We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place, great athmosphere and food!”
Review of Casa Mediterranea

Casa Mediterranea
Ranked #33 of 1,257 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Alessandro and his staff are glad to offer you a great quality in a friendly place, where you can enjoy a lot of delicious recipes prepared with the taste of the real traditional Italian cooking.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming place, great athmosphere and food!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We found this place accidentally on the 5th Avenue of Playa Del Carmen, not so visible, you have to go inside a small hidden courtyard of a hostel, so it is quite invisible from the street.
But once you see the restaurant, for sure you want to have a table there! Small charming place, great décor, home-made pastas, very unique combination of flavours, delicious! The owner is around and serves food, shares opinion of wine, explains a bit about the place and concept, very very friendly! Try the Tuna Carpaccio, and Pasta with Duck Sauce! Also their Pannacotta is a must! Don't miss this place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judit E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    140
    29
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
berkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Gem of a place”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you are visiting Playa Del Carmen, go to this restaurant. Fantastic food and service and great value for money. A real gem. If you get to the junction with Burger king it is just back from that on the opposite side of the street.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rwk2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Excellent restaurant in the most romantic, beautiful courtyard.
Just off 5th avenue....a little hard to find but worth the effort.
Delicious home made pasta. Service outstanding. You can
see the owners want to make sure you have a great experience.
We would definitely return, and would highly recommend you
make it part of your visit to Playa del Carmen

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Better than Italian food in Italy!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just got back from a seven night vacation and we ate at Casa Mediterranea three times. Wish we would have gone again! Wonderful service, exceptional food, charming atmosphere. Our favorite restaurant in Playa!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wannabeprincess49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic homemade pasta!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We just got back last night from a week in Playa Del Carmen. We were looking for some new options of places to eat. After talking to some locals who recommended this place we gave it a try and were so glad we did. It's a place that is EASILY missed as it's down a little bit of an alley but is surrounded by art shops a,hotel and clothing boutique-very lovely setting!

I had the homemade ravioli stuffed with ricotta cheese and spinach and was covered in a light buttery sage sauce...amazing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MRSAMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Mediterranea also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Casa Mediterranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing