We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Failed on the "second time test"...”

Tropical Playa del Carmen
Ranked #71 of 1,257 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Hertzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Failed on the "second time test"...”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had dinner at Tropical at our second day on Playa. We really enjoyed our meals, especially the Enchilladas. Fruit shakes were pretty good as well.

Well, with that experience, we came back 3-4 days after that, and were terribly dissapointed - they served us Quesadilla made from Pita bread and not tortilla!! disgraceful!, french fried tasted like burned oil, and on top of it - they charged us with the highest tip on the 5th Avenue - 15% (only as a matter of principle).

Go there only if you hadn't have a good encilladas yet...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shlomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    169
    47
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
195 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“On-line expectations not met”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had read the great reviews on-line so we had high expectations. We even asked the waiter for his recommendation of their most tastiest and spiciest meals. They looked lovely but unfortunately were very very bland. My wife had the Chicken Xtabentum and I had the Molcajeta Azteca.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AjoPirata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, IL
Level Contributor
232 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant on 5th Ave”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We ate at this restaurant last night and it was excellent. The drinks for 2 for 80 pesos and beers were 2 for 50 pesos. I had the Tropical Chicken. It was tender and stuffed with spinach. Very favorful. My husband had a hamburger and fries and said that it was very good, too, but the best part was the waiter, Berni. He was very accomadating and good.

Helpful?
Thank moodymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level Contributor
142 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“awesome breakfast”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We've had a little bit of trouble finding a really good breakfast place in playa and this place fit the bill! My husband likes a large breakfast and he wasn't disapointed with the portions or the flavor of the food! I on the other hand like smaller breakfast portions and their were plenty of yummy options! And as with most places in Playa the service was excellent and the staff friendly!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kirsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty good, probably not too special”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had a good experience at Cafe Tropical. The service was pretty good, the drinks were tasty (if a bit on the small side - cocktails were 2 for 80 pesos), and the food was also good. It is the first place I've eaten in Playa though, and it didn't blow my mind. It seemed pretty average, but definitely a nice place to stop and certainly wasn't a bad place to go. Good people watching and friendly servers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank owllison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Playa del Carmen also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Tropical Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing