We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime location... Friendly staff... Enjoyable stay! =)”
Review of Hotel de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Mar
Reviewed October 4, 2009

I stayed at Maria Sabinas for a week in Sept 2009. #1- Location. Literally "meters" from the Beach, 5 minute walk to the Main Bus Stop, 10 minute walk to the Night Clubs... and it's just off 5th Avenue aka "main shopping/restaurant district". Across the street is a 24 Hour Convenience Store- open all day& all night, PLUS a Bank Machine. I would HIGHLY recommend this to SINGLE or young travellers, as all the staff can speak English-- and they're ALL super friendly AND amazingly helpful!!! You'll most-likely make friends with them very easily. I stayed in the "all-girls dorm". YES- They have Lockers (they also DID provide Me with a Lock) and very coooool Air Conditioning. My room had a Balcony with a view of the Ocean- lovely! It was QUIET in my room at night- no noise. Very comfortable, and very respectful and friendly roommates. Bed Sheets, Towels, Soap, and Toilet Paper were provided and changed daily. Toilets were scrubbed daily, too. Free Breakfast at 7am-10am, with papayas, bananas, watermelon, tea/coffee/milk, and white or brown bread w/ strawberry jam. There's Free Purified Water Anytime too (except after 10pm when they lock the kitchen). You'll meet travellers ages 20-35 from all over the world... like Europe, USA, Australia, South America, Israel. There's also lotsa places to "socialize"- including the kitchen, the internet table (by the front desk), and on the 3rd Floor there's an AMAZINGLY COOL Outdoorsy-type STRAW-HUT aka open-air "lounge" area w/ couches n' chairs, and a hammock, where they serve FREE Booze at 10pm! Way to sit, sip, and socialize!!! :) As for level of comfort, I felt very safe here. As for the "looks" of the rooms-- Keep in mind, this is a Hostel in Mexico...helllloo... If you are A SEASONED hostel traveller... you know "to expect" bunk-beds with plastic covered mattresses... so this should NOT phase you, if you are INFACT used to staying at hostels anyways... I've stayed at many hostels around the world, so I thought this was ACCEPTABLE. This is Mexico too- so ALSO please -- dont expect 5 star looking bathrooms... the ones at Maria Sabinas have a basic sink, a toilet, and a stand-up shower. EACH room has a bathroom that looks "kinda-old" but ok for the most part. Yes- there IS Hot Water. =) In every room also, there is a TV, and outlets to charge your cel phone. The rooms are basic- bunkbeds, tv, airconditioning, and lockers, and a few tables to put your stuff. PLUS a nice balcony. All in all, for the price- and the LOCATION- and the AMAZINGLY friendly staff - (the friendliest staff from ANY hostel I've been to in the world!!!) - and the NEW people you meet - and the socializing - the airconditioned QUIET dorms with the BEAUTIFUL balcony views - the free "all-you-can eat" breakfast - free booze at night - CHEAP TOURS at the front desk as well to "Chitzen Izta" - Close to BUS - Close to BEACH - Close to Shopping - 10 Min walk to Nightlife - Again SUPER Helpful Staff-- GREAT LOW PRICE--- Seriously, if you're a young traveller looking for a nice, relaxing, and fun time in Playa Del Carmen- at a place that is safe and inexpensive, at a PRIME location, then I would TOTALLY RECOMMEND MARIA SABINA'S !!! - Tara from Canada :)

PS There are NO BUGS that I saw, the cleaners were in DAILY to change my sheets/towels and scrub the toilet, and yes, my room was QUIET at night... keep in mind, I was in the "all-girls x4 beds room." :-)

PPS The only things I would recommend is that they take lil more extra time to scrub the bathroom walls & floors for a "newer, cleaner look" and "seal up" the teeny-tiny open "window" on the top of the bathroom door... and, I might really suggest newer-lookin' Towels too! =) Also, it would be nice to have access to the purified water in the lounge too, besides the kitchen, which closes at 10pm. I would also recommend a cage/lock-up of sorts for their downstairs luggage storage, although I do know staff keeps an eye-out for 'em... and Playa is SAFE for the most part... =)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 53 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2009

The Maria Sabina Hostel was an amazing value. 3 friends and I filled up one dorm, which came with AC, and TV, lockers, a balcony, and a bathroom ensuite. We were pleased with the room! The decor is neat, and the staff was kind and helpful. They allowed us to store our bags, although the storage area wasn't very secure. Bring a lock for your locker, as they aren't provided. We nicknamed the hostel "the place with the cool music" because they had some sweet music playing in the reception area. However, at night the music was turned off, and the hostel was pretty quiet.

There was a computer with internet available to guests free of charge. We stayed for 2 days, and our beds were made and the room was clean for our second day. This hostel was a great surprise during our trip!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merida621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LiloCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ficamos no quarto com três camas de casal .
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Regineli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Abel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Angelo's Hotel
Angelo's Hotel
#116 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#30 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loft 10 Hostel
Loft 10 Hostel
#108 of 245 in Playa del Carmen
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#2 of 245 in Playa del Carmen
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maya del Centro
Hotel Maya del Centro
#72 of 189 in Playa del Carmen
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koox Playa Hotel
Koox Playa Hotel
#37 of 245 in Playa del Carmen
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Mar

Address: Calle 6 Norte Entre 5 Y 10. | # 796, Colonia Centro., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Maria Sabina Hotel Backpackers Hostel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $36 - $999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel de Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Mar is a family business Hotel with 15 rooms. Offers a pleasant rooms at economic prices .Its located just a few steps from 5th Avenue is an ideal option for those who want to stay close to all key points of Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Sabina Hotel Backpackers Playa Del Carmen
Hotel De Mar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing