We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Occidental at Xcaret Destination(Playa del Carmen)
$241
$131
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$276
$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
$182
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$421
$400
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$426
$324
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$379
$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$425
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$410
$384
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$391
$300
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $349/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,416
$797
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (781)
Filter reviews
781 results
Traveler rating
646
81
35
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
646
81
35
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstacoeco tourcevichelagoon poolgolf cartbanyan treelagoon view suitecasa milagrohyatt pointsbreakfast buffetthe fine dining restaurantkids clubbeach roomnice gymrooms are modernamazing propertyevery single staff member
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 781 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2017

You can tell when a resort or a hotel gets it, when they are willing to go the extra distance. Too often the response is this is not a service we offer. Well guess what if you can provide it then do it, stop thinking inside the box. We had a couple of different requests from the hotel that were services that they didn't provide but as an "accommodation" they did it, which to me speaks volumes as far as attention and detail to service. I've been to many nice locations but what really makes the difference is going over and beyond as far as making the experience something special.

The resort itself is something that you couldn't imagine in the states as far as sheer size. Getting to the beach is a 3/4 walk, ride, or bike to get to. The resort is set up in a dormitory style with two floors and four rooms per building giving you a lot of privacy. The feeling is similar to a college campus with modern architecture, lots of stone and neutral colors.

At time of check in they give you some fruit drinks and sit you down in an informal setting and give you a five-ten minute talk about the resort and its amenities. I believe we were there in the slow season as we didn't see more then three parties at the pool at a time and this may also reflect on how often we were asked if we needed something as we walked around the resort.

There are two pools, one near the ocean and one near the majority of the lodgings, further inland. I did enjoy the laid back vibe while at the pool. Typically we get some hard sells as far as food and drink and instead we were left alone. If you want something then you can ask for it, otherwise privacy was respected. The beach is gorgeous but the ocean is not all that inviting with lots of sea grass and murkiness in the water.

I really can only recommend this place and the service that it offers. The only minor critique that I can have is that when entering it is walled in with a significant barrier that screams exclusive, stay out.. For a country where many are quite poor it felt in bad taste and could of remained private in a more tasteful way. Of course there is the wall at the entrance of the Grand Velas that has to be seen to be believed.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank ramblindave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, Director General at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Hola ramblindave! Thank you for sharing your experience with us, I am very happy to see that you enjoyed our warm service and unique concept. I appreciate you pointing out all our efforts, our team is passionate and very dedicated to deliverer the best service! Thank you for choosing us as your host. Best regards, Lin Schatz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

Last minute booking due to our lack of holiday planning, we managed to get a very good rate for last minute.
Arrived from the airport around 4 in the afternoon, we were greeted with cold drinks that tasted amazing after travelling. Check in was a painless and quick.
We had booked 2 rooms, however, they were not located together (we did ask their helpline when reserving to have the 2 rooms as close a possible). After one night the reception staff manage to move us to adjacent buildings which was much better.
The rooms were more than adequate in size and amenities, complimentary nibbles in the room along with sodas and water made life easier, especially with the kids.
Breakfast was one of the best i have had in years of travelling, our favorite was the croissant pudding which was sublime!! (Few extra hours in the gym to work that off).
The amenities were excellent and well kept (bare in mind the hotel is only 8 months old). The pool areas both at the beach and the lagoon area were more than sufficient for the 2 kids we have. Due to the temperature the pool was extremely warm during our stay, so not as refreshing as you would have thought. A suggestion to management would be some sort of shading over areas of the pool or a water fall feature that would cool the water.
Food was in general of a high standard, a little pricey for what was on offer.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, Director General at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Hola Mark O! Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Our culinary team's creations are certainly great, especially all the amazing pastries bar at breakfast! Thank you for choosing us as your host and for sharing all your comments, I will review your suggestions with my team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Lin Schatz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 15, 2017

Is one of the best places to stay in playa del carmen. The customer service was excellent, the ambiance of the hotel is one of the best in all Cancun or Playa del Carmen. Definitely i will return, Thank Andaz!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, Director General at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Hola ! Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed our unique concept and warm service. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Lin Schatz,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

We were extremely impressed with the Andaz Mayakoba. Always excited for a brand new property and lovers of the Andaz Wailea, we had to check it out.

My husband and I are very well travelled, preferring 5 star luxury experiences like Rosewoods, One and Only, and the Ritz. We're also very health conscious, love nature and appreciate beauty and design. We're very particular and looking for certain level of standards wherever we go. Andaz met and exceeded ours, and at such a great price point!

VALUE - the value here was extraordinary. We're used to paying $700-1000+/night for the type of service/amenities/location that the Andaz offers for considerably less. Sure the Andaz is larger (huge actually, most of it acres of stunning nature - mangroves and lagoons) and not a boutique hotel but somehow it feels intimate and personal. We were blown away by all the inclusives: WIFI, unlimited bottled water, snacks in the room, bikes, on demand golf cart rides, hydrotherapy in the spa (which was amazing! I did a round of steam, sauna, jacuzzi and ice station! they have superior large sauna and steam rooms with twinkling ceilings that look like stars! very enchanting), stand up paddle boards. I purchased the breakfast included option (highly recommend) and can't believe what a great deal that was. Would've been $80/day for 2 of us (and the buffet is one of the best I've seen and totally worth it) otherwise.

STAFF - They were absolutely exceptional - sincere, warm, anticipatory, unbelievably accommodating. Always a "Yes", "Sure" "Right away"... and a sincere one at that. Not once in the week long stay did we sense any bit of attitude, resentment or anything less than true, authentic and caring service. we don't speak much english and communication was effortless with the bilingual staff, who even helped us grow our vocabulary (thanks Rafa!).

LOCATION - fabulous. It's within the Mayakoba property which is high end, stunning entrance and discreet elegance. There are 3 other resorts within the complex (though you never feel them - there's so much nature and amazing planning of the small road that you feel you're in a secluded enclave, a nature sanctuary) and Andaz will take you by golf cart to enjoy dinner at the neighboring resorts. We ate at the Rosewood a couple times. You can very easily rent a car at Cancun international and it's a straight shot 35 minutes down the highway.

PROPERTY - it's huge! a combo of beautiful development and nature. i think I was told 600 acres (SO much nature). Part of the fun is having to take a golf cart all the time to get around the property. It's separated into 2 sections - there's the Lobby side - which has the lobby, 2 restaurants, gym, spa, kids club -- and there's the Beach side (oceanfront pool and 2 restaurants) -- and they're 2 miles apart. It's a fun and gorgeous ride via golf cart (or on your own on a bike which we did every morning to the gym) through the winding mangrove lined road to get back and forth - always looking to spot a bird or local cute animal. We loved staying beachside but you can pick your preference - there are many great room options.

CAR RENTAL - We love having a rental and highly recommend it. We enjoyed day trips to Tulum and the cenotes (a must see). We went to a different resort every night for dinner and into town (Playa del Carmen) to the very happening 5th Avenue - tons of restaurants, boutiques, souvenir shops - we did get accosted a bit by locals about tours etc - bit its fun and lovely and def worth a trip or 2 to see). There are sexy hotels in town for dinner - Be Playa, The Thompson.. and we were always SOOOO happy to return to the sanctuary that the Andaz is. so peaceful and beautiful.

BEACH/POOL - The water is gorgeous clear turquoise, and having taken long walks in both directions on the beach - the Andaz beach was the best, clearest water, widest, cleanest. The Pool holds a large crowd very well. we never felt cramped or bothered. The service is phenomenal. Order anything you want to eat or drink and lazily enjoy being taken care of. Food was excellent. We ate fish or chicken or steak tacos every day with delicious homemade guacamole and chips. We are very health conscious and felt everything was made with love - and not too saturated with oil or overly salted (Which is very common at resorts.)

ROOM - we were in room 3521, oceanfront, second story king with balcony. LOVED it. quiet (I am very sensitive sleeper), comfy bed, stunning design, nice amount of space, fabulous closet, excellent functionality, really long and large bathroom counter to spread out all my products, fabulous rain shower head, curtains almost blackout the room (which i also love, to ensure a good sleep). Full cable line up and paid movies (tons of options).

GYM - fabulous. brand new, state of the art, all glass so flooded with natural light. gorgeous. fully stocked with towels, water, fruit. impeccably clean. We worked out every day we loved it so much.

We will def be back - with friends next time and in a couple years we're excited to come back when we have kids. There were tons of families and it's super kid friendly. As a vacationing couple, we love being in the family energy and saw a good amount of other couples, but it was majority families - from what we saw at breakfast and at the pool.

HIGHLY recommend this GEM of a hotel. We can always find something amiss at resorts - a system, service or design that needs upgrading and we didn't find anything!

Thank you Andaz. Lots of love from the Mehlers! xoxo!

Room Tip: Rec Beach side rooms. Property has 2 sections: Lobby side & Beach side. You ride a bike/golf cart to go between bc it's 2 miles apart.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, Director General at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Hola Kathleen G! Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am very happy to read all the special things you loved about our resort, I feel very proud of our efforts and of the amazing work everyone does. I will make sure to thank Rafael for being so helpful and warm. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Lin Schatz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

A heavy wood (11 kg) panel coverings the electric board drop because the panel was clip and no hinges on my foot and skin cut open and extreme bruises. Totally hotel fault.
Given I have to pay the medical bills.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank Hasnat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, Director General at Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Dear Hasnat M, first of all I would like to express my sincere regrets that you had this accident while staying with us. We verified this case throughout and can confirm that all panels are well installed respecting every safety regulation. Despite our efforts to compensate for this and offering complimentary medical service inside our property I regret that you were no longer able to enjoy your experience at fullest. If you would like to further discuss this experience please don’t hesitate to contact me directly. Best regards, Lin Schatz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews