We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner, A Must Visit!”
Review of El Oasis Mariscos

El Oasis Mariscos
Ranked #96 of 1,279 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: En Oasis Cancun y Playa nuestra orientacion al servicio, variedad, calidad y frescura de los pescados y mariscos es unica. Lo mejor del Caribe Mexicano.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Dinner, A Must Visit!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our family of 8 recently went for dinner here after the recommendation of our local friends after many visits to Playa del Carmen. We were not disappointed! The food was excellent as was the service. We did not speak much Spanish and were presented with Spanish menus. We asked the waiter if they had English menus and within minutes, someone came to our table who spoke fluent English. He was amazing and answered all our question and gave details on all the menu items. We all ordered different selections and no one was disappointed. We had arrived by cab and after dinner we asked our English speaking waiter if he could get us 2 cabs. He literally sent a couple of his waiters out on the highway to flag down a couple cabs. Amazing! Please try it.... it's off the main highway, but well worth the trek and the adventure to experience some real Mexican restaurants and incredible seafood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    82
    20
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Still good enough to write about”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This place deserves to be in the top 50. It s good and strong value for fresh seafood. I thought service was good with smiling staff and happy music. Nice to get off 5th sometimes to get back to reality.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely give it a try”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stopped here for a late lunch after leaving Playa. Excellent service...our waiter was delightful. Fresh, tasty food. Clean; nice atmosphere considering it's right next to the highway. Our mixed ceviche platter was delicious. Enjoyed my first horchata beverage (made from rice)...yum! The clientele looked like mostly locals and some businessmen, so not a touristy crowd.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelLuvz2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A True Oasis in Playa!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Yesterday afternoon a few friends and I went for shrimp tacos at El Oasis! It has been one of my favorite lunch spots in Playa del Carmen for the last 10 years! The breezy palapa-style layout is inviting, the service is fantastic, and the food is well-priced & delicious!
Though the main course dishes are substantial & scrumptious, we typically order the fish or shrimp tacos and a beer or two to wash it down! Tacos are ordered a-la-carte and range in price from $15 to $22 pesos each. As my friends and I arrive, we are warmly greeted by several members of the staff (the semi-open kitchen allows you to see the chefs preparing meals). We enjoy the cheerful merengue music playing over the sound system as we place our drink order. The menu includes a variety of soft drinks, fresh fruit blends, horchata water, jamaica water and of course wine, beer & margaritas!
Chips & salsa arrive at the table with drinks, followed quickly by our order. I always find the seafood to be delightfully fresh—it comes breaded and fried to golden perfection and placed in a double corn tortilla with pico de gallo topping. (The tacos also can be prepared without breading or frying. The diner has several options!) The waiter delivers some condiments to dress up our taco: tamarindo sauce, seriously spicy green chile sauce, mayonnaise, and of course fresh lime wedges! With such generous portions of shrimp, we each can muscle down 3 tacos at most! Dessert is offered but we opt to have another beer and enjoy the afternoon breeze. The total bill comes to under $10 US per person and we are stuffed!
If you’re looking for a tasty lunch or early dinner in an airy, laid-back location, look no further than El Oasis! Its central location on the highway between Calle 24 & 26 allows for easy access. The service is friendly & fast and the prices are great. A fun local experience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rentals_Your_Way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tasty shrimp and fish tacos”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

When traveling to the Yucatan always enjoying stopping at El Oasis for their tacos and their mariscos soup is the best around served piping hot in a large earthen bowl. Large enough portion for two to share.

Staff is friendly, consistently great service and clean. A garden type setting with a beautiful palapa. Only one drawback and that is the restaurant sits back off busy highway 307, but I think it is still very worthy to check this out for yourself. Most of the time it's filled with locals more so than tourists.

Hope you enjoy as we have.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Oasis Mariscos also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Oasis Mariscos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing