We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i will do anything to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 6, 2012

this place is amazing. They do not miss a beat. anything you want at anytime they will get find or make without a question. Food it like going out to a boston restaurant every day/night!

Make it happen and go, you will be so glad you did!

Room Tip: jungle for family beach side for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robynquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thanks ladies for your lovely comments.
is a pleasure to serve our guests and make them feel better than at home, we look forward to his presence again in this paradise.

on behalf of the staff of Grand Velas Riviera Maya we send warm greetings and wish you a happy 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,973 - 1,979 of 3,245 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were at Grand Velas for a wedding over the weekend for 3 days. Having just spent our Spring break here this year,it was such a treat to be able to come back again so soon. This is such a beautiful,classy,spotless and well run resort. It was nearly empty at this time and our wedding party and another wedding party were probably the only ones there.
Check in was smooth,food was good,the beach is super white,soft and super clean at all times and the pool is the best I've ever been to. We were in the Ambassador class and all rooms are ocean view here. The sea was pretty rough and the beach had red flags all 3 days we were there. The service at this resort is impeccable. Anytime you want anything or ask something,it's done right away or exactly at the time you want it done!
Although very short,we had a beautiful time at this beautiful property. We hope to be back some day again,maybe at their Nueve Vellarta resort as we haven't been to that one.

Room Tip: All ambassador and grand class rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smile_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Mr. and Mrs..
thank you very much for your significant comments about their stay at Grand Velas Riviera Maya.
it was our pleasure to have had an opportunity of serving you and give them our best care in the service, all with the warmth that distinguishes us.
respect to the beach and this is seasonal flags, and it is precisely in high winds, but most of the time the sea is very calm like a pool.
the back hope to return soon to serve once again.
The Riviera Maya Hotel staff wishes you a happy new year. 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

You cannot beat the Grand Velas Resort. Hands down, the best place I've had the privilege of staying during my time down south. Nestled between the coral reefs and tropical jungle of the Riviera Mayan. Photos don't do the resort any justice! You must experience it in person!

The suite was gorgeous with an amazing balcony view of the ocean, huge jacuzzi tub, and turn-down service every night. Each Suite has its own butler service available 24hrs. Room service is quick, friendly, and aways a treat. You even have a pillow menu with a dozen or so different types of pillows you can order for your bed.

The many restaurants at the resort were top notch, food was highest of quality, service everywhere on the result was immaculate. The resort was extremely tranquil and very relaxing.

Even though we were told there were over 600 guests at the resort, it never felt like it. We barely saw a 2 dozen people around at any given time.

If you have the chance, visit this resort. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: I understand there are some suites with a balcony containing a private pool. From what I heard these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RunnerJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have been to many different resorts both for family trips and business trips and the Grand Velas in Playa del Carmen has been the best resort yet! We went toward the end of October and it was not crowded at all. In fact there were several days when we were the only family out at the pool. We did spend a little extra to get the Ocean Front Suite with pool in the Ambassador section - well worth it. The restaurants were all excellent, but our favorite was Lucca (we ate their twice). Pool food was great too! Room service for breakfast out on your balcony is a must do! The service all over the entire resort was outstanding. My children loved it as well. We will definately be going back!

Room Tip: Must get the Ocean Front Suite with lunge pool in the Ambassador Section - soooooo nice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DawnMParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Words can't say or express the extent of 5 Star Service at this Hotel! The beautiful room (even though we were in a Zen Suite) it did not disappoint us. Our personal concierge Vanessa was a dream and so sweet to work with. She was instrumental in advice and suggestions and made us feel right at home. Thank you Vanessa ~ I wish all hotels had someone like you! You make the hotel and the connection with the guest genuine and sincere with first class expertise. Now, for the really cool part ~ our bartender Augusto at the Sky Bar ~ Wow! He should be in Napa as he discovered our personal likes about wine and found the perfect blend! His level of professionalism and true desire to make us happy made us feel like rockstars and the real rockstar is servers like himself! Way to go Augusto! We can't wait to come back and visit you! The rest of the staff must be mentioned...the drivers and service from arrival to departures are all outstanding! They truly love their jobs and have been wonderful and gracious hosts! Way to nail it Grand Velas! Best HOTEL EVER! Second time here since March and coming back soon! Love it!
Grace & Mark Nungesser
Dallas, Texas

Room Tip: Ambassador room but Zen is ok but must take the shuttle to get to the beach area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Nungesser Family:

Thank you very much for choosing Grand Velas Riviera Maya in this second time as your Home away from Home.

Your kind comments inspire us to continue providing the best quality of service and keep doing our best effort in every detail. We also appreciate the time you took to recognize the effort of Vanessa and Augusto we will certainly share your comments with them.

We are looking forward to serve you in the future

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I visited here for a week back in May and did not think to write a review until i stayed in a very sub par resort in Playa last week. This place was fantastic- not crowded and every little detail was there for me to use with ease. Every night when i would come back to my room from an amazing dinner the room would smell like jasmine and be so nice! The towels, sheets and bath robes provided are so soft! Room service is the best i have ever seen anywhere and every thing tastes unbelievable- especially the breakfast buffet!
This is a pricey resort but worth every penny to help you truly relax and enjoy your vacation without those tacky routines and skits by staffers dancing on the bars and asking you to play volleyball 45 times a day while you try to sleep. .
Hope to go back for my honeymoon in June.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Warm regards from the Sunny Riviera Maya! We will be very honored to hosting such an important celebration in June. We deeply appreciate the time you took to provide us your review with all your impressions and great memories of your stay with us,

All your positive comments are certainly a reason to keep doing our best effort in every service we provide and encourage us to continue in our research for excellence. Rest assured that they will be sent to all our staff that participated in creating those memories during your stay.


We truly hope to have you with us on you next visit to celebrate together this amazing Ocassion

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

During a work trip I stayed in many hotels in Cancun & Riviera Maya and was simply blown away by the suite at The Grand Velas! Absolutely massive with a jacuzzi bath, double walk in shower, sofa area and the outside patio has a nice comfy day bed and plunge pool.

The breakfast buffet was nicely laid out with lots of choices to keep everyone happy.
The hotel has 2 pools, one is an adults only infinity pool and this is where I spent most of my time.
The staff were very friendly and the food was to die for! We went to the Cocina de Autor restaurant where we sampled the tasting menu. Several small plates each accompanied by a different wine. The chef would come out with each course and explain what the dish contained and how to eat it. I could easily describe this as the best dinner experience I have ever had!

Also worth mentioning are the staff who serve you drinks whilst you are on the beach :-)

All in all a beauitful resort, amazing food and out of this world suites!

Room Tip: If your budget can stretch go for the grand class suite with ocean views & private plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Our hotel is always open for any comments or suggestions, as our mission is to exceed the expectations of our guests.
Regarding your comments our pool concierge is in charge to assign a place to avoid a guest reserve 2 spots at the same time, taking your comments further we are working in increase the seating capacity at the beach area.
Looking forward to host you again
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
6.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,947 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,481 reviews
5.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,019 reviews
6.2 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#37 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,332 reviews
2.7 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
13,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun Tulum Km. 62, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $753 - $1,908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Velas Riviera Maya is one of the newest resorts to distinguish Riviera Maya as a premier vacation destination. The uniquely Mexican world-class hospitality we provide is "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare", and we are proud to be the only family-friendly All Inclusive resort in the Mexican Caribbean to have been rated Five Diamonds by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites & Spa Resort, Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort, Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing