We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get better (or cheaper) than this”
Review of Asadero el Pollo

Asadero el Pollo
Ranked #137 of 1,279 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Doesn't get better (or cheaper) than this”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

The chicken is so tasty!! We went to the "asadero" twice after diving when we were on our way back to our hotel. Tasty, flavorful, juicy, delicious chicken. Perfectly roasted. My husband was in heaven!! This is all they serve. You get a whole roasted chicken with tortillas, pickled onions, habanero salsa and rice for 110.00 pesos (roughly $10.00). We both are until we were satisfied and had some leftover for a mid afternoon snack. Can't be beaten!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust_plankton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    24
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OMG.Just that is enough to say about this place.”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Half chicken with side dishes only 60 pesos.Going every week and bringing my amigos.Unforgetable taste.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raimonda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Affordable and great tasting”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Picked up some take out chicken to eat in our condo. Amazing chicken! And fast service too! We had the chicken dinner to go that included one whole chicken cut up, fresh tortillas, homemade salsa, marinated onions, rice for two and another hot sauce that was WAY too hot for us to eat.. All of that was 110 pesos. Great deal and simple but great tasting chicken.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokia, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best place for grilled chicken”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Only one thing on the menu, but that's enough. Extremely tasty, charcoal grilled chicken with tortillas and salsa. Very affordable prices, half chicken with sidedishes 60 pesos ($4.5). Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank T0mmyH72
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Roasted Chicken Bliss!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is what I miss the most when I am at home in the States. Roasted Chicken Mexican style. Super cheap and fabulous! We ate in the restaurant at lunch one day, brought a whole chicken home and ate on our hotel balcony another night. Would go back in a heartbeat. The habanero salsa can be very, very hot. Be careful!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virgin_Rose_917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asadero el Pollo also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Asadero el Pollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing