We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

After reading many reviews I was unsure if the hotel could meet our expectations, fortunately for the most part it did. As per previous reviews the size of the room was excellent and the decor of a high standard, we stayed in the grand class so enjoyed a magnificent view of the beach, although the mini pool on the balcony was a nice idea we barely used it and the space could have been better used.
We stayed for 10 nights and were able to try all the restaurants, whilst I enjoyed the experience of Cocina del Autor , it would not be to everyones taste , however we had mentioned that it was our anniversary so it was a nice surprise to receive a cake at the end. Service was mixed and although I was never asked directly to tip I sometimes felt a little ignored by some staff particularly at Piaf, however the food was of excellent quality throughout as was the choice of wine, I would recommend trying the Bistro if it is open. One thing to be aware of is that you may have made reservations online before arriving and then find the restaurant you had booked is closed , I think they plan restaurant closures on a weekly basis so if you have booked in advance it is best to check. My son did not want to go to some of the restaurants and was delighted with the room service menu, service was always prompt and food excellent, I would also recommend trying room service for breakfast, the presentation and choice was amazing.

The beach and pool areas were both very good , the hotel was very quiet when we stayed so we often felt we had the pool to ourselves, the staff seemed quite aloof to start with but were more friendly as the holiday progressed.

The hotel also pay for a taxi to take you to nearby Playa del Carmen, it is good for an afternoon trip and for picking up souvenirs.

All in all I would highly recommend this resort and agree with the other comments that the food surpasses that of most other all inclusive resorts, as I mentioned service was hit and miss, the waitress in the Sky bar was always a delight whilst Jorge at Piaf was sullen and unhelpful, but maybe he was having a bad day!

I agree that it would be better if wi fi was included in the price but as everything else was paid for it was a major issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenbAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of Grand Velas Riviera Maya we would like to thank you for your preference. It is our mission to search for excellence and guest’s satisfaction every day and your comments encourage us to continue with this effort, we will be glad to share them with all the members of our staff.
Looking forward to have the opportunity to host you soon.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,418
    380
    107
    54
    34
See reviews for
1,253
926
23
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Terrible customer service! Our ipad was taken from the pool area on our first day. The staff was so unhelpful, inconsiderate and disrespectful. They blamed other guests for the loss. They truly did nothing about it - wouldn't even discuss it. One month later, we got an alert from Apple - our ipad was found in Mexico! Not surprised just disappointed. We have been at this resort before but will never go again. Grand Velas has changed in many ways and certainly not for the better.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
33 Thank risabar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

From the moment I arrived this was an amazing experience. I read some of the reviews and anything reported as poor is straight BS. Room in zen was amazing. Staff speaks more English then any other resort I have been to here. Every single meal I had was superior pools are all infinity and heated perfectly maintained. Beach is cleaned every morning. There is no entertainment staff here. No one tried to sell us anything or bothered us besides asking if we needed anything.
This is beyond 5 stars,diamonds etc. this is the crystal cruise of the all inclusive. Will totally stay here again

Room Tip: Stay in Zen if you want quite. Rooms near the pools are noisy when there are children
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,


We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best not only to maintain the quality of the service we provide, but also to go beyond our guests’ expectations.
Looking forward to host you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have always been put off by the idea of all inclusive hotels. A scrum at the buffet, mediocre food and poor service. Under pinned by the thought that the hotel has your money so they don't have to try. Not Grand Velas, the food is the best we have ever had at a 'holiday hotel'. 6 a la carte restaurants and a buffet location. Sen Lin is top quality Asian food, Piaf excellent French cuisine and Lucca does superb pasta. Not forgetting Frida which is top quality Mexican. Service is abundant particularly at the pool, anything you need they will supply. The de-constructed ceaser salad by the pool had to be seen to be believed. The rooms are top quality with plenty of space and whirlpool baths. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Go for a Zen room, all rooms are basically the same and being in the jungle is not an inconvenience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your preference on Grand Velas Riviera Maya as your holiday destination.
All your positive comments are certainly a reason to keep doing our best effort in every service we provide and encourage us to continue in our research for excellence. Rest assured that they will be sent to all our staff that participated in creating those memories in your life.
We truly hope to have you with us in a near future.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We visited the hotel 8 months before our wedding and was blown away by hotel facilities and "5 star rating". The wedding planner at the time made it seem like such an ease and that they would be able to accommodate everything! We were up for a big disappointment. A month after our visit that wedding planner left and we were given a "group planner" that has not only added no value to the wedding process but has given us incorrect info, never reachable and in fact avoiding us! We have never received one inbound call to discuss details or recommendations, we had to call them and when doing so it felt as if we were a hassle to deal with. As we get closer to the date we are now being told that there are extra charges being incurred which we were not made aware of before hand. Even the timing of the ceremony was overlooked! The ceremony was scheduled for 530pm the sunsets in Mexico at 5pm in Feb, that means it would be pitch dark! This is just one of the many details that was all overlooked. Net Net we are at wits end, unfortunately it's too late to make any changes but would recommend to any brides out there who is considering a wedding here to think twice. It has been an unpleasant, stressful process. Should also mention that management is not available to address all our concerns.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
22 Thank Sengmany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I just got back from a quick four day get-away at this fabulous all-inclusive resort. I have stayed at many all-inclusives in Cancun, Playa del Carmen, Cozumel and Puerta Vallarta but this place completely surpassed any other resort I have stayed at. The grounds were impeccable--from the beach to the two huge pool complexes facing the beach, the beautiful Shangri-la-like jungle setting around the spa and the spa pool complex (our personal favorite). Service was top-notch as well. All of the waitstaff at the fabulous restaurants were wonderful, the food was superb--and the drinks were made with quality ingredients and liquor. Our room concierge was great too, and the all-inclusive room service menu was wonderful! We are already planning to return next year for another girls weekend away and we wouldn't go anywhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Zen Suites which were substantially less expensive because they are not right on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbmomto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful comments with other travelers.
We would love to have the opportunity to host you again very soon and give you once more the good service you have already experienced but now with all the family .

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I brought 60 business associates to this resort for 4 days (obviously spending a lot of money) and extended my stay for 3 days for some personal time with my wife. To say we are disappointed is an understatement!! We've been to the beach twice and while they claim their is "butler" service on the beach, we never saw anyone, couldn't get any towels and I repeatedly had to go up to the bar for drinks (do you think someone would have noticed?). We've tried for two nights to eat at the Sen Lin restuarant and it's been closed both nights. So tonight we tried their signature restuarant, Cocina De Autor, and it's also closed and it's Saturday night!!!! The service we have recieved at the restaurants that are actually open has been very mixed, some OK, some very bad. We've had to wait extended periods for food, repeatedly ask for our drinks to be filled, ask for bread, ask for salt&pepper, even had a waiter get rude with us when my wife asked for a menu (it was a buffet but they also offered a la carte). Our "suite" is supposed to have butler service yet after 5 days here, I haven't seen anyone.
I stay all over the world in 5 star hotels & resorts and this place is not even close. Triple AAA should be embarrassed for giving this place a 5 diamond rating in 2012!!!

P.S. We have tiny ants ALL OVER our bathroom!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CotoCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Public Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your comments. We take very serious all the our guests feedback. And we already taking action in every point of your review.

We will share this review with the Restaurant Managers, Pool Concierge and Concierge Managment. In order to improve our services and keep the status we have earned.

We are very concerned on not filling your expectations and we are looking forward to serve you in a future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,724 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,763 reviews
13.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,157 reviews
5.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
2.7 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#74 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Property: Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Cancun Tulum Km. 62 | Municipio de Solidaridad, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the luxurious All Inclusive Luxury Resort Grand Velas Riviera Maya is one of the newest resorts to distinguish Riviera Maya as a premier vacation destination. The uniquely Mexican world-class hospitality we provide is "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare", and we are proud to be the only family-friendly All Inclusive resort in the Mexican Caribbean to have been rated Five Diamonds by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort, Riviera Maya
Grand Velas All Suites & Spa Resort, Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing