We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“active fun in a serene setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maroma Adventures

Maroma Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.00*
and up
Horseback Riding Adventure from Cancun, Riviera Maya or Tulum
Ranked #59 of 360 Tours in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy paradise with Maroma Adventures! Welcome to Maroma Adventures, the most complete activity centre in Riviera Maya; where you can have fun in a camel-back tour, thrill in a high-speed wave runner, and swim with dolphins. Enjoy a relaxing cruise through the Caribbean in one of our Catamarans, or have a sea fishing experience in our fully equipped boats. In addition we count on an entire Beach Club, restaurant and ideal spots for celebrating events... All in the same place. Maroma Adventures is a marina within Riviera Maya, located at North Maroma, considered as one of the top ten most beautiful beaches in the world by Travel Channel.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“active fun in a serene setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went on a snorkel cruise with friends before the wedding day. The boat was all ours and we stopped at 2 areas of reef to snorkel. The reef was damaged from the previous hurricane so it was beginning to recoup. The water was comfortably mild in temp with a strong wave action, we all had fun. The staff was friendly and gave us free drinks as well as a champagne toast/shower for the wedding couple. We felt as if we were miles out but we were not too far from shore.
Then we went inside ashore to eat! They had prepared a buffet lunch with an area of tables for our crowd of 27. The food was more authentic Mexican recipes than the resort caters to and it was delicious, and all you could eat, with more free drinks. The trio of guitar players making rounds made the experience relaxing. There is much more to do in this complex, ask your tour guide in the resort about this. The bus was back as scheduled to deliver us back to the resort. They group travelers together from nearby resorts, so you may not be the first stop. Relax, have fun and CHILL big time!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank elemtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    285
    133
    69
    79
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunset Cruise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our groups of 43 guests took out a catamaran the night before our wedding! We had a blast with the crew on the boat, the drinks were great, the music was so much fun and the appetizers were fabulous as well! We danced the night away for two hours!! I think all of our guests really liked the little surprise we had planned for them! A bus came and picked us up from the hotel and took us right to the docking place! Once we arrived there we were greeting with a mariachi band and drinks! Definitely would go back and use this company again!! Thanks for a fun time Maroma Adventures!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank smiley21_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful Excursions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We signed up for a combo at Marina Maroma consisting of 1 1/2 hours of horseback riding and two hours of snorkeling at Paradise Reef. The combo included lunch and open bar at the restaurant.

We loved Alberto - the lead "cowboy" on the horseback tour. He was friendly, informative and just overall fun! The horses were terrific - I was perfectly matched to mine.

Lunch consisted of a choice of fish sandwich, hanbuarger, beef fajitas, chicken fajitas or mixed fajitas. Food was plentiful and very good as were the drinks.

Snorkeling was led by Pepe, Santiago the captain, and I forget the snorkel guides name. They were all terrific. We saw a lot of fish and beautiful beaches.

There was a little gift and sundry shop if you wanted/needed anything. Very good bathroom facilites except you could not throw toilet paper in them so toward the end of the day smelled a little bit.

Would do this again in a heart beat!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great dive team!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I think it's great that they have GPS units in all the BCD's in case you get separated from your group; takes some of the stress out of diving internationally. We went out on a rough sea day - the instructors properly set up expectations in advance and it was a "dive by choice" sort of day. Our first dive was choppy but once we got under we enjoyed the dive - divemasters were great and saw a huge sea turtle, tons of lion fish and an eel. Two people on the boat ended up getting really sea sick and I slipped coming out of the water and banged up my knee - like I said, it was a rough day at sea. However, the boat crew called out a second boat to pick us up early which I NEVER expected and everyone was friendly and genuinely concerned the whole time. Like I said, exceptional service through and through and I would dive with this operation again in a heartbeat!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bp8430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Experiences With 2 Activities: Reef Snorkel & Parasailing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

During a vacation to Riviera Maya April 11-17, 2013, a couple friends and myself decided to spend the day doing a couple activities. We settled on doing the Reef Snorkel in the morning and Parasailing after lunch. Our travel coordinator at the resort suggest Maroma Adventures for doing these and even offered a combination deal with better pricing. The bus picked us up at the resort at 8:30 and we were off to start our adventure. We arrived at Maroma Adventures a little after 9 and we greeted by strolling musicians in the bus waiting area. It was really a nice touch! We then went to the main desk to check in and only had to wait a little while until we were ready to board the boat to start our snorkeling adventure. We kicked off our shoes and went on board. The group for snorkeling was maybe 14-16 people total, which was a manageable number. We went out to the first reef after about 30 minutes. The water was a bit cold and choppy, but the reef was nearby and we were able to get to them quickly. Our snorkel guide took us out and showed us different things to look for while snorkeling. After our first stop, we all boarded the catamaran again and then went to the next location. Being that it was too windy and the waters were a little rough, no one was able to do the spinnaker swing at the back of the boat. :( The second snorkel location was much better than the first, as we were literally on top of some of the reefs we were viewing. Our guide located a lobster hiding out in a rock, a spindly starfish, and a few other things. Each snorkel outing lasted approximately 45 minutes each. After the second one was complete, everyone relaxed as we took an extended cruise before returning back to port. The trip was fun and a great experience. The guide and crew were great and took good care of everyone. Also included with this trip was a buffet lunch on shore. My two friends and I chose to skip it so we could get to parasailing next, so we weren't able to say whether or not the food was good. It should be noted that alcoholic beverages were available on a cash basis and were not included.

Right after we returned, we went on to the parasailing activity on a different boat. There were a total of three groups going parasailing on the boat: two groups of two and our group of three. The crew was great in getting us out there quickly and getting the first couple up in the air. Each group was up in the air for 12-15 minutes and as they were being brought down, they were dipped a few times into the ocean for good measure. Our group of three was easily accommodated and had no problem doing the parasailing. The only complaint that I had was that when I was being hooked in, the guy doing it moved my leg support straps too low so I wound up not sitting upright during our time up in the air. I was forced to lean back, which made it a bit uncomfortable for me. Other than that, it was fun and everyone who did it enjoyed it. After we were done, we were taken back to port where we had enough time to relax before boarding the bus to come back home. We took a look at the pictures that were taken throughout the day and I decided to buy the parasailing pictures being that there were a lot of pictures that were taken. The snorkeling pictures didn't turn out well and weren't worth the money. The cost of getting all of the parasailing pictures on DVD was $90 USD. It was a little pricey, but the quality of their camera was amazing and the photographer did a great job capturing everyone's facial expressions.

All in all, the two activities we did were phenomenal and I highly recommend that people use Maroma Adventures to do them. They also offered other activities, such as Deep Sea Fishing which 6 other members of our group did the same morning we went. They said they enjoyed their trip as well. They also do: Horseback Riding, Camel Safari, Scuba Diving, Deluxe Snorkel & Lobster, as well as a Paradise Adventure (ATV & Speedboat), a Maroma Adventure (ATV & Wave Runner), and an Ocean Safari (Wave Runner & Snorkel). They are a well-rounded location and have been doing this for 10 years. Again, they are highly recommended for a wonderful variety of activities.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ToddRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maroma Adventures also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Maroma Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing