We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a young family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #56 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boisbriand, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a young family”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Despite the heat and the sun was not at the rendezvous , we enjoyed our week of 3 to 10 January 2014 . After the first night we asked to be changed to be on the inside of the site. A special thanks to Filiberto Chan, he organise us with such kindness and compassion ! We were also very touched by the human side of people who work there . As the gardener, housekeeper or the Belboys , who greeted us were done with their best smile ! If I may make a constructive comment , for lunch , we really enjoyed having the option of a buffet , It is more faster than a dining "a la carte" with young children and warmer in cold weather as we had. In closing , we wish to inform you that if we all enjoyed our stay at Azul Fives despite the lack of good weather, it was thanks to Sergio Gutierrez , an extraordinary young man, "our sunshine" who knew us enjoyed the 5 stars+ service restaurant Flavours ! Here !

Room Tip: For families with young children, the deluxe suite with roof terrace is not necessarily a good choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Guylaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you , your review is very heartfelt and I truly appreciate your comment . your comments will be shared with our staff and especially with those mentioned who , with their efforts, enhanced your vacation experience with us.

thank you again for your kind words.

Best
Mario Mathieu
gm@azulfiveshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,030
    1,345
    514
    237
    238
See reviews for
3,151
1,614
58
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,795)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The property is beautiful, the staff friendly, helpful, available, and food very good to excellent with lots of options. However the room decor (lots of black on closet wall and in bathroom) and dim lighting make it difficult to apply makeup, shave, etc. I needed a flashlight to find things on the black shelves and in closet which are also very tall--made for 6 footers not 5'2"!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank coveyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review , I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Azul Fives Hotel and I would like you to know that I have taken on board your comments concerning the lighting in our rooms

Best Regards

Mario Mathieu
gm@azulfiveshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainfleet, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I recently visited this resort with a friend and we felt welcome the minute we got in the shuttle from the airport. All the staff, from bellboys to concierge & entertainment staff were amazing. Our names were always remembered, as well as the little details that we discussed with different employees. The grounds were tidy & well kept. The pools were clean, the beach was one of the most beautiful I've been to. We had the pleasure of eating at the Italian & Japanese restaurants and they both offered a great selection and were very tasty. The entertainment staff did a great job of getting us involved in activities & the 2 shows we saw were the best I've experienced. There were a lot of families there and we mingled with quite a few of them. I would highly recommend this resort if you're looking to relax & unwind. Whether with a group, a family or a couple. Not a good place if you want a party atmosphere all the time but if you're with a group, you're sure to enjoy it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Many Thanks for your wonderful review , it was a pleasure to host your holiday and I hope that you will return to enjoy yet another great vacation experience at the Azul Fives Hotel

Best Regards
Mario Mathieu
gm@azulfiveshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Ridge, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife, 5 yo son and I went down for a week at the beginning of January 2014. We found the property to be as advertised and quite nice.

We decided on PdC since this is my son's first international trip, and thought this would be a decent city to try. We chose Azul Fives because it offered a European Plan and we are not big fans of All Inclusives. This resort is very close to downtown Playa (5 minutes by car, we had a rental). We wanted to make sure we didn't have to drive a long way to get to the city. We did eat at the resort 3 times and found the food to be mediocre, but satisfying. The service was a bit iffy though. One day while we were at the beach, one of the staff played with a guest's baby for 45 minutes before she took any drink orders.

We booked a one-bedroon suite and were happy with it. The room was huge. Full kitchen, dining area, master suite and a small powder room. More than I expected and I was pleasantly surprised.

The grounds were kept up very well, there was no litter or mess anywhere. Everything was top-notch. The beach area was well tended and beautiful. The sand was soft white and immaculate. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas. No complaints here.

The spa was pretty good, I don't have much experience with them but I was happy with my experience. Nice massage and nice facilities. My only issue was the hot water heater was broken, so when I jumped into the hot tub, I had quite a shock. Once I removed myself from the ceiling though everything was better.

All in all, if I were to go back to this area, I would seriously consider staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for a great review , I enjoyed reading your comments and appreciate your feedback
It was a pleasure to host your holiday and we hope that you will return again in the near future

Best Regards

Mario Mathieu
General Manager
gm@azulfiveshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

EMERGENCY!
This is where you want to be if the unexpected happens. Third morning of our arrival my husband experienced a medical emergency. Within minutes 3 security, Manager, Walter Cordova, and Isabel, Concierge attended. They handled everything! Isabel’s compassion, and kindness exceed any job description. Walter, efficiently and calmly assured us that “we would never be alone”. How true! Full services of the resort were offered and gratefully used. Staff: courteous, happy, helpful. Pool – pristine and beautiful as it wound through the residences. The food: Wonderful (particularly the Italian)! Our rating: 5 Star Plus. Add another Plus for Isabel and Walter. It was like having best friends stand with you at a time of crisis. Thank you.

Room Tip: Suite: 1 bdrm 4th bldg corner suite - Outstanding! Private, quiet, and spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you Barbara , we truly appreciate your kind words and best wishes to your husband, we hope he is back to full health very soon.

It is never nice to experience a medical emergency especially when away from home , it was a pleasure to assist and support you and we hope , that on your next visit, you can relax and enjoy yourselves, with no medical emergency.

Your Praise for Isabel and Walter has not gone unnoticed and they will be rewarded for their efforts.

Best Regards

Mario Mathieu
General Manager
gm@azulfiveshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This was my 13th all inclusive so I have travelled a lot. I have never seen so many babies, I would say 80% are families with small children. This resort are owners condos, u get a king bed if u pay for one bedroom suite, the second and third bedroom (are advertised as luxury room) they are two double bed rooms.
The food was ok but the selection wasn't there.
No buffet for lunch, 2 a la carte only and found it took to long.
The grounds are beautiful and very clean. The staff is very friendly.
Wifi is available throughout resort but at a cost, I never had to pay for internet before.
Overall it is good value for money and is great choice if travelling as a family, if travelling as a couple go somewhere else.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences , I truly appreciate the feedback received from all our guests. The Azul Fives Hotel is a family resort that appeals to many travelers , whether traveling as a couple or as a family with young children or teens.

I will definitely use your feedback constructively as we continuously strive to improve and perfect our vacation experience that we provide.

It was a pleasure to host your holidays

Best Regards

Mario Mathieu
General Manager
gm@azulfiveshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Where to begin. No atmosphere...Nill. All bars close at 5pm ...then your only place to go of an evening is an inside bar. Didn't come here to sit inside. All we witnessed in there was people just sitting staring at the tv...boring....your only other choice is to go back to your room.Taxi into playa del carmen $16 each way...worth it to find some action and actually feel like your in mexico. Didn't come to an all inclusive to pay to go find an atmosphere though. Buffet is awful with very little choice with the exception of breakfast. The beach is tiny.
Beach chairs are roped off so you are confined to one area. Soooo many kids....stroller parking lot in every restaurant. This place doesn't feel like a resort. More of a condo feel. Very small...nowhere to go . We are in our mid 50's not kids looking for a wild time just a good time. I must say that the staff are very good . The concierge have been very helpful. Room.....very musty.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Francetravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your recent review however it is truly very disappointing to hear that you found your vacation to be less entertaining that first thought. Our swim up bars close early evening as the daylight fades and as our zky bar and terrace opens , which stays open until 1.00am. This bar is located on the second floor and has a spectacular terrace that overlooks the ocean , with the lights of cozumel in the distance. This is a popular night spot for many.

January is a very popular month where we find a high number of both couples and also families with young take the opportunity to travel and enjoy our warmer temperatures.

I appreciate your feedback and I will carefully consider all comments mentioned

Best regards

Mario Mathieu
General Manager
gm@azulfiveshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,993 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,733 reviews
11.1 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,047 reviews
20.6 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3,302 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen

Property: Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Address: Predio El Limonar Fraccion 2 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#79 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 524
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from charming Playa del Carmen, Azul Fives Hotel is noted for enormous suites designed for families and friends with up to three bedrooms with rooftop decks. Activities and special experiences foster togetherness for families, couples and groups of friends. The 360-suite hotel offers the renowned Gourmet Inclusive® concept, as well as flexible meal plan options to suit all agendas. Private barbecues highlight family activities, and the Kid’s Club sponsored by Fisher-Price® caters to children. Rooftop Weddings inspire soon-to-be-married couples. The 24-hour room service and full-service concierge ensure memorable vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Fives By Karisma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing