We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Can I just start with a big WOW. We were very skeptical of staying at an all inclusive hotel - our travel agent talked us into staying at The Grand Velas and thank goodness she did! The service of all the staff members is hands down some of the finest we've ever had. Amy and Alessio at the front desk were so helpful and our wonderful concierge Guiellermo. The grounds are stunning and rooms clean and comfortable. The 2 counselors (Diego & Daniel) who helped with the kids were awesome with my daughter. The food was delicious - for us the stand outs being the french restaurant and Frida. Ricardo (restaurant manager) made sure that the prosecco I like was on ice next to our table every night, outstanding! Even the food & service by the pool was great. Stunning pools and beach, enough said we will be back and can't wait!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed at The Ambassador over the Zen but both are stunning properties depending if you want a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

“WOW” is the word that came to my mind when reading your enthusiastic account of your holiday with us. The excitement that you experienced is still felt after your return home. And that is our goal. To create an everlasting impression for our cherished guests.

And one that will not be forgotten anytime soon. I will send a copy of your gracious comments to the persons mentioned so that they can see first-hand the results of their attitude and service. By the way Lori, last night I also had the prosecco on ice at Fridas. All thanks to your recommendation. I look forward to meeting you and your family in person in the near future. Thanks again for your kind words and for your lovely dinner option.

Kind Regards,

FERNANDO GARCIA ROSSETTE
Director General / Managing Director
Grand Velas Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,922 - 1,928 of 3,431 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just got back from Grand Velas. This was our second trip to Riviera Maya. The last time we stayed at Rosewood Myakoba. We decided to try an all inclusive but thought it would never compare to Rosewood which we loved. Well, we were very surprised. GV was wonderful. Marco and Jose on the beach adopted us and provided exceptional service. Alfonso, our waiter at Azul, was top notch. We loved the restaurants except for the molecular restaurant Arturo. That was just way too strange. We were amused by the reactions of others in the restaurant, got through the meal, and promptly ordered room service. My boys loved the teen club. The gym was great. The Service was great and the help all seemed to really enjoy their jobs. It was busy but not crowded. We had family photos taken by the on site photographer and we will treasure them forever. It was a great vacation.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing comments on your very recent stay with us at Grand Velas.

Marco and Jose, some of our outstanding pool staff, remember your family well and were very enthused by the energy of your boys. They certainly made the most of all the options that were provided to them.

Thank you also for your perceptions of our restaurants and of their service. The choices of dining that are offered are truly over the top, which includes our unique option “Cocina de Autor”. Well, the description “way too strange” as you put it, may be confused with “avant garde”. But that´s all right, as Cocina de Autor is certainly just one of the few venues in the world that delights the palate in a planned and organized manner. You had travelled a 14 course tasting menu designed in a way to resemble a symphony orchestra. Starting with mellow and savory flavors and building up to the crescendo of a tantalizing finish, which included sliced shrimp in a poblano sauce and a roast beef, slow cooked for 24 hours. All 14 dishes combine to form a delectable culinary journey, aided at every step of the way by our fine wines and knowledgeable and attentive service. Not something to be rushed, but to be shared in quality time and in good company.

I am pleased that your vacation was an event that you will treasure forever, and I am sure that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again at one of our Velas properties. Please take care and have an excellent summer.

Kind Regards,
Fernando Garcia Rossette
Director General / Managing Director
Grand Velas Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had such a great vacation to GV and were completely able to leave home behind. The food was incredible, service was top notch, but what made our trip memorable was heading to the piano bar for nightly drinks and language lessons with Edgar. He is truly an artist when it comes to his drinks. Not only did he make our trip very memorable, but we left with another close friend and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTidball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

There are various aspects to a perfect vacation or getaway as you put it. Normally those are: hotel installations, service and product. However I believe that your “Perfect Getaway” was the result of those three aspects and of course the friendship that you forged with our barman Edgar. Edgar is an interesting person that we were able to recruit a year and a half ago, and has elevated himself to head barman through his willingness to learn, his professionalism and his gift of befriending his guests. In a subtle and unobtrusive way, an interest and a respect are formed, leading to fond memories of the visit and to the entire vacation experience. Edgar really is a fine addition to an already outstanding staff. Thank you for your kind words, and I look forward to having you as our guests again in the future.

Kind Regards,
FERNANDO GARCIA ROSSETTE
Director General / Managing Director
Grand Velas Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The service was absolutely amazing, the people were so nice, and the food was incredibly delicious! The bar tender, Edgar, was definitely one to remember, so you don't miss a visit to the bar to meet him! If you go, you should ask him to make you a "MK" and find out the history behind the drink. He made the trip one to never forget!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awall2423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments about our service and in particular Edgar and his famous “MK” cocktail. He and his personality really help set the ambiance to a perfect evening and his personal touch in mixing the Grey Goose with various red fruits well, only he can do it so naturally. As for the history of the MK? I will just have to let you ask Edgar for yourself when you visit him in paradise. Thank you again for your lovely anecdote.

Kind Regards,
FERNANDO GARCIA ROSSETTE
Director General / Managing Director
Grand Velas Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I decided to have our wedding here after staying at GV 2 years ago and loving it. We made the wrong choice! The resort is just not the same and the wedding side of it was horrific!!!!

Not only was our wedding process a total nightmare! So was the resort side. We had 3 different wedding coordinators and we had to fire one who literally knew nothing and totally contradicted our previous coordinator who left the resort. He refused to email me back with any information we needed. They over charged us and blindsided us with extra charges. I had to re-tell them over and over to get anything accomplished and god forbid we ask for anything out of the ordinary they were so unwilling to help. Every answer was - LET ME VERIFY. Then would forget to get back to us. The process was so stressful and on our wedding day it rained and they had no backup for us so the whole reception was a disaster. During our dinner/speeches 4 people were standing up and our coordinator would NOT get them chairs bc she said 5 people couldn't sit at a table!! Who cares just get them a freaking chair!!! It's too many things to list but I would tell any one who is thinking of getting married here...get married somewhere else!!!! NOT at GV! They are not willing to go out of their way to help with anything! Lazy lazy lazy!


As for our wedding guests.. People were over charged at check in and realized later. 5 different people had things stolen out of their rooms. Including 1 whole bag of stuff with their passports in the bag. It was missing for a day then once we went to police station and got new passports and looked at security footage and them telling us they were not responsible - somehow the bag was " misplaced" and they found it in a empty room.

They were so unhelpful it was embarrassing for us to have brought so many guests to this resort.

We are just, disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
46  Thank JLW421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to organize and detail your experiences of your wedding with us. With our vast experience in the matrimony of couples there have always been improvision and changes that arise due to the wishes of the families, others due to circumstances beyond our control such as inclement weather and others for changes to the site itself.

It is important to note that alterations to the wedding schedule and its amenities can result in different and/or extra charges depending on the specifics of each modification. Myself, in all my experience, have not seen a wedding event without the nervousness of one or more family member, but when the rings are exchanged and the first marriage kiss is given, all the stress completely falls away.

A beautiful wedding between two young adults is one of the most significant days of their lives. We do understand that importance and we are capable in making that special day memorable and cherished for all involved. In speaking to the wedding coordinator and the event captains who were present for your wedding I am told that your wedding specifically was one of the most beautiful and emotional that we have hosted here in Grand Velas.

Also, it must be stated that in question of theft, the items mentioned in the report were in a common suite, set aside just for use and access of the invited of your wedding party. Not wishing to refer to more specifics in the report, it is important that this be made clear.

Having said all this, I believe that some of your details have some validity, and I sincerely apologize for the perception that you feel. However, if the positive aspects experienced by your family and group were also mentioned in your review, one would be able to see that they would far outweigh the negative points.
Again, thank you for taking the time and we genuinely wish the best for your newly formed matrimony.

Kind Regards,
Fernando Garcia Rossette
Director General / Managing Director
Grand Velas Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Fabulous food excellent service beautiful surroundings nothing to fault.Great for little kids,teens,young adults and older family members.Very clean.Planning to go to Grand Velas at Riviera Nayarit this year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you Alex for your note on TripAdvisor and your description of your vacation here at Grand Velas. You are right when you say that vacationing here is great for all generations. We have everything for all ages, from our Kid´s Club all the way up to our flagship restaurant Cocina de Autor for adults. One may have to stay a few extra nights in order to enjoy all that we have to offer in the way of cuisine and activities. We do look forward to seeing the smiles of your family again in the future Alex. Thank you again and take care.

Fernando Garcia Rossette
Director General / Managing Director
Grand Velas Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and our friends had one of the most enjoyable vacations at your resort. I have never experienced such high customer service from a resort as we did with the Grand Velas. On top of the great customer service the food was outstanding. We will definitely be planning on coming back in the future.

Thanks again. Ya’ll did an awesome job!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you Brian for sharing your thoughts with other travelers. The detailed customer service aspect that you refer to is the product of our owner whose mandate is to make you, our guest, feel that all your needs have been met and your expectations exceeded. Every staff member will do whatever he or she can in order to grant your wishes and even making the impossible possible. Again Brian, thank you, and I know we will see you in the future. Take Care.

FERNANDO GARCIA ROSSETTE
Director General / Managing Director
Grand Velas Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,250 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#2 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,163 reviews
5.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
4.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#10 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun Tulum Km 62, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $714 - $1,586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Velas Riviera Maya is one of the newest resorts to distinguish Riviera Maya as a premier vacation destination. The uniquely Mexican world-class hospitality we provide is "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare", and we are proud to be the only family-friendly All Inclusive resort in the Mexican Caribbean to have been rated Five Diamonds by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort, Riviera Maya
Grand Velas All Suites & Spa Resort, Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing