We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but Good”

Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote
Ranked #347 of 1,333 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed January 3, 2012

On the whole, Los Tulipanes was a very good experience. I ordered the shrimp to taste and it was excellent, and my date ordered the steak (which was also excellent). We were both thrilled with the food, and fine with paying the enormous bill (over $100US) because we felt the food was worth it.

Los Tulipanes has a great location for people watching, right on La Quinta. (We also got a laugh out of a couple of kittens who snuck over to the edge of the restaurant, looking to see if we'd "accidentally" dropped a piece of shrimp or steak at the end of the meal. They were quite comical, but didn't beg or hassle.)

The service was excellent, however - we were a little frustrated by a couple of things. It was quiet when we arrived (as we ate fairly early - around 6:30). There was a large table with children next to us, and one of the children kept running to our table, even picked up and tried to open my purse at one point. Neither the adults at that table nor the servers did anything - we were a bit uncomfortable having to speak to someone else's children, but didn't feel like having them root through our belongings. This happened more than once.

We also found it odd that the manager (we think that's who it was) seemed to be having a discussion about rearranging the tables, while guests were there. This wouldn't have been such an issue except he came and stood right next to our table and gestured over our food, at one point - we felt rushed, as though he wanted us to leave so he could move our table elsewhere. We appreciated that our server seemed to try and rush him away so we could continue enjoying our meal.

In all - the food we had was excellent, and the servers we had were friendly, polite, and I think this is the most important factor. We would - and plan to - return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Yaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAyB, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and your good comments. We are glad you have been enjoying your visit We hope to see you soon and will gladly assist you.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 210 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

As usual, we checked the menu and chose a seat on the street. We were promised a free Margarita for choosing to dine with them, but that never appeared. Either they scheduled to few servers for the number of customers or our server was doing too much of the food prep in the kitchen. It was about 5 to 7 minutes before the menu appeared. Drinks (we paidfor these) were unremarkable and the food was equally unremarkable. There was live music, which was you basic 50's or early 60's combo kind of music. The bill took forever.... to come and...surprise...included a service fee for all the kitchen staff(according to our waiter). He also took the liberty of filling in what he believed should be his tip. Generally, we tip around 18 to 20%. We crossed out the 'suggested' tip and left some pesos on the table. (10% I think)

Thank natalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAyB, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and your good comments. We are glad you have been enjoying your visit We hope to see you soon and will gladly assist you.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We enjoyed this place. The service was wonderful and so was the atmosphere, my husband had New York strip and I had ravioli and it was delicious. It is a bit pricey, but very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank msuhoops04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAyB, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and your good comments. We are glad you have been enjoying your visit We hope to see you soon and will gladly assist you.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We searched for a place to enjoy molcajetes like the ones we had in downtown San Jose Los Cabos last October and thought we had found it with Los Tulipanes, but alas, it was not to be. While the meat was very good, the dish as not served sizzling hot and the cheese and other ingredients were not mixed. Perhaps we selected the wrong place or perhaps that is just the way they are prepared in PdC. However the others in our party had excellent food and the service was also excellent. We will go back for other menu selections since it was a great place to eat. One member of our party has celiac disease (problem with glutens) and the staff was VERY accommodating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FredL30062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luciagc, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for your comment. It is possible that the “molcajetes” are prepared differently in other cities. We regret that you did not enjoy our preparation but hopefully you will come back and try some of our other dishes. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Enjoyed the very light and flaky spring roll appetizers, arachera was really good, one guest had surf and turf which was just OK. One guestbhad pasta,a bad choice, it was dreadful. Pretty poor wine selection for such a nice reastaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Killdeer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAyB, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Good day.
Thank you very much for letting us know what happened during your last visit to Restaurant Los Tulipanes, very sorry about the bad time that you spent.
We will send your comments to the right person to give follow and attention.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing