia2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorGVRM1, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Sra. Pia, your wonderful observations on practically every aspect of your stay are truly appreciated by the staff and management of Grand Velas. Over the years we have focused very creatively on perfecting the vacation experience so that yourself and all of our valued guests gain a feeling of great satisfaction along with warm and wonderful memories.

Thank you for reserving with Grand Velas and for taking a few moments to highlight the considerable efforts of your concierges, Monica and Rafael. Your kind words will surely work to inspire them even further to create excellent vacation experiences for all future guests. On behalf of them and all my 1,700 professionals, I wish you and your lovely family all the best in Lima, Peru. Take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
srgonzalezrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

Wonderful experience with a family of (9). Ages ranged from 4 yrs old to 70 yrs old.

From the moment we checked in there was a lot of attention to detailed and guests. It just kept on improving as days went by.

Fantastic restaurants and pool service was second to none.

Chef Jaime Jimenez at Azul went out of the way to prepare Pozole for the family, and therafter, he served a wonderful 18 lbs baked fish. Of course, the wait staff that assisted him, Alfonso, Karen and Miguel were wonderful and provided excellent service.

The restaurant Autor was a complete treat, especially for those who appreciate fine dining. One of our sons was a chef at the ritz Carlton in Laguna Beach, California and complemented the chef very highly. Our waiter Manuel was fantastic, explained every dish in detail, and also managed to obtain one of the best rums in the world, Zacapa XO for us.

We will visit this and other Velas Resorts in the future. The grand-kids are ready to go back now!!

Familia Ayestas of New Orleans, LA.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorGVRM1, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Carl, I cannot thank you enough for sharing your splendid comments and thoughts on your family´s summer vacation with us.

The attention that was provided to each member of your family is truly indicative of our philosophy on hospitality. We have never forgotten that all-important ingredient of personalized service, whether it be from your maid, waiter, or my head chefs. And as you just experienced, refined abundance, with a touch of "wow factor," indeed can go a long way into making any vacation an unforgettable occasion.

Thank you for entrusting Grand Velas to provide you and the three generations of your lovely family this "wonderful experience." We are honored that you have become attached to the Grand Velas style, and brand, of luxury all-inclusive, and please pass along to the grandkids that we will be at the ready to serve them `til their heart's content.

Until then, all of us that had the pleasure to know you wish you all the best up in Metairie, Louisiana. Thank you, my friend.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
srgonzalezrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

This is our second time visiting Grand Velas Playa Del Carmen this year. The resort is beautiful, the staff is all outstanding, food is the best food I've ever had at an all inclusive, drinks are delicious, rooms are huge and beautiful. The grounds are meticulously groomed by the staff and everyone is so friendly and helpful. The wait staff at the pool and beach are amazing! We love Luis, Pedro and Orlando! Those three spoiled us while we were there! Also, every morning we had breakfast at Azul and Carlos was great! We did chose to tip all the staff. They really work hard and truly deserve the extra $$. We have only stayed in the Ambassador area since we have kids but the Zen and Grand areas are beautiful as well. All of the restaurants are delicious, especially Sen Lin in the Zen area. In the Ambassador area they have a karaoke bar for the kids and every night they usually have some sort of show that goes on in the garden area of the Ambassador pool for about an hour. One night it was a circus show, another night was a fire show, etc. They also have a kids and teen club though our kids didn't visit either of those. The pool at the Ambassador area is large and beautiful. We spent most of our time this last trip at the beach area since Luis, Pedro and Orlando were taking such good care of us! The beach does have some rocky areas and there has been some seaweed there but the resort is really on top of clearing away the seaweed. You can definitely avoid the rocky areas but if you are concerned you can always bring water shoes. People wonder why this all inclusive resort is more expensive then some of the others and it's because they really provide amazing customer service and the food, drinks and amenities are top notch. I've been to those other all inclusive resorts; trust me and try this one and you won't go back to the others. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank chacharn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorGVRM1, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to publish your comments and observations on your latest Grand Velas vacation. Your loyalty and preference towards the resort along with your solid recommendation to others are truly appreciated.

It is wonderful that you found amazing quality in all of our restaurant options. It is our firm desire to provide you and all our affluent guests with an abundance of variety making each day a new experience. And just so you realize, at your favorite dining venue, Sen Lin, we are honored to have in our employ renowned Chef Wayu "Light" Wattanakamin as its master chef. He brings with him ample experience from world class restaurants in Dubai and Kuwait and now Chef Light is here with us, dedicating his talents toward the pleasure of our guest´s refined palates.

Thank you again for making Grand Velas your place of preference for luxury vacations. My staff and I cannot wait to have your family back with us allowing my team to create even more excellent experiences. Until next time, we wish you and your lovely family a prosperous and happy summer in the Windy City of Chicago, Illinois. Take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
srgonzalezrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Always beautiful BUT a medium to heavy storm was hovering.
Playa de Carmen has definitely grown larger than cozumel!!!!!
The beaches are better here though. Great restaurants and always friendly people.
I do not believe there is a bad hotel, you just need to decide if you want to wake up and see the carribean or walk a block( very short ).You can stay @ a smaller hotel and have drinks @ the larger hotel.

Room Tip: facing the ocean
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varchia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorGVRM1, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thank you for sharing your preference on Playa del Carmen. You are correct to say that this beautiful vacation destination offers the best beaches and amenities, and of course, there truly is much selection for everyone´s vacation needs. Until next visit, we wish you all the best.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
srgonzalezrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews