We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Trip - so bad I had to review again!”

Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote
Ranked #359 of 1,328 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I was at Los Tulipanes in December and enjoyed the experience for the most part. However, when returning in February 2012, it was a whole different story.

The service was terrible. Our waiter seemed in a terrible mood, no smiling or attempts to interact whatsoever. He had a sour facial expression the entire evening, and any request we made seemed to pain him. (Which could be why he was near impossible to find when we did need something - like the bill - and ended up asking a different server for assistance.)

The food - the exact same item I had ordered in December - was disgusting. Garlic shrimp with a side of dish soap? (It tasted like soap suds.) At first, I thought perhaps the shrimp were not good, but realized it was more likely a pan that hadn't been rinsed fully. I would likely have sent them back, had the server been anywhere near. As it was, I was hungry (and it was our Valentines Day dinner!) so I tried to muffle the taste with rice.

My boyfriend's steak was improperly cooked and poorly seasoned. Again - this was the best steak he'd had in PDC on our previous visit. I'm not sure if they had a different cook, or if there is just no consistency.

At the end of the evening, they brought out a survey for us to complete. However, our server handed us the Spanish language version without checking to see if we could understand enough Spanish to complete it (odd, considering none of our interactions to that point had been in Spanish). We were going to just leave without completing the survey, when another server noticed the issue and gave us the English version. (Thanks to that particular server - who I think helped us in December as well, and is one of the only bright spots in this dismal restaurant.)

A little consistency, and a lot more customer service, is needed to bring this restaurant up to par. It has an excellent location (though perhaps should coordinate with the restaurant across the street re: the live music, rather than attempting to drown each other out). The atmosphere is romantic and cute, and it has potential - if it doesn't do itself in first.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Yaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAyB, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Good day.
Thank you very much for letting us know what happened during your last visit to Restaurant Los Tulipanes, very sorry about the bad time that you spent.
We will send your comments to the right person to give follow and attention.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 204 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2012

Los Tulipanes is the best restaurant in Playa del Carmen.

Very friendly waiters - Jose, Ulises, Antonio, Victor and Aldo, they will make sure you get the best service. They make you smile and entertain you while you have diner.

I recommend this restaurant to everyone and when you visit Playa you must have diner in this fabulous restaurant.

Thanks Manuel for preparing the diner at our table. That was amazing.

See you soon.

Kind regards Lilian Ballast

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lilian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAyB, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and your good comments. We are glad you have been enjoying your visit We hope to see you soon and will gladly assist you.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

On the whole, Los Tulipanes was a very good experience. I ordered the shrimp to taste and it was excellent, and my date ordered the steak (which was also excellent). We were both thrilled with the food, and fine with paying the enormous bill (over $100US) because we felt the food was worth it.

Los Tulipanes has a great location for people watching, right on La Quinta. (We also got a laugh out of a couple of kittens who snuck over to the edge of the restaurant, looking to see if we'd "accidentally" dropped a piece of shrimp or steak at the end of the meal. They were quite comical, but didn't beg or hassle.)

The service was excellent, however - we were a little frustrated by a couple of things. It was quiet when we arrived (as we ate fairly early - around 6:30). There was a large table with children next to us, and one of the children kept running to our table, even picked up and tried to open my purse at one point. Neither the adults at that table nor the servers did anything - we were a bit uncomfortable having to speak to someone else's children, but didn't feel like having them root through our belongings. This happened more than once.

We also found it odd that the manager (we think that's who it was) seemed to be having a discussion about rearranging the tables, while guests were there. This wouldn't have been such an issue except he came and stood right next to our table and gestured over our food, at one point - we felt rushed, as though he wanted us to leave so he could move our table elsewhere. We appreciated that our server seemed to try and rush him away so we could continue enjoying our meal.

In all - the food we had was excellent, and the servers we had were friendly, polite, and I think this is the most important factor. We would - and plan to - return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Yaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAyB, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and your good comments. We are glad you have been enjoying your visit We hope to see you soon and will gladly assist you.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

As usual, we checked the menu and chose a seat on the street. We were promised a free Margarita for choosing to dine with them, but that never appeared. Either they scheduled to few servers for the number of customers or our server was doing too much of the food prep in the kitchen. It was about 5 to 7 minutes before the menu appeared. Drinks (we paidfor these) were unremarkable and the food was equally unremarkable. There was live music, which was you basic 50's or early 60's combo kind of music. The bill took forever.... to come and...surprise...included a service fee for all the kitchen staff(according to our waiter). He also took the liberty of filling in what he believed should be his tip. Generally, we tip around 18 to 20%. We crossed out the 'suggested' tip and left some pesos on the table. (10% I think)

Thank natalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAyB, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and your good comments. We are glad you have been enjoying your visit We hope to see you soon and will gladly assist you.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We enjoyed this place. The service was wonderful and so was the atmosphere, my husband had New York strip and I had ravioli and it was delicious. It is a bit pricey, but very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank msuhoops04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAyB, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and your good comments. We are glad you have been enjoying your visit We hope to see you soon and will gladly assist you.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing