We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

La Cueva del Chango
Ranked #54 of 1,287 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: La Cueva del Chango is a unique restaurant-bar, not only in concept but also for the natural setting amongst abundant vegetation and trees. The culinary concept is natural Mexican food, we serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. All the juices are made with fresh fruit and we also have a bar with an ample assortment of premium brands. The wines we serve are mexican, thus offering and ample selection. In La Cueva del Chango we believe in the Mexican cuisine and offer a high quality product at a reasonable price.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We ate breakfast here 2 out of the 3 mornings we stayed in Playa del Carmen. Great ambiance, nice service, delicious food, and a very strong wifi signal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crandigo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,320
    652
    187
    69
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Atmosphere wonderful”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful garden area where we had
dinner
Shrimp Tacos had a bleachy taste
while my Tuna Steak was dry.
Best was the fish special of the night that my wife had .. The sauce
lead very good.
Seems like they have lots of regulars so would give them another visit.
Staff very attentive

Helpful?
Thank 170LarryS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice and fresh breakfast”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place is very famous for having breakfast. It is a known place so most of the time is busy. After having your meals you can walk to the beach or to the famous 5th avenue.
Enjoy it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClauMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had breakfast there and were amazed at the decor ( a fountain with a small stream running through the restaurant complete with turtles and iguanas ! ). I had eggs benedict ( very good,! ) ,my partner had the fruit crepes, also done well. We really enjoyed the food & atmosphere !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petesndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food but the coffee cups are disgusting !”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This has been one of my favourite restaurants great healthy mayan food and a popular place for breakfast amongst the locals and beautiful and unique seating outside el fresco , The only thing i do not understand is that all the food and drinks are excellent but they serve coffee and tea in the most disgusting chipped cups that you would never use even in your own home because chipped cups are a hive for bacteria and this has been a problem for years , The last time i went there we were 5 people and everyone had a coffee and all 5 cups was badly chipped and cracked everytime i ask one of the waiters why they have not changed the cups they shake their shoulders in
an embarrassed manner and say they agree but the owner refuse to buy new cups , It lets the place down when everything else there is great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LUBELULA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva del Chango also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Cueva del Chango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing