We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening I wished I could have back again”
Review of Senor Frog's

Senor Frog's
Ranked #125 of 1,333 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Food, Fiesta, Beach Club & Souvenirs! Enjoy one of the best venues in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We went to Senor Frogs with family and friends. We were there on a Tuesday night and it was obvious they cater to a much younger crowd. The noise was deafening, which we can understand, however; there was never a break. The waiter was nowhere to be found and furthermore, could have cared less about a bunch of baby boomers who were trying to get some food. Yes, they cater to a much younger crowd, but they must also remember 'who' pays the bills. When your heart vibrates in your chest, it is a bit over the top. There were other folks with us this evening, and quite frankly, they will never be back. After terrible service, the waiter had the audacity to ask me 'how' big a tip I was going to leave. Second mistake was that I left a tip just to get out of there. This is one 'boomer' who will never return. There are other establishments who were begging for our business, and they will get my business the next time around. Senor Frogs is ripe for another business to take over their turf; a business which recognizes the value of their customers and caters to others except young girls on Spring Break.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Senor Frog's, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Hello, we appreciate your comments.

We have 19 years being a fun place to spend your vacations, hope you can give us a try and experience all the happiness in Señor Frogs.

best Regards,
Señor Frogs Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 721 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

We went to Playa Del Carmen to check out the sites and after walking around in the hot sun we decided to grab a bite to eat and some cool drinks at Senor Frogs. The food was very good (shrimp tacos were great) and we the drinks come in various sizes. The service was great, the atmosphere was fun (I imagine at night it would get pretty wild) and the view is gorgeous. The restaurant is right on the beach and you can watch the surf and the Cozumel ferry coming and going.

Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Last week, my daughter and I, along with 4 other daughters and moms, went to the Cancun area for spring break. I was a little wary of going to Senor Frogs. Just didn't know what to expect and wanted our girls to be safe.

Oh my gosh - best time of our spring break trip! (the whole trip was pretty awesome too!) We were warned that the drinks and food was expensive, but you also get the fun atmosphere, the location right on the beach and the wonderful service.

** The food was very very good.
** We had "Mother Margaritas (we thought it was fitting...). They were awesome... and strong!
** The wait staff was absolutely the best. We got there a little after another large group (from our same high school) and they were already dancing on stage. Our girls were a little more apprehensive, so we asked the waiters if they would bring our girls up to the front and dance with them at some point (tipping them of course). They did so willingly, and the girls loved it!

You have to be prepared that this is not a quiet, typical family sit-down restaurant. If you want to have fun, get loud, get in the Mexicani-vacation spirit, this place is for you!

Thank julsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

If your looking for a place to to stop and rest, maybe get a drink or have a snack this is the place. The view right off the beach is awesome. There are some interesting vendors around that area where you can barter for some gifts. But Senor's is lot of fun filled with great waiters and waitresses who want to see you have a good time. A visit here is a must when your in the area if just for a quick drink or snack. Again the food is not 5 star but it's good far for this type of restaurant. Just the color, fun and atmosphere are worth a visit. Check them out if your in Playa Del Carmen. We've been there every time we've been in the area and we always have fun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Timothy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Senor Frog's, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Hello!!!
Thanks for your comments!!

Love to hear you had a great time in Sr Frogs!
Hope to see you around soon!

Best Regards
Señor Frogs Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

March 21st, 2014 I along with three other adults took eight high school seniors to Senor Frogs in Playa del Carmen. We had a great time and everything was very nice until we returned home three days later and found that all of our credit cards had been copied and over $3900 was charged to my card. How low can you go? We spent over $420 at this place and also tipped the waiter very well and he showed his appreciation by stealing our credit card information! If you choose to go the this low rent place make sure you pay with cash.

Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senor Frog's also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Senor Frog's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing