We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Dolphins”
Review of Maroma Adventures

Maroma Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.00*
and up
Catamaran Cruise from Riviera Maya with Lunch and Open Bar
Ranked #58 of 374 Tours in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy paradise with Maroma Adventures! Welcome to Maroma Adventures, the most complete activity centre in Riviera Maya; where you can have fun in a camel-back tour, thrill in a high-speed wave runner, and swim with dolphins. Enjoy a relaxing cruise through the Caribbean in one of our Catamarans, or have a sea fishing experience in our fully equipped boats. In addition we count on an entire Beach Club, restaurant and ideal spots for celebrating events... All in the same place. Maroma Adventures is a marina within Riviera Maya, located at North Maroma, considered as one of the top ten most beautiful beaches in the world by Travel Channel.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool Dolphins”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went swimming with dolphins here. The property was immaculate. The pool was huge. The staff were awesome. We were able to interact with dolphins in this pool up close and closer. It is an expensive event ($139.00), but well worth it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    298
    140
    70
    81
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“swimming in garbage....”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I am so sad to write this review. I am Mexican and I visit this beach very often. It is supposed to be one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Today I visited the beach with my family, I couldnt believe the amount of garbage there is in the ocean, I dont know where it is comming from, but there is garbage everywhere. People that paid 100 pesos to enter were cleaning and picking up all the crap instead of enjoying themselves. Management at Maroma need to do something about this. I feel bad for all the turist paying so much money to see this. It is pretty damn discusting. Other than that the staff is friendly, and the place is very convenient, it has all the facilities. The food is not awesome. There are atv's, waverunners, camels and horses. If you dont mind the nois you will he here. I will be sending a letter to Semarnap, the local authority to report this situation.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURREY
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Horse riding great, Maroma needs more organising”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The cowboys are lovely guys who take you on your horse ride. You get 2 hours through jungle, 5 minutes along a beach path, not the beach.
The horses looked very well cared for which was very important for me.
The cowboys who take you on your ride are always on hand, really professional.
The downside is the company that drag the day out. An extra 3 & a half hours was added to our day in waiting around and transfers. I totally appreciate they are running many excursions from this resort, but my holiday time is precious and i felt a lot of time is wasted here. That aside, the experience was fun, horses well cared for and the riding staff professional and considerate.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CATWOMAN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcr, canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“horses on the beah - false advertising”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

may not be fault of that place (maroma adventures), but, you do not ride your horse on the beach or near the water!

horse corrals are near main road, so, once you sign in, you're driven back same road you came on, mount and walk considerable time among mangroves, observing very similar looking vegetation.

beach access for horses is, apparently, been prohibited for number of years, but, brochures are all suggesting riding on the beach, even swimming with horse - LIES!!! trails are shared with ATV crowd (horses are well used to sudden appearance of those yahoos - not flinching at all!)

guides/wranglers are EXCELLENT!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank me0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Waverunner Tour - Lots of Fun!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

During our stay in Mexico we really wanted to rent a wave runner/seadoo! Through our resort, we booked a wave runner rental through the Moroma Adventures and it was a great experience.

We had a guide who took us out for an hour tour along with another couple. The day we went the waters were a bit choppy, but none the less, it was an amazing experience.

Their pricing was quite good - 25$/person/per 30 minutes.

We rode double for 1 hour so the cost was $100 - this included transportation to and from our resort.

There are lots of activities to do at Maroma - dolphin adventure, camel and horseback riding, ATV excursions, etc.

Definitely a must-see place during our stay in Riviera Maya or Playa del Carmen!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJSandbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maroma Adventures also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Maroma Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing