We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden family run Italian gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mediterranea

Casa Mediterranea
Ranked #29 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Alessandro and his staff are glad to offer you a great quality in a friendly place, where you can enjoy a lot of delicious recipes prepared with the taste of the real traditional Italian cooking.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A hidden family run Italian gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed by this local low key trattoria. It is run by an Italian couple and all the staff were lovely.
The food was fresh, piping hot and delicious
Our pasta was al dente and made to order.
Highly recommend a visit.
Very reasonable too!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank connell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    138
    28
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Real Italy in Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our family loved this restaurant...some of the food was better than the pasta I had in Italy a few months ago! The staff is wonderful and very attentive. We will be back again for sure!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 24Krista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pasta @ a price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The pasta was very good, quantity of food and wine was lacking, service however was great. Dessert was very good. Everything was homemade and that was very obvious. The quality of the food was excellent. I thought after receiving the bill that it was a little high though. We also did not like that the "suggested" tip was included in our total bill. We tip generously if it is warranted and did not really appreciate being told what was appropriate. Would we go there again....maybe!
Give it a try and see what you think!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent authentic Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Excellent service and great Italian food at a decent price. Food was excellent; the pasta is homemade and the seafood is fresh. I had a whole fish which was grilled perfectly with zucchini on the side and my husband had the spaghetti with Italian sausage. We had the tiramisu, big enough for 2 which was amazing as well. Everything is homemade including the bread, eventhe bottled water is imported from Italy! Great location in a quiet courtyard off the 5th avenue, very romantic with beautiful decor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank evy0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This small restaurant is situated in a small courtyard off 5th Avenue/6th Norte. It shares the space with an art gallery, small hotel and a few small shops. It's very pretty with fairy lights in the palm trees. The restaurant has a few tables indoors and the rest outside. The pasta is home made and the service excellent. We first visited after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and liked it so much that we returned for our last night there. The food is delicious and the wine was good too. Give it a try and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PetaLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Mediterranea also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Casa Mediterranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing