We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #56 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The road to Azul Fives is "colorful". It is a long, narrow road that looks like you are heading into the "hood". Ironically, this road was charming by the end of our vacation. The entrance and lobby were very simple. The "deluxe room" is large but only comes with double beds and no tub. We upgraded to a one bedroom penthouse suite on our second day. It was well worth the money! We didn't use the upstairs balcony much so if I were to go again, I would book the one bedroom suite. The room is HUGE with a large couch, table, kitchen, jetted tub, and two bathrooms. Hot water does seem to be hit or miss. We had fewer problems once we were in the one bedroom suite. Bring a hand held mirror! The lighting in both bathrooms was poor and it was difficult to put on makeup. I took my mirror and got ready on the balcony.
The food was excellent. We especially loved the Italian restaurant. It did require reservations but we never had a problem getting in. The sit down food service is slow (average 2 hours for a meal) compared to US restaurants, but it didn't bother us. We traveled without children so we enjoyed the time visiting with our friends. This may have been a problem for us if we had hungry children waiting. The restaurant staff were attentive and very kind.
We loved the pools (yes, they are not heated but they felt great with the February heat) and espcially the beach beds. We spent many hours reading and relaxing on the beach in comfort. The drink service on the beach was consistant and there were various activities going on (horseshoes, volleyball, water aerobics, etc.) if you wanted something to do.
We found the staff throughout the resort to be very accomidating and attentive to our needs. Their responce was always, "it's my pleasure"!
The grounds are beautiful!!! and constantly being groomed. We loved the monkeys, iguanas, and other wildlife from the neighboring preserve.
We had a wonderful week of pure relaxation. Azul Fives is not the resort for you if you are looking for a party every night. There are lots of families with children and the resort is very quiet after 10. However, it is the perfect spot to get away from it all and relax.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank idgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,919
    1,313
    499
    232
    235
See reviews for
3,033
1,600
56
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,773)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The Azul Fives grounds are beautiful and well kept. The lazy rivers wonderful and the pool bars good. Get out early in the am and grab a lounge chair or you will be wandering around looking for a seat and you might be out of luck. The staff at the bars and the gourmet corners are great. We had a two bedroom condo on the second floor, wish we had a booked or asked for a ground level condo facing the lazy river. No view of the ocean at all. No such thing! Our 2 bed condo was okay, we found the king size bed was damp. The ID cards were not a problem for us. The spa is excellent. Didn't spend any time at the beach.The beach was nice not very big. We found the music from the infinity pool loud and we weren't into the games etc. The restaurants were okay. The food was okay, certainly was not the gourmet food we experienced the previous year at the El Dorado Casita Royale. Apparently this is a fairly new resort, I think they are trying....just not there yet! If you are looking for a room with a view of the ocean this is not the place for you!

Room Tip: The ground floors facing the lazy river seemed to be the best for access and socializing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ptm39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Azul Fives Hotel we would like to take this moment to thank you for the review of your vacation. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the lazy rivers, swim up bars and beautiful Spa. Thank you for your wonderful remarks about our staff and I will definitely share your comments with them.

We’re sorry if you were under the impression that you would have Ocean Views from your suite. We can assure you we do not promote this feature as Ocean Views are only available from the Solarium of some Penthouses. We apologize if you received incorrect information during the booking process. We will ensure that we reiterate this point with all our Travel partners.

We have carefully considered each and every comment made and will be sure to use your review to perfect the superior vacation experience that is offered at Azul Fives.


Mario Mathieu
General Manager
Azul Fives Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

First, the positives...Azul Fives with its canals meandering among its three story buildings is very nice for a family vacation, especially with toddlers. The grounds are well kept, the beach is fine and so is the infinity pool, The staff was always helpful, if not always competent.

If, however, you want a room that features even a glimpse of the ocean, book elsewhere!
ALL the rooms are at least a quarter mile from the beach. There is no such thing as "oceanfront" though they advertise otherwise. Forget "ocean view", "ocean glimpse" or "virtual ocean". Not possible!


Finally, the food ranged from completely inedible to barely acceptable and lighting in rooms was very poor.

Room Tip: If you want to see or hear the ocean from your room, choose another property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences of your visit to the Azul Fives . As mentioned the hotel is a family friendly hotel and is located on Xcalacoco beach. The rooms are set back from the Ocean , approximately 2- 3 minute stroll. we are sorry that you were led to believe that our rooms have Ocean Views , this is not counted as one of our many room features. We will be sure to reconfirm this information with all our travel partners.

We have taken into consideration your comments concerning the quality of our food and the variety of choice that we provide to our guests . This has been passed to our Food and Beverage Manager , Mr Cordova so he can take immediate steps and correct any issues that might exist without delay.

We hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to host your holiday once again so that you can experience firsthand the improvements that you helped us to achieve.


Mario Mathieu
General Manager
Azul Fives Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was our first time at Azul. My goal was to find a place with gourmet food since in the past I had a bad experience at another resort. Azul fives has 5 restaurants where only 2 Maybe 3 I would consider gourmet. A couple buffets convenient for families with kids. Same food everyday in all the restaurants. The best food was in italian and asian restaurants. In addition they had Healthy smoothie bar and a gym. Alcohol was on a cheaper side, nothing great. It is a complex of condos with 1-3 bedrooms. We got lucky and we got a condo next to a kids swimming pool so our little guy could hang out there everyday. Also on the tree next to our balcony we had wild spider monkeys hanging out on daily basis which was very interesting. There were 4 pool bars however the place was very quiet so if someone is looking for some action this is not the place for you. No ocean view, we had to walk 2 minutes to the ocean. Also, we were able to see only sun rise above the sea but not the sun set. The beach is not really for swimming since it's very rocky and the waves are too strong. However, the pools are great to hang out. Kids club was great if you have kids. A lot of activities on daily basis and great babysitters. Some kids were staying there all day long since they had so much fun. Service was very nice but plan on bringing at least $200 for tips since everyone is expecting a tip from you. If you are going with kids and need a fast service you need to tip them. Otherwise you will have to wait for your food forever. Concierge were trying to sell us time share what I found annoying. A lot of hammocks on the property, tennis cort and other activities. I would probably not go there again since I like to experience different resorts but it's worth checking it out if you have small kids.

Room Tip: Get a condo with 3 rooms since it's nice and big and has a kitchen. We had one small bedroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolanta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

All I can say is "dont do it", save your money and go somewhere else. Upon arrival, after requesting a King bed, non to be had unless I had an extra $89. per night, happy 26th anniversary dear in that bed way over there. To the maybe 5 gallon hot water tank (its in the trick cupboard under the fridge, that I must say was restocked maybe twice) couldnt even finish washing my hair with luke warm water. The workers were awesome with great tips on where to go (away from the resort for fun). Yawn, yawn. Too bad some of the whinny kids werent doing a little more yawning, cause they were a little annoying. Parents today, when kids are tired, order room service, in general people arent interested in listening to your whinning demanding kids at dinner. Maybe send them to grandmas so you too can relax. Or take a lesson from the locals, never heard any of their kids whining. This is my 4th trip to this area and maybe the other resorts did a better job at keeping the young ones in their own little area, but I dont recall being annoyed at almost every meal with crying kids. Which in turn effected the night life, everyone was in their rooms with their children. Hence no night life, I may be 50 but this place was a real drag. Other than the pool by the beach by day, there really wasnt anything to do but lay around. I too like to relax but I also like to have some fun. The available toys, oh right there were non. Sticking to the larger resorts from now on, at least they have things to do. One advantage to nothing to do, meant we left often, that was when I enjoyed myself . The beach was okay, just dont go in the water without water shoes, all the sand has washed away and its rocky first step in. Go to Playa if you want a real beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We just returned from Azul away 3 weeks.The staff is wonderful;very polite and helpful.The food is wonderful.The staff at the pool are so kind ,i went to water workout everyday and they know how to do it.Plan on going back for a month next year.Not a negitive thing to say. .WONDERFUL

Room Tip: Excellent place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We were at Azul Fives in January with our two children ages 7 and 10.
Food
The food was very good. The resturants were better than the RUI palace however the buffet (they called it a 'food display'- hilarious) was good but not spectacular. The room service menu was excellent. The smoothie bar was also great. The drinks from the bar would good all around. The asian resturant was the best!
Grounds
Well kept and lots for kids to do. The gym was excellent. The pools were very nice and the winding river was also good. Lots of walking, but that was fine. The beach was rocky and rough but if you walked for two minutes, you had a nice beach but the surf was rough when windy.
Service
The bar service was great. The resturant service was also very good. The front desk was useless, and was no help whatsoever with our room issue. Karen at the conceirge office by the front pool did her best to help us out.
Room
We had a standard room which was fine as we were on the go constantly. The beds were very good. There was an iPod docking station and a DVD player which was good when traveling with kids. We had no hot water for most of the week which was a major issue that could not get resolved.
Entertainment.
The shows were good but they wasn't one every night. We have stayed at RUIs before and there was always something every night. The staff by the pool were great and were able to include by kids and adults during the daily activities. The sky bar was very nice but underused as this was a quiet hotel. The kids club was great for short periods of time.
Other Information
There were a lot of kids so if you are looking for a party hotel, this is not the one. I felt bad for some of the singles and groups of those looking to party because this was a quiet hotel.
Would we stay there again? Probably not due to the hot water issue and also that we may try somewhere else.
Questions? Don't hesitate to contact me.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyersfan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,840 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,692 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
1.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,131 reviews
20.6 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen

Property: Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Address: Predio El Limonar Fraccion 2 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#79 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 524
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from charming Playa del Carmen, Azul Fives Hotel is noted for enormous suites designed for families and friends with up to three bedrooms with rooftop decks. Activities and special experiences foster togetherness for families, couples and groups of friends. The 360-suite hotel offers the renowned Gourmet Inclusive® concept, as well as flexible meal plan options to suit all agendas. Private barbecues highlight family activities, and the Kid’s Club sponsored by Fisher-Price® caters to children. Rooftop Weddings inspire soon-to-be-married couples. The 24-hour room service and full-service concierge ensure memorable vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Fives By Karisma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing