We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, maintenance needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen
Ranked #187 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Hotel Copa is right on 5th across from the Tequila Barrel. What a great location. It would be such a neat place if they would just fix it up. The internet was good enough to do a Skype call, but you have to be in the back left of the courtyard. The jucuzi tub is empty and looks like it's been that way a long time.

The bathrooms are like many other Mexican bathrooms, and not exactly fancy, but adequate. Beds are a little hard but okay. The AC is awesome! After a week down there without it, it was terrific!

Beyond that, there really isn't much more too it

Room Tip: The room in the back on the left of the 1st floor it's like 6 or 7 is great. It has two floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Real_Colorado_Native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 68 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We arrived and were told there were no more rooms available (despite our prepaid reservation through Expedia). Manager walked by and magically found a room for us (#7). This is a nice, well located hotel that badly lacks maintenance. Spa not working. Rusty fridge. Hardly any dishes and no pots & pans. Noisy at night but the old A/C will make you deaf so it's okay. There's a brand new A/C but it's... unusable. We had a good stay overall but wouldn't go back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank filionceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Uppon arrival, the hotel had lost our reservation. We were "upgraded" to room #7 wich is a very big room with sererate bedroom and living room, fridge and kitchen. Kitchen was dirty (see photos). Make sure you plug in your fridge uppon arrival.

The room seemed ok clean at first, Then we noticed the rust on the fridge and the kitchen and bathroom sink were dirty.

The spa was out of serving during our 3 day stay even though we were told uppon arrival that it would be working the next morning. It did not.

There were two air conditionning units : a really recent model wich they did not give us the remote too and an really old and dirty model wich worked ok but is located under the bathroom sink.

Great location, restaurants and bars are close by.

Wi-Fi works in the lobby only. Don't expect 3G internet to work on your device at night time because there is simply too many people in the area. 3G works in the morning in that area.

The bed is really comfortable. We did have musketos at night time and morning in the room. Best to close bathroom and living room door when you sleep.

Would I travel back there? Mabye.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I am ok with hole in the wall, backpacker type hotels. I've stayed in many. However dirty and moldy are a result of laziness not simplicity. There was trash outside, YELLOW stains on the sheets (NOT older yellow tinged...) and a big black hair on the pillow. When I asked for new covers I was told that they couldn't be changed until tomorrow when the cleaning lady returns. Aka. You and your children are going to be sleeping on whatever bodily fluid caused stain that is because I'm not doing anything about it. So...not a single extra set?...so when exactly do you wash the covers?? The guard was nice...so nice that he was chatting up a couple outside of the "hotel" and not paying attention to the entrance. Why is that important? Because the only protection for your room is a cheap sliding glass door...you know...the kind they no longer make because thieves break into them. Why might that be an issue? Because you're across from the tequila bar where we watched a man's head get slammed into the brick road. We came here for the atmosphere and you are CLOSE. Which means even if you want to stay out til three am every night you'll still having trouble sleeping with the music pumping out of the bars until almost six. The real issue for us was that when we realized that the place was a HUGE bug infested, unkept, rotting "paradise," they refused to let us cancel the reservations (we have small children and their grandparents.) The company we booked with said that the hotel would have to okay it (which probably means that they would be out the company's commission) but it was Christmas Eve and there were plenty of potential guests. I would have happily paid the difference, but no. Even though their pictures were VERY deceiving ( we're talking holes in the couches, dirt on the floors, nasty mold on the 80s fridge) they acted like I was lying about the call with the company AND refused to give me the actual owner's email or phone number (who also refused to cancel the reservation). I wanted to give her a chance to defend herself prior to posting pics but clearly that's not going to happen. And in case you're wondering you will NOT be a Able to forget about all these nasty facts in the pool. The little pool was dirty and I never saw a single guest brave enough to go in. The other fountains were broken in pieces and dry. When it rains the patio becomes a slick, dirt filled pool. There are many cleaner small, inexpensive hotels in the area; Go there instead.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I was here in January 2013. Our room was just behind the street with all the bars. When you take a shower, the hot water lasts 2 minutes only. The AC is very noisy. The place is well located, but for the price you can find much better places. This is a tourist trap.

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank Gladysfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I been at the hotel for 2 weeks, with my husband, and our littles kids, we love the little cute hotel, we had a nice kitchen with every thing that we need, and the personal it was really really kind and helpful. We do appreciate all the good tips they give us to have a perfect vacation! This is our way to say thanks very much for all your effort !
Regards from the Michelle family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lourdes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel was in a convenient location which was great! Upon entry it looked as nice as the other hotels in close proximity. We stayed in room 7 which was not that great as a total package. The first night the towels and linens were fine, we had two full beds. The second night one of the towels had a big hole. Other observations were that the mosquito nets had holes in them which was not a big issue at the time due to not many mosquitoes (I'm not sure if this was due to the time of year or that I got lucky). The kitchen was a nice touch and although we did not use it, the appearance made us thankful that we did not have to.

I've read some reviews on the noise and honestly the noise from the bars in the area was not that unbearable and I was able to sleep through it. However, other guest were very noisy after 12 pm and were yelled at by another guest instead of management. I'm not sure if that noise level by guest is acceptable by management but it was very annoying.

I would not recommend this place this place for couples, it may be more suitable for groups of friends looking for a cheap stay in a good location and who are not too concerned with cleanliness.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgi-bze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
11.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,096 reviews
12.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,401 reviews
10.1 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#72 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
13,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
16,877 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen

Address: 5th Av. No. 209 Bt 10 12, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $48 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, Hotel Copa offers 20 rooms & Suites amidst tropical vegetation and a mix of Mexican colors and shapes. Hotel Copa puts you in the middle of the action, whether your thing is to chill in a hammock, sun bathe in one of the most beautiful beaches in the world or party rock all night, Copa is the place to be as its central location is second to none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copa : Hotel En Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing