We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #59 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just got back last night from a week at Azul Fives. It was exactly what we needed and what we were looking for and more! There were three of us. My husband and I and my mother-in-law. We had booked a 1-bedroom suite with a pool view. The accomodations were as we had expected. Very clean and a lot of space. It is a small resort, very family-oriented. Extremely professional and welcoming staff. You know they will do all they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Although we were told the resort was full, we never felt crowded anywhere, whether at the various restaurants, at the beach, at the infinity pool or at the quiet pool. Because this is a small resort, everything is close by and if you have a special need or request, just go to the many concierge offices located on different spots on the resort and someone will be there for you.
We left the property for a couple of days for family business in Bacalar and when we got back late on the Tuesday night we had been moved to a penthouse 1-bedroom suite. It was just perfect! My mother-in-law who is 80 years-old could not believe how well we were treated.
The food at the various restaurants was very good as well as the choice of wines. You can tell they pay attention to the freshness of the ingredients and to make the menus interesting. If you only want a snack, the swim-up bars offer a variety of tasty snacks and beverages.
There are daily activities for all as well as evening entertainment.
The 'disapointments' are so few and not so suprising: the water pressure isn't great and we saw some ants in the master bedroom but if you keep the screen door closed it helps.
Overall this was one of our better choices and we will definitely return and try other Karisma resorts.

Room Tip: Walk out suites are great if you have kids. If more than 2 adults, choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fedbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

I would like to take a moment to thank you for your review relating to the experiences of your recent vacation.

Here at the Azul Fives, we are reknown for our outstanding level of Gourmet Inclusive services and I am thrilled to hear that we met your expectations and all three of you had an excellent time away.

It would be an absolute pleasure to host your next vacation in Mexico, whether it be at the Azul Fives or another Karisma hotel here in Mexico.

Best Regards

Mario Mathieu
General Manager
gm@azulfiveshotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,225 - 5,231 of 6,894 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went on vacation with my wife, parents, sister and husband and brother. For most of us, this was our first real trip out of the country, as Canada doesn't really count. We had a three bedroom penthouse suite with a rooftop deck and hot tub. The food was excellent, better in some restaurants, like the Italian and Asian, than others, like Sea Olive's dinner (the lunch was very good) and the beach club restaurant, can't remember the name, but sausage on a pizza meant cut up hot dog. The staff for the most part was very friendly and helpful. Jazmyn, Eddie, and Adon were some of the most accomodating members of the staff. While we had the penthouse with rooftop deck and the view was beautiful, we were hoping to grill out up there, but we would have had to purchase our own meats, as well as utensils in order to do so. So we did not use the rooftop deck as much as we were planning. The facility was wonderful and we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakepharmd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

I am very happy that you all had a wonderful stay at the Azul Fives and as your first real vacation, I hope it will be the first of many.

It means alot to us that you wished to share your experiences from your time away and that you will provide us with the opportunity to host your holiday once again.

Best Regards

Mario Mathieu
General Manager
gm@azulfiveshotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This resort is great for family with small children, rooms are nice and big, pools are never busy,no wild partys or loude music.
However, it is very boring for grown ups, there is no lobby where you can sit down for a drink and chit chat with people. Walking thru the resort after dark is like ghost town, you may pass by one or two lost souls.
One very good place is the spa :-) expensive but amazing.
Before booking this resort for your next vacation please do check the reviews, do ask questions, dont want you to be disappointed. We have 4 more days and we are moving to The Royal resort in Playa del Carmen (yes I have to pay for the move)

Room Tip: Get a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Grace, thank you very much for your review.

With our Gourmet Inclusive concept, the Azul Fives is designed to appeal to everyone and I am sorry to read that you did not find the hotel suitable for your vacation.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards

Mario Mathieu
General Manager
gm@azulfiveshotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a week-long stay with our 3 year old and 8 month old. We had a wonderful, relaxing holiday that was easy with kids without having to compromise on food or "niceness" of the resort. Not only was the food quality excellent for an all-inclusive, it was nice to have no limit on the number of a la carte dining experiences. Food and drink was always readily available poolside and on the beach, and if we needed to eat lunch or dinner on the earlier side to accommodate our kids' naps, the 24-hr room service was a handy option.

One of the biggest advantages of this resort is the rooms. We had a 2-bedroom suite, which was actually a large 1-bedroom suite with two bathrooms, a full kitchen, dining area, and balcony, PLUS a separate deluxe room with two double beds and full washroom. The rooms were not connected on the inside; rather, they shared a secure, common foyer space. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated.

Another huge plus for us was the baby gear provided--full-size cribs (not just pack 'n plays), baby bath tub/change table, high chair in the room (and always readily available at the restaurants), umbrella stroller, toys for borrowing (in-room and beach/pool toys), baby food in jars or willingness to puree food for the baby at the restaurants. We brought diapers, wipes, a potty and some books for the kids, but no other gear--made for much lighter traveling.

Other pluses: smoothies at the health bar made to order; good quality cardio equipment at the gym; weather was perfect (pleasantly hot; only rained on our last morning there); no mosquitoes (though likely the grounds are sprayed); attempts at high level of customer service (lots of follow-up), but almost to a fault (see below).

We did not use the kids' club, as our kids were under 4, so can't comment on that. Friends' kids seemed to be having a great time there, though.

In terms of what we didn't like, the beach was a bit on the small side, and the water was pretty much unswimmable--big waves and heavy undertows made us anxious with our toddler playing near the surf, so we pretty much hung out at the pools. The service was fairly intrusive at times--despite a "do not disturb" card placed in our room key slot, housekeeping and other staff came right in after knocking briefly. This was not cool with us at all, given our napping babes, and after bringing up the issue with the concierge assigned to our room and with a manager, this did not happen after the 2nd day.

Overall, we were very happy with the resort. In looking for an all-inclusive that was welcoming to families with young children but that still met our standards in terms of food and facilities, we were not disappointed by Azul Fives. We would definitely come back here, only we'd probably want to stay longer than a week next time!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

As General Manager of the Azul Fives, I would like to personally thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

We find it very rewarding to read such positive feedback. Aswell as your positive comments, there have been some negative points mentioned. I would like to assure you that I have taken note of your comments and I hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to host your holiday once again so that you can experience firsthand the improvements that you helped us to achieve.

Best Regards

Mario Mathieu
General Manager
gm@azulfiveshotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My family and I spent the first week of January at Azul Fives. We had a great vacation. Our room was great, my only complaint would be the water pressure but I find that most resorts (and I have been to many) have the same problem. Food was great, service was fantastic...Best service on the beach was from Araceli and Ramon. They work so hard and went out of their way to serve us. They really made our trip more enjoyable. Best service in the restaurant came from Luis and Pedro.

Room Tip: There are no rooms with an ocean view so if you can afford it...I would suggest a penthouse room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for your comments from your recent stay at the Azul Fives. I have ensured that your comments have been passed onto my staff as your feedback is extremely important to us and helps us improve our facilities and services even further.

It was an honor to host your holiday and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Mario Mathieu
General Manager
gm@azulfiveshotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is my first time on a site of this nature however, having spent part of my honeymoon at this "complex" I feel it only fair to share our experiences, the decision driven by the fact that whilst staying there over New Years, we kindly and politely requested a meeting with the Hotel Manager, to air our concerns, however, was flatly refused..
We are fair and respectful people and do not ask for much in life, simply honesty, respect and simple creature comforts including a star rating which truly represents a facility, treatment by employees in an honest manner and more than two minutes worth of hot water whilst in our room..sadly the Azul fails on all counts. Underage drinking, children running around with scooters at poolside, overbooked restaurants, lack of loungers by the pool overlooking the sea, food of average quality, badly lit and sparsely furnished rooms with an open plan nature and a near transparent toilet door....such a disappointment as on the surface, the facility does look appealing.

Room Tip: Check to see if the room is owned by a private landlord, not the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just got back from 2 weeks at Azul Fives Hotel. I have stayed there multiple times this year and am more impressed each time I go!

The food in the Italian & Japanese Restaurant is amazing. Not your typical resort food at all. All a la cart, fresh made to order meals. Service is friendly and efficient.

The Beach Club is off the hook! There are butlers there to help you move chairs and umbrellas, sun screen and magazines are provided, activities, beautiful white sand beach, premium drinks, what else could you ask for?

The highlight of my stay this time was the waiters & servers at the Beach Club Pool Bar. They are such a group of characters, and made me smile everyday! Santiago, Caesar, Domingo, Arely & Ramon - You guys are the best!!! Thank you for the laughs and Spanish lessons!!

Overall, I had an outstanding vacation! Viva Mexico!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JessicaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,288 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
#3 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
3,520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#9 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,592 reviews
1.8 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#30 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
7,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen

Address: Predio El Limonar Fraccion 2 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#79 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $208 - $1,496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 524
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from charming Playa del Carmen, Azul Fives Hotel is noted for enormous suites designed for families and friends with up to three bedrooms with rooftop decks. Activities and special experiences foster togetherness for families, couples and groups of friends. The 360-suite hotel offers the renowned Gourmet Inclusive® concept, as well as flexible meal plan options to suit all agendas. Private barbecues highlight family activities, and the Kid’s Club sponsored by Fisher-Price® caters to children. Rooftop Weddings inspire soon-to-be-married couples. The 24-hour room service and full-service concierge ensure memorable vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Fives By Karisma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing