We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, fun breakfast”

La Cueva del Chango
Ranked #53 of 1,236 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: La Cueva del Chango is a unique restaurant-bar, not only in concept but also for the natural setting amongst abundant vegetation and trees. The culinary concept is natural Mexican food, we serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. All the juices are made with fresh fruit and we also have a bar with an ample assortment of premium brands. The wines we serve are mexican, thus offering and ample selection. In La Cueva del Chango we believe in the Mexican cuisine and offer a high quality product at a reasonable price.
IGH
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good, fun breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a table for 10 come here for breakfast. It was a super charming atmosphere. The kitchen is in sight and you can watch them make your breakfast. Great fresh sqeezed orange juice but it is served warm or room temp, we asked for ice on the side. The food was yummy and there were turtles swimming in the pond. We also saw an iguana on the enterance. The only down fall was that my daughter is a very picky eater but loves pancakes and they did not have any on the menu. We asked but they said they could only make bananas ones. The fruit platter was great that we got her. Also the french toast was very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,242
    617
    172
    66
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
152 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“We ate breakfast here twice in one week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Very close to the condo we rented for the week. We had breakfast here twice, both experiences were wonderful.

The juices are made to order and can be mixed to your choice. The first time the juice was warm, I added ice. The second time it was cold and refreshing.

The omelette was huge, so are the Crepes. The yogurt with granola and fruit is delicious and more than you really 'need'.

Our second visit there had been rain, so seating was limited. As the sun came out the delightful staff dried the table and chairs for us. When the food was 'slow' in coming out, we were given complimentary banana or orange bread to snack on.

Staff was very friendly and attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dentalhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minier, IL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In a garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We walked into town from The Royal Haciendas, an easy walk on the beach, to this charming garden in the city for breakfast. Well worth the walk. This is a place where the locals eat. The food is fresh and plentiful. The restaurant kitchen is in sight and efficient. The beautiful palapa shelters if the weather is rainy, but the garden is the place to be. Well-established trees and vines share the space and the tables are placed on islands in all the lush greenery. The service is very good. The palapa roof is concrete with colored bottles embedded in it as skylights. Artistic and effective. Get good directions as we would have missed it with the cars parked in front hiding the big sign, which is hand-painted as are the waiters T-shirts. Great atmosphere. A shelter in the city.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BubblesMinier_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice laid back restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We went here for breakfast as well as dinner and liked both. The restaurant is set in a wonderful garden and the food is simple but very tasty, all in all it was a nice break from all the chaos of the busy main street of playa.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A-H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, nc
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, skip dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have been to La Cueva del Chango several times in our past trips to Playa. This past trip we went for breakfast and while the service was not that great, the food was spectacular! The fresh fruit drinks were excellant and we both had crepes -fruit and - mushroom and goat cheese. The food came very fast for the amount of people at the restaurant and was hot, fresh, and very tasty. I would eat there every morning with no reservations!!!
We went back for dinner, and what a difference. The menu was very appealing and there were many items I was interested in ordering. The service was fine, but the waiter did not seem to know the menu very well. The food took about 45 minutes, with hardly anyone in the restaurant. What a difference from breakfast. I ordered the shrimp and it was overcooked and the mole sauce was pretty much tasteless. My friend ordered tacos and they were very unimpressive.
So overall I say, stick to breakfast. There are sooo many great restaurants for dinner in Playa, so go out and explore.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank surfbecca10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva del Chango also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Cueva del Chango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing