We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing owner, staff, food and atmosphere”
Review of Di Vino

Di Vino
Ranked #314 of 1,279 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing owner, staff, food and atmosphere”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

One of the finest meals I've had traveling around the world. The fish was just out of the water, the wine superb, service excellent and I even met the owner who was very warm and gracious. The atmosphere is so classy yet not pretentious in the least. Also, some of the best coffee I have ever had. Very affordable for the quality of food and service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JTC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    36
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“THE BEST ITALIAN IN PLAYA WITHOUT A DOUBT!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've been dining at Di Vino's before it moved across the street and it never disappoints. It is fine dining so don't expect a cheap meal. What you can expect is the best wine selection in Playa, the best service in Playa, and I already mentioned, the best Italian food in Playa. The pasta is handmade and the traditional Italian entree's will transport you back to Roma, Venezia or Florence (I thought Di Vino's beef was better than the famed Florentine Steak I had in Florence.) If you find yourself on 5th before you make dinner reservations, go by and ask if you will be able to have the lobster ravioli, with ravioli made with squid ink. You will believe you've experienced heaven in your mouth trust me. The atmosphere is relaxing but not for children. Also serves the most fantastic homemade biscotti I've ever encountered. This truly is authentic Italian dining in Playa.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katlowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food a little pricey”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We enjoyed a nice evening of food and wine at this very popular resto on 5th avenue! The dishes were very good and they were quick. We like to slow things down by ordering on appetizer at time as well as mains, otherwise its seems to us to be too hurried.
It started to pour rain when we were there but they managed to get everyone under a roof (they even invented tables and chairs lol) and everything continued on as if nothing happened.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location / Good food / OK service”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Di Vino has a very good location over the 5a avenida and has a beautiful ambience and decor. Very comfortable for a romantic dinner.

We ordered three dishes (salad + ravioli + tuna). Salad was OK, ravioli was good and tuna was outstanding.

A little bit on the expensive side of the 5a avenida but overall a safe bet.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MexicanGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Second Visit - Still Great”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Last visit was six years ago. Stopped by last night and we were not disappointed. Great service, great atmosphere and e food is amazing. I would highly recommend the whole fish - it was great and the presentation was interesting. Hope to visit again soon.

Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Vino also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Di Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing