We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good, we had to go back”

La Cueva del Chango
Ranked #53 of 1,257 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: La Cueva del Chango is a unique restaurant-bar, not only in concept but also for the natural setting amongst abundant vegetation and trees. The culinary concept is natural Mexican food, we serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. All the juices are made with fresh fruit and we also have a bar with an ample assortment of premium brands. The wines we serve are mexican, thus offering and ample selection. In La Cueva del Chango we believe in the Mexican cuisine and offer a high quality product at a reasonable price.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So good, we had to go back”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

First of all: amazing food. The shrimps wrapped up in the chili pepper (can't remember what it was called) were so amazing we had them 2 nights in a row. The guacamole and the mojitos are awesome as well, and the rest of the food (we couldn't try everything) was really good as well.

Very friendly staff, made lots of very good recommendations, nice decor, no complaints.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luce_lm_TripA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,262
    623
    178
    66
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigander
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Setting and Food Exceptional”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Loved the garden/jungle like setting with pond full of turtles and stream running through restaurant. Variety of seating options in and outside. The food was some of the most flavorful and imaginative of any place we ate in 12 day stay. Service was outstanding and the prices reasonable for the quality and quantity of food. This place has a history and setting that should not be missed for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GGGKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
170 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Looking for a place to feel like a local come for breakfast to La Cueva, the menu is as authentic home made style Mexican that you can find outside a local home, the prices are great
, the variety of options also excellent and they often have specials be adventurous and try them a have a tamale combination with two different kinds served with warm salsas, cream y queso. It was fantastic! If you are going on a weekend get there early of exercise patience because it get very busy when local rush in for a heart warming breakfast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley Lancs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Delicious , subtle flavours”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Found this restaurant by accident, looking to find another on Calle 38 . Not disappointed in the slightest after a really tasty dinner. Fairly quiet on a Monday night so no problem getting a table outside. This is definitely the quieter sides of Playa , away from the hassle on Quintana Avenida. Shared a salad of pear, blue cheese and pecan nuts to start , then my chicken breast in a slightly spicy sauce was perfect . Would recommend this restaurant but takes a bit of finding !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madge52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the Walk”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This restaurant came highly recommended for breakfast from some of our friends here on TA. My husband ordered French toast and I ordered a dish that is bascially beans on top of thick wheat bread surrounded by several small bowls of different types of salsas. Both were quite good. Although the French toast was a little dry and not moist in the middle like we are accustomed to in the United States, it was still very delicious.

Both were reasonably priced; cost for breakfast including 2 bottled waters was 250 MXP. The atmosphere is jungle-like and very relaxing, with each table having its own fan. Definitely worth the long walk from Playacar to Calle 38 and Avenida 5.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuertoDISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva del Chango also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Cueva del Chango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing