We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner with Friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mediterranea

Casa Mediterranea
Ranked #28 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Alessandro and his staff are glad to offer you a great quality in a friendly place, where you can enjoy a lot of delicious recipes prepared with the taste of the real traditional Italian cooking.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner with Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Four of us had dinner here each with a different entree. Everyone thought their food was exceptional and with a nice and not overpriced wine selection it was a very enjoyable evening. We also had the bruschetta hors d'ouerves which was very tasty.

We are returning tonight (our last night in Playa) with our family of 6 and will submit a seperate review later.

Wiks

Helpful?
Thank Jtha
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    138
    28
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No fue bueno”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

One of the most highly rated restaurants in PC? We had an awful meal there last week. Approximately one hour and a half wait for the main course. The pasta with meat sauce was extremely salty and uninspiring. Seriously, it was not edible. My daughters meal was even saltier than mine. I could not wait to leave. I hope they can turn this place around, it was far better a couple of years ago.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“home made pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Small in an alley, but great food and service. Classic Italian food with local twist. Obvious that some of the patrons continue to come back. Definitely on the list for next year. Good size portions and food very tasty. Exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable staff. Trip Advisor review and menu specials out front.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yuck!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Basically inedible. Unbelievably salty. This has to be 100 characters so I'll add, I've eaten microwaved pasta that tasted better. I can't understand the hype. The Italy comparison is preposterous. For Reals! Setting is nice : )

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachiek111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and solid food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This place is kinda hard to find since you can't really see the restaurant from the street. However, that provides a secluded restaurant that has a great atmosphere. Had the lasagna and thought it was very good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Calistyle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Mediterranea also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Casa Mediterranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing