We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A complete mess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
Ranked #88 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The same girl sat in the reception every day, and never offered as much as a smile. The keycards stopped working for about three days, so no one could enter their own rooms without a guard opening their door. The concierge tricked us two times. Don't book any excursions through them or they'll scr3w you big-time.

One day someone had entered our room, though we clearly had asked for no cleaning. The room wasn't clean though, somebody had just taken one of our towels without replacing it.

I don't know, this could seriously be the worst hotel we've ever been to, and that says a lot.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 607 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Got a great deal through my uncle's visa card. It's a group of 9 people and we booked 4 rooms. The rooms are not perfect. One the a/c doesn't work, one is without a refrigerator and another one's refrigerator and television doesn't work. But, as soon as I reflect the matter to the staff, they hurriedly fix the problems. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The hotel is two corner away from 5th Avenue, which is a good outing in the night. There're often police patrolling so it's rather safe. There's a trip agent by the entrance of the hotel. We got good deals from her for our ticket to go to xCaret, because we forgot to buy ticket online a week earlier. With the rate of the room, I'm quite satisfied with my stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms with interior balcony that oversees the pool in the center are quieter. But if you want to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyLSCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times now. The location couldn't be better. One block off of 5th Ave and 2 blocks to the beach. Small pool in the open courtyard center. Outdoor breakfast in the morning. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We normally stay at an all-inclusive place when we go to Playa, but we didn't have a hotel booked for our first night here, so we went into an internet cafe upon arriving in the city and booked this place and got a great deal for that night. We found it very comfortable, clean, and very well located, just a block off of 5th Avenue. We were actually happier with this place than the all-inclusive place we stayed in for the rest of the vacation. Pool looks nice, but we didn't use it. Free wifi was very useful.

Room Tip: No harm in asking for a free upgrade! We ended up with a corner room with two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonkysAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I always stop at Playa on the way back to Chicago from Belize. I stayed @ Hotel Hacienda the last 2 years. Somehow from the ADO bus station the cabdrivers have no clue how to find the hotel so I've been just walking to the hotel.
Rooms are great but the little frig was missing this year. Pool, restaurant, and the employees are great. Everyone is overly friendly and eager to help you.

See ya in September 2013...!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joey2angels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

the best value for money in playa...central location...clean and big rooms and pool...the best 60dollars hotel in the area.............................. ................................. ...................................

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmatado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We booked two rooms here for one-night while lying over in Playa enroute to Cozumel in 2011. We loved this hotel. Small yet good amenities. Staff is incredible, rooms were clean, beds comfy and within walking distance from Avenida 10 (the main "drag").

We loved it so much that we came back August of 2012 for another night. Same great experience. A keeper for our travels!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLTAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
#120 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
346 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#145 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#70 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#105 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#96 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#69 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe

Address: Av. 10 Calle 10 Norte | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $48 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe, is characterized by its colonial style, which makes your stay an unforgettable.A few steps from the hotel, you can enjoy the beautiful 5th Avenue and the Caribbean Sea; Meet our lovely town and we'll do the rest.Our rooms have an elegant, cozy and colonial design emitting a relaxed atmosphere and thanks to our personalized service we exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hacienda Real Del Caribe Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing