We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
Ranked #88 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The rooms were large, well decorated and scrupulously clean. Hot water with high pressure in the bathrooms. The hotel was a courtyard design with a pool in the middle. Mere steps away from a pedestrian area full of shops and restaurants and only a step more to the beach. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms street side as there is great bar across the street that stays busy until quite late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 607 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have stayed here more than once, more than twice, more than three times and we will come back again and again. We like that we can park, yes the parking is controlled by the hotel because the parking area is small and they fit as many cars in as they can. Frankly to have a hotel with on-site parking so close to 5th avenue and the beach is a luxury in itself. The lovely clean rooms with good functioning quiet AC and fans are a bonus. The friendly helpful staff are the topping on the nice decent cake.
And to really really make it great, when I left my camera in the hotel and checked out, they found it for me when I called the next day. Therefore they are honest as well and security means everything to me.
Thank you to the staff and the hotel for my stay and for the return of my camera after I left it behind.

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tequila2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

It was a very nice hotel in a very good location, only one block from 5th street (the tourist block) also starbucks in the same 5th st, one block from 12 st (where all the clubs are at), two blocks from walmart.
The staff in the Hotel clean everything everywhere. The Hotel towels are very worn out and they DO NOT have wash cloths so bring ur own. Beds are pretty hard but it was okay.
The room includes a safe ironing board, iron, coffee maker, and refrigerator which is wonderful!
The Hotel is also very humid and things do not dry very fast at all.
Also when you arrive at the airport you don'y need to overpay and take a taxi, instead take the ADO bus, we took it everywhere, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor which by the way are awesome parks to visit highly recommend them too.
Over all very nice I would go back there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ade818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The Management did not care at all. They said laundry would stop at 11 but did not. The noise around the pool is magnified so wasn't sure which was the loudest. I would not recommend. I wish I hadn't just looked at Agoda Reviews as they said it was lovely. They could not help with booking bus transfers to airport either. Bad service and bad attitude.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stormwater3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Beautiful & spacious room, really nice hotel and swimmingpool. Perfectly located and quiet. Walking distance from 5th av.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenelausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Well...let's see....where should I start? The location is very good because you are not far from "the 5th ave strip" which consists of shopping, bars and resturants. Speaking of which, 5th avenue, try to visit the newer portion of the 5th--its located right next to the ferry.
The location has its problems too becuase it is next to a bar/club and it gets NOISY!!! Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper or ask for one of the rooms that are facing the pool area (but then you will have to deal with the 2am, 3am and 4am drunk pool crowd...lol...your choice.
Oh, if you can get up early enough in the morning, the pool area can be all yours and VERY rexaling!!!!

The all inclusive breakfast consists of eggs, eggs, or eggs...get the point? Don't waste your money, there are plenty of resturants around with great breakfasts.

The service at the hotel front desk leaves MUCH to be desired...if you need towels or tolietries, ask the maids directly...they are very nice. Also, check your sheets for VARIOUS stains that their laundry did not get totally out of the material....I brought my own queen size flat sheet and lysol. The bathrooms are ok...bring your own towels if possible the ones provided are dingy, stained and hard as a dry sponge. Ensure that the window in your bathroom is LOCKED.

The bed is ROCK hard...if you have issues with a rock hard bed, this is NOT the place for you..neither is the Ritz Carlton in Cancun...both had solid hard rock beds!!! Steps are quicker than the elevator :)


NOTE TO SELF: A lil bit of spanish goes a long way in this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Rooms near pool are much more quiet because after 10pm the party in the bars (next door) start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pimptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We recently went on vacation to Mexico and on the last leg of our 11 day touring/driving/hiking along the entire Yucatan Peninsula, we had reserved room in this hotel at the suggestion of Hotels.com. So after a four hour drive we get to the hotel and it looks nothing like the pictures. The street in front of the hotel is completely torn up and inaccessible due to construction for almost a mile. I know, not the hotel's fault that the city decides to do this, but they had been working for several months and they failed to tell anyone about it. We decided to stay in this hotel because the pictures looked amazing, yet there was nothing resembling the pictures. They have no private beach, so I don't know where they took this pictures.

We finally get in and the lady behind the counter in the lobby hits us with the news that even though we have a reservation, they "don't have a room due to sewage problems. However, not too worry, we have another hotel equally as nice as this one and we have a room for you there".

We ask to see the room prior to agreeing and walk ten blocks to this place (Construction on the street remember?) and it is a dump. The place is nasty, filthy, cheap looking hot mess as Christian Siriano would say. They have a kids-sized pool that has seen better days and has tiles missing, broken portions with sharp edges and a crew of people working with heavy equipment in the process of building a restaurant. The noise is insane and there is dust everywhere.

We are tired and go to the room to discover that the phones don't work, there is no cable, and get this, the entire window glass panel is missing from the bathroom door. There is an adjacent wall from which anyone on the other side of the property can jump in and walk into the room via this hole on the wall they call a window. Yet they see nothing wrong with this. And then, because this is a cheap place, the drunk locals who are staying there start screaming in celebration as they watch the soccer matches. There are people standing on the hallways looking into the rooms, which have sliding windows like a fast food joint watching these games and screaming while drinking beer.

There are cloth lines where people are hanging shorts to dry and to make matters worse, the long haired dude on the shop across the street is offering you all types of heavy drugs. Mind you, we could hardly look like the type. Both of us are well groomed professionals. Me a lawyer, my spouse a Senior Engineer, our friends traveling with us are also an Engineer and his wife a professor at an Ivy League School. We dress very conservatively and have a very proper demeanor, yet this "merchant across the lobby" is a very insisting fellow.

So needless to say that after a few hours of trying to find a solution with Hotels.com, we simple left the hotel, and went to another one three times the price of this one. Yes it was more expensive, but safety and peace of mind, are priceless. We did not care whether we got a refund from this place, our safety was more important than sleeping next door to a drug dealer.

So do yourselves a favor and stay away from this place. Trust me when I tell you I have seen bad places. My work takes me to some unsavory places around the world on behalf of the government, but this place, I have never seen anything like this. To pretend to be something they were not, that is simply shameless.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corazonladron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
#119 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
345 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#144 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#73 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#107 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#96 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#68 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe

Address: Av. 10 Calle 10 Norte | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $49 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe, is characterized by its colonial style, which makes your stay an unforgettable.A few steps from the hotel, you can enjoy the beautiful 5th Avenue and the Caribbean Sea; Meet our lovely town and we'll do the rest.Our rooms have an elegant, cozy and colonial design emitting a relaxed atmosphere and thanks to our personalized service we exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hacienda Real Del Caribe Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing