We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good price, good atmosphere”

La Cueva del Chango
Ranked #53 of 1,236 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: La Cueva del Chango is a unique restaurant-bar, not only in concept but also for the natural setting amongst abundant vegetation and trees. The culinary concept is natural Mexican food, we serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. All the juices are made with fresh fruit and we also have a bar with an ample assortment of premium brands. The wines we serve are mexican, thus offering and ample selection. In La Cueva del Chango we believe in the Mexican cuisine and offer a high quality product at a reasonable price.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nice selection of food across breakfast, lunch and dinner. The restaurant is located a bit off the main steet (5th Ave) quite far up from the main tourist strip in Play del Carmen and is insulated from some of the noise and frenzy, making it a great place to sit have some food, a beer or two and relax...and it won't break you bank account.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasnafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,242
    617
    172
    66
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

During my stay I eat breakfast with my wife in that place 3 times!!!
It was simply perfect, probably the best local breakfast in playa
Try the chikileras with eggs terrific! The empanadas also was nice and you must take the fruit salads with granola and yogurt!!!! Yummyyyy!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We found this lovely little restaurant on our last day of vacation and had our breakfast on the street-side patio. With the pretty landscaping and large trees we almost felt like we were there alone! Food was great and the coffee kept coming without us having to ask. Our experience is that most restaurants in Playa do not do this. Our waiter was excellent. Menu was nicely varied and reasonable for cost. When we return to Playa we will absolutely plan to come for dinner to experience having all the tree lanterns turned on while we dine. There is a little brook running through the restaurant that they have cleverly worked into the layout. We saw many locals come into the restaurant while we were there, a sure sign that you are onto a great place in the area to eat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quiltinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
190 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a fantastic lunch there.
Very good food, too big portions maybe...
Good service, pretty toilets :-)
Beautiful terrace.
We really enjoyed it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank betti2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalTraveler
Level Contributor
222 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good and interesting - worth the extra walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Table of 4 spent around $140 with 1-drink/beer per person. Lime Soup (very similar to Tortilla Soup up north) was excellent. We sat outside, in a corner near a Maya statue. Nice setting, waitress was especially helpful. Would definitely return

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seaskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva del Chango also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Cueva del Chango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing