We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy, disgusting, with stained, dirty, HAIRY sheets. Cockroaches!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen
Ranked #175 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Cancun, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Filthy, disgusting, with stained, dirty, HAIRY sheets. Cockroaches!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I am ok with hole in the wall, backpacker type hotels. I've stayed in many. However dirty and moldy are a result of laziness not simplicity. There was trash outside, YELLOW stains on the sheets (NOT older yellow tinged...) and a big black hair on the pillow. When I asked for new covers I was told that they couldn't be changed until tomorrow when the cleaning lady returns. Aka. You and your children are going to be sleeping on whatever bodily fluid caused stain that is because I'm not doing anything about it. So...not a single extra set?...so when exactly do you wash the covers?? The guard was nice...so nice that he was chatting up a couple outside of the "hotel" and not paying attention to the entrance. Why is that important? Because the only protection for your room is a cheap sliding glass door...you know...the kind they no longer make because thieves break into them. Why might that be an issue? Because you're across from the tequila bar where we watched a man's head get slammed into the brick road. We came here for the atmosphere and you are CLOSE. Which means even if you want to stay out til three am every night you'll still having trouble sleeping with the music pumping out of the bars until almost six. The real issue for us was that when we realized that the place was a HUGE bug infested, unkept, rotting "paradise," they refused to let us cancel the reservations (we have small children and their grandparents.) The company we booked with said that the hotel would have to okay it (which probably means that they would be out the company's commission) but it was Christmas Eve and there were plenty of potential guests. I would have happily paid the difference, but no. Even though their pictures were VERY deceiving ( we're talking holes in the couches, dirt on the floors, nasty mold on the 80s fridge) they acted like I was lying about the call with the company AND refused to give me the actual owner's email or phone number (who also refused to cancel the reservation). I wanted to give her a chance to defend herself prior to posting pics but clearly that's not going to happen. And in case you're wondering you will NOT be a Able to forget about all these nasty facts in the pool. The little pool was dirty and I never saw a single guest brave enough to go in. The other fountains were broken in pieces and dry. When it rains the patio becomes a slick, dirt filled pool. There are many cleaner small, inexpensive hotels in the area; Go there instead.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
18
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I was here in January 2013. Our room was just behind the street with all the bars. When you take a shower, the hot water lasts 2 minutes only. The AC is very noisy. The place is well located, but for the price you can find much better places. This is a tourist trap.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladysfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I been at the hotel for 2 weeks, with my husband, and our littles kids, we love the little cute hotel, we had a nice kitchen with every thing that we need, and the personal it was really really kind and helpful. We do appreciate all the good tips they give us to have a perfect vacation! This is our way to say thanks very much for all your effort !
Regards from the Michelle family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel was in a convenient location which was great! Upon entry it looked as nice as the other hotels in close proximity. We stayed in room 7 which was not that great as a total package. The first night the towels and linens were fine, we had two full beds. The second night one of the towels had a big hole. Other observations were that the mosquito nets had holes in them which was not a big issue at the time due to not many mosquitoes (I'm not sure if this was due to the time of year or that I got lucky). The kitchen was a nice touch and although we did not use it, the appearance made us thankful that we did not have to.

I've read some reviews on the noise and honestly the noise from the bars in the area was not that unbearable and I was able to sleep through it. However, other guest were very noisy after 12 pm and were yelled at by another guest instead of management. I'm not sure if that noise level by guest is acceptable by management but it was very annoying.

I would not recommend this place this place for couples, it may be more suitable for groups of friends looking for a cheap stay in a good location and who are not too concerned with cleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgi-bze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Hotel is nice, and is according to the price.
Very clean and attention is excellent.
The loacation couldn't be better, it is just in the quinta avenida, where all the restaurants, bars and discos are located.
The beach is very close, just one block away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed there for one night before our flight home the next day. The hotel has the rustic and old Mexican charm. It has great location and friendly staff. You step outside the hotel and you are in the middle of shops and restaurants. The hotel room is basic but clean. Most importantly, the air conditioning worked well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wander2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Flthy chair for the receptonist to sit on. Computer did not work to confirm our reservation, so we stood for 20 min waiting. We saw the room--I almost died. The bathroom sink looked like it had not been cleaned in a week. There was a puddle of bar soap next to it, a scummy puddle. There were black hairs around the sink. (I do have photos!) The mattress had a tear in the corner that was filthy with stuffing popping through. When I pulled back the drape, the whole curtain rod fell onto the floor. The AC didn't work. There was no safe in the room for valuables, and no way to secure any, as the manager was not there.

We asked to see another room. Same story. There was womens' face powder all around the sink. We stated that we wanted a refund of our (Expedia) money and got it. On the way through the entrance, we passed the mini pool-pond. It was slimy bright green with algae. Disgusting. Worst hotel I have ever seen, by far. Even the front desk guy agreed it was bad. He barely spoke a word of English

Room Tip: Stay away unless you want to sleep in filth with your valuables strapped to your body.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Azul
Hotel Azul
#196 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olive Hotel & Boutique
Olive Hotel & Boutique
#188 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Bric Hotel
Maya Bric Hotel
#156 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#17 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
719 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
#177 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Bea...
#147 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen

Property: Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen
Address: 5th Av. No. 209 Bt 10 12, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, Hotel Copa offers 20 rooms & Suites amidst tropical vegetation and a mix of Mexican colors and shapes. Hotel Copa puts you in the middle of the action, whether your thing is to chill in a hammock, sun bathe in one of the most beautiful beaches in the world or party rock all night, Copa is the place to be as its central location is second to none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copa : Hotel En Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing