We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a disappointment . . .” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote

Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote
Ranked #361 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment . . .”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The restaurant looked appealing, pleasant and clean. It was enjoyable to sit "street side" and people watch. The wait staff was unattentive, troublesome since we were the only ones in the restaurant. The shrimp quessarillas were not bad at all, and the tiramasu was quite nice. However, I was apparently not paying that much attention to prices, and we were shocked at how expensive the bill was. There was, of course, the standard fee "for service" which was frustrating since the service was nonexistant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luciagc, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario, nos sirve para mejor en todos los aspectos y mucho mas en el servicio!! Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    45
    22
    18
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“TOURIST TRAP!!!! DON'T GO!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Obviously the chef is either english or swede!! The food was not tasteless as IT DIDN'T HAVE TASTE AT ALL!! Appaling food but good service. Quesadillas had just pieces of chicken och some cheese. No spices at all, no taste, the sallad had pieces of toast cheese!!!! DON'T GO TO THIS TRAP!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Eleftheri0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luciagc, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario nos ayuda a ser mejores!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“White tablecloths, bad fish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was our first visit at this restaurant and we ordered fish filet. The fish was not fresh and covered in oil, it was bland and coupled with boring vegetables.

Overall we were surprised that this restaurant didn't live up to our standards. Stay away.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Baines47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luciagc, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario!! Nos ayuda a mejorar!
Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Poor food- poor service- nice atmosphere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Ordered a bottle of wine that is $12 in US, $40 here. Ordered Caesar salad and seafood ravioli. Salad was goopy and over- dressed, the ravioli was heavy, chewy, and utterly tasteless. Don't these chefs ever taste this stuff before they serve it? Nice atmosphere, but that is the only positive thing to say about this place. Go somewhere else.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank labamba8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luciagc, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Google Translation
Tomaremos en cuenta este detalle!! Ojala podamos servirle de nuevo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“service hit or miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

i come here for breakfast at least twice each visit to playa. although i enjoy their breakfast, comfortable seating and people watching, the waitstaff is either good or poor. perhaps it's just me as a solo traveler and don't have that look of spending money. i now pick my server and sit in his section:-) my very good rating is for breakfast only.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank serrano930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAyB, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this review, September 20, 2016
We greatly appreciate your recommendation and your good comments. We are glad you have been enjoying your visit We hope to see you soon and will gladly assist you.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing