We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Azul Fives, is a piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #59 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Azul Fives, is most definitely one of the small hotels that are a very well kept secret.
Luxury, attention to every detail, excellent service, amazing food, peace and quiet, and a lovely beach!

Stayed there during low season, and only a handful of tourists were enjoying this hotel.
The variety of restaurants that the hotel has, offers something for everyone, from Mexican to sushi, to italian.

Concierge and all the staff are ultra-attentive to your needs.
A romantic dinner by the beach is an up-sell, but its definitely worth it, it will add a touch of romance to your vacation.

If you are travelling with children, fret not! they have a world class 'daycare' with trained personnel that will keep the little ones entertained, while you relax with your partner.

Overall, this is one of the most amazing small hotels that I have stayed in down in Cancun.
A must for the well traveled, and for the connoisseurs.

You will not be dissappointed, as this is quite a luxurious hotel, that doesn't cater to the budget traveler.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms on the 'new' remodeled area of the Hotel, they are all Master Suite sty...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taco_Connosieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,531)
There are newer reviews for Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,300 - 5,306 of 6,533 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

Returned recently from another great trip to Mexico…this time to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary, spent 4 nights in the Riviera Maya at Azul Fives near Playa del Carmen and had a great time.
Upon arrival you could feel the warmth of the staff and the quality of service, when greeted with the cool hand towel & a glass of champagne.
After the smooth check in we were off to our 1 Bedroom Suite with King size bed, Jacuzzi, separeate rain shower, living room, full kitchen, balcony with table & chairs, AND a knock on the door - delivery of a chilled bottle of bubbly.

The décor is modern and very nice, lots of wood and nice lamps, chandeliers, art etc.
Because we were there October 17-21(Off peak) the resort was not at capacity, so the pools loungers were ours for the taking. Service at the pool bar and at the outdoor grill was outstanding, as was service everywhere at the resort.
The grounds are beautiful and very well kept, it takes your mind off the short walk to the beach. Once there - its kinda small which was not a downer for us because you can also continue walking in either direction for endless beach.

Oh yeah - even toured the penthouse suites - of which the rooftop setup appeared to be prime for partying! Snuggling too. And the monkies came out while we were in there so that was a nice treat as we gazed out the windows at mom and baby.

The food at all restaurants on the resort is excellent, along with the 24 hour room service meals. Being as though it was a milestone anniversary for us Johanna & the Executive Chef Danton set up a food tasting
as our anniversary dinner because the weather the next day was more appropriate for our candlelight dinner on the beach - so we geared up for both. Our chef for both the tasting & the dinner was Chef Guillermo,
he was nothing less then stellar in his explanation of ingredients, the presentation of each dish, & more importantly the tastes. He prepared a variety of dishes that were well liked (no, loved!) & appreciated by us both.
We couldn't have asked for anything more at the anniversary dinner, the Chef was great, the food creations were AMAZING, & the service was top notch! They say this is GI (Gourmet Inclusive) and it truly was for us. A la carte meals & drinks
whether at the pool, restaurants, or in the room. The food & people make this place heavenly. The only thing that could have made this trip better was more sun to heat the pools, but why let that stop you either. Just come, enjoy it all
rain or shine good times. And if you are not having a good time - order a Sakerita. lol That drink will make anyone smile.

Overall we had a great stay at Azul Fives with a superb room, top notch service, great pools, bars, and restaurants. Nothing but good experiences at 3 Karisma Resorts so far, a return is very likely.
Special Shout out to Lilly & Marisol in Activities. I beat them in Blackjack AND pool basketball, but a nice tradeoff was them teaching ME the sexy moves of Salsa baby! Shout out to Walter the Service Manager, Joel the Captain & Jacobo @ Sea Olives & Dario @ Flavors To Azul Fives & Karisma Resorts - SALUTE!

Room Tip: Get a 1 bedroom suite you won't regret it.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WEDRAW A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I spent 5 nights in Azul Fives in April. We were joined by my sister-in-law, her husband and their two 3-year old kids. We had a great time in the resort.

The resort itself is extremely new and very well-maintained. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and the room was extremely well-furnished and spacious. They have a great infinity pool (which is beautiful) and in addition they have a winding swimming pool running through the entire property. This makes it extremely convenient to go for a dip right next to your room at any time. The food options (even as part of an all-inclusive plan) are amazing. The breakfast buffet (at flavours) had a very wide spread in terms of variety and the quality was very good too. There was a lot to choose from at the a la carte menus for lunch and dinner at sea olives (which had a great view). The resort had a smoothie bar which served fresh smoothies most times of the day. Do go for the all-inclusive plan as its worth every dollar. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful yet unintrusive. They also had a kids club in which my niece and nephew had a great time. Overall it was a fantastic experience and one I'd recommend (both with and without kids).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bhaskar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I recently stayed at Azul Fives with family and friends, including two children. I have to say, it was my first expereince at a resort, where they cater to both; young and old! I found the resort to be extremely accomadating, ensuring we had everything we needed and wanted to make the most of our vacation. The staff were outstanding, of course my fav's were the pool bar/side crew! (Santiago, Fabian, Reyna, Marisol, Libby and Hirlago). They go from playing basketball in the pool with the kiddies, to an all out volleyball game with the adutls on the beach!!! The food was fabulous, gourmet meals at every sitting! The drinks kept flowing and the the views were gorgeous! The infinity pool, beachside, was probably the biggest seller for me. There is nothing like laying poolside, with a gorgeous view just steps away to the beautiful beach and ocean. Perfect resort for both young and old, can't go wrong!!!

Room Tip: check out the penthouse suites, breathtaking rooftop decks with all the amentities you could want!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed in the Azul fives for four days from October 18th till October 21th.
Actually, we werent staying over there but flights issues made us stay in playa del Carmen for 3 more night.

We Thank god for that !!! ;)

We must say that even if you have very high expectations from a resort, you'll still be amazed from the outstanding level of service in this resort.
Since the moment we arrived there through our staying, to the check out minutes, the stuff did everything we could imagine (and not) to make us feel like a royal couple.
You don't need to be an expert to notise that theas people are proud to be serving their guests.
The Azul fives has a wonderful beach, very clean send and water, beautiful Infiniti pool, tennis court and a beach volleyball.

The food is good at all restuarants, we liked the Zuky (japanise) and the "sea olive" the most.

But once again, my thinking is when you get a resort, the main thing you must have is a high level of service.
This, my friends, is an outstanding (!!!) and a different class of service resort !

We will go back, that's for sure.

Natalie and Yossi.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L-Yossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I recently took a trip with my fiance to Mexico and stayed at Azul Fives. We stayed in a one bedroom condo with a solarium and it was absolutely stunning. We had a few minor issues with our room (toilet problems) but they were quickly solved by the staff and followed up by a phone call to ensure we were satisfied.

The beach area is kept clean and the staff is there ready to wait on you (all over the resort from the front desk to maintenance) to make certain your stay is the best stay possible.

The selection of food at the restaurants was good. They are building two more restaurants right now to offer more of a food selection. I love the option to have a meal right on the beach at night....soooo romantic. If my fiance and I had stayed longer we definitely would've done this.

I look forward to going back again next year,

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We just returned from Azul Fives last night. Just a gorgeous resort. I chose this hotel for it's family atmosphere, large suites and abundance of pools. I traveled with several friends and 2 five year olds. So we needed to make sure there were plenty of things to do for the kids. They have a wonderful kids club with Xbox, Wii and plenty of activities going on. Beautiful pools throughout the resort, including the infinity pool near the beach, kept everyone happy. We thoroughly enjoyed our accommodations in the 3 bedroom penthouse suite. Very clean, chic and spacious. The food was delicious and they offered a nice variety.

The one thing I look for most in a resort is service. You can have the most wonderful accommodations, restaurants and pools, but if you don't have great service, forget it. Well, the staff here are exceptional. They truly enjoy their jobs and have a passion for making the guests feel welcome. Of course we had our favorites including Fabian, Reyna, Domingo, Santiago, Nashielli, Marisol, Lily and Hildago. They truly made our vacation wonderful. Anything you might need, just ask.

My son's 5th birthday was while we were there and the staff threw him a fantastic party in the kids club. We had a full lunch with cake and drinks, the kids had a pinata and face painting. And everything was decorated in my son's favorite spiderman theme. It was a wonderful day to say the least.

I'm a huge fan of the Azul concept and feel that if you are looking for a laid back vacation to enjoy with your family and friends, this is the place.

Room Tip: 3 Bedroom Penthouses are incredible!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank troptrav419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,094 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,780 reviews
20.6 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
3.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,232 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen

Address: Predio El Limonar Fraccion 2 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#79 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $210 - $1,237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 524
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from charming Playa del Carmen, Azul Fives Hotel is noted for enormous suites designed for families and friends with up to three bedrooms with rooftop decks. Activities and special experiences foster togetherness for families, couples and groups of friends. The 360-suite hotel offers the renowned Gourmet Inclusive® concept, as well as flexible meal plan options to suit all agendas. Private barbecues highlight family activities, and the Kid’s Club sponsored by Fisher-Price® caters to children. Rooftop Weddings inspire soon-to-be-married couples. The 24-hour room service and full-service concierge ensure memorable vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Fives By Karisma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing