We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Riviera Paradise(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Petit Lafitte(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,547)
Filter reviews
3,547 results
Traveler rating
2,921
413
119
57
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,921
413
119
57
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssen linambassador sectioncocina de autorzen sectionambassador poolwater journeygrand class poolbutler conciergeazul restaurantzen suitesambassador suiteambassador classkids cluball inclusive resortroom serviceplunge poolamazing spa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,229 - 2,234 of 3,547 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just returned from Riviera Maya and stayed 2 nights at Grand Vellas. The hotel is just wonderful. Big, very big rooms, all facing the sea - I had one Grand Class Suite, with my own plunge pool. All the instalations are nice, great food (we went to Frida, with a very tasty mexican gourmet food and to Piaf) and a very heplfull staf.

The Spa is just amazing. One of the best I even been. The treatment I received, all the water circuits... makes you feel so... relaxed...

Room Tip: If going without kids, stay at the Grand Class Suites...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

thank you for giving us part of your valuable time , to comment his experience in our hotel, for us it was a pleasure to serve.

about the comment from leaks in the palapas we are already working on them
We hope you come back soon and have the opportunity to serve again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for a week in September. This was our first all inclusive trip and it didn't disappoint. A category 1 hurricane blew in just south of us so the staff buttoned down the hotel for 2 days. The pools and beach were closed but all the restaurants and the rest of the hotel stayed open.

Our room. All the rooms are suites and very large. We were not in the Grand Class though we had some friends that were. I know we would have preferred a Grand room over ours but there was absolutely nothing wrong with our room. I asked our room attendant if I could get Dos XX in the room instead of Modelo and Heineken and for the rest of the week our mini fridge was stocked with Dos XX. The maids did a great job daily. The bathroom was huge and had a huge stand up shower with 2 shower heads. There was also a large tub.

The food. Fantastic. I can't say it enough. I was worried about the quality after going on a cruise and being less than impressed but everything we had there was great. The specialty restaurants are a cool feature. We enjoyed the Mexican one the most but some other people we were with preferred the French one. I guess its just about personal preference.

The pool. We spent all our time at the adults only Grand Class pool. My wife and I don't like dealing with other people's kids so it's a nice feature that the hotel has a section for adults only. The pool (Grand class and the large, main pool) were always very clean and the bartenders at the pool bar were great. Premium spirits are a really nice touch too.

The beach. We only spent one day on the beach but not because it wasn't nice. We prefer pools. The sand was perfect and there was very little trash on the beach.

The spa. We didn't go personally but friends went the day most of the resort was closed for the hurricane and they raved about it. If we go back to Grand Velas, the spa is definitely on our list of must do's.

Complaints: A lot of the resort is palapa roofed. It looks great but they leak in places. We were eating lunch our first day on the property at Azul and a thunderstorm rolled through. The restaurant roof sprung a bunch of leaks. The staff said the eco policy of the hotel is the reason they can't fix the roof better. Birds nest up on the roof or something. Not a big deal, more of a quirk. And that's all I can find to complain about.

Definitely an awesome trip. Would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Spring for the Grand Class.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jlehmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best not only to maintain the quality of the service we provide, but also to go beyond our guests’ expectations.
Looking forward to host you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

First of all I should say during September the hotel is practically empty, so the service is excellent! Everyone is on top of you! I don´t know if this happens during high season.

We stayed at the Ambassador, in a room with a little pool. It is really not worth having the pool, it is really small, so I do not recommend to take this one...it is a more expensive room and not worth it.

The room is beautiful, very nicely decorated and super comfortable. The food at restaurants is very nice, although I would not say it is the best I have tried. For the money you pay, they should include tips, so you don´t have to waste time writing amounts and calculating anything in every single meal. Also for breakfast if you ask for water or cappuccino, they charge you apart!!! This is unbelievable! So it is not truly an all inclusive! Beware of this… so you don´t get a surprise during check out.

One thing I must recommend is the Spa, Wow!!! Mind blowing!!! This is a must!!! It is expensive, but completely worth the money! Before the massages or treatment you choose, you can use the hydrotherapies pool and saunas….and they are just spectacular!!!

Another bad thing is they do not include Wi-Fi! A hotel of this level and quality should have Wi-Fi. We had to pay 114 USD for 5 days…and you have to do it yourself in your room, entering your credit card on the page displayed in your computer/mobile when trying to access internet.

In general the hotel is beautiful, excellent service, gorgeous pools and super nice beach! Rooms are beautiful and comfortable and people are super nice and attentive. My only complaint is that for this expensive high level luxury hotel, supposed to be all inclusive, you should get more for your money….tips, water, cappuccino and Wi-Fi should be included!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MARIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is my third trip to Grand Velas after staying at over 50 other all inclusives including Secrets, Sandals, Dreams and Beaches resorts, and nothing compares to the quality of food and service. My wife had special diet needs (nothing acidic, no citrus or tomatoes) and prior to each meal, the waiter asked about special requests. In Piaf, the French Restaurant, Chef Michel Mustiere changed the tri-color soup (tomato, split pea and pumpkin) to a bi-color soup (no tomato) as well as changing other entrees. The presentation of the food is un-matched unless you are at the finest New York, Paris or San Francisco restaurants. At Lucca, the Italian Reataurant, CHef Aurelio Arista also made special dishes with awsome presentations. The waiters, desk and pool staff used our names every time they addressed us, and the Velas Grand Ambassador Suites with huge hot tubs and balcony plunge pools are the best in Mexico If you want a discount trip with Red Lobster or Longhorn Steakhouse food this is not the place for you. If you want unmatched service and best professionally prepared gourmet food in the Western Hemisphere, including room service, Grand Velas Playa Del Carmen is for you.

Room Tip: Grand Ambassador Suites are more expensive, but worth every penny for an experience you will never forget. No other hotel chain has rooms like these.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mfingerhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear guest,
On behalf of Grand Velas Riviera Maya we would like to thank you that you have honored us with your stay.
The attentiveness of our service, and the delight of our culinary tour make from your experience with us a memorable one in your life. Thank you very much for your recommendation to future travelers.
We would love to host you again.
Warm regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Fantastic place service and food,the room was perfect so well dow every furniture was discrete and beautiful. i love the shower like a rain fall and on to the night take a deep to a jacuzzi on the terrace was the most relax....The service was impeccable we went to all the restaurant and I can't decide which was the best, each has a different flavor and taste but have in common the perfection of cooking and presentation. Also the staff was gentle and professional always at your service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nadia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

greetings.

thank you very much for your recommendations, so that other people around the world become aware of the quality and warmth we have.
Thank you again.

we hope to see you soon. waiting for his return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews