We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Rio Secreto

Rio Secreto
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.98*
and up
Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Rio Secreto Plus: Admission Ticket in Playa del Carmen
More Info
$146.00*
and up
Combo Tour: Tulum Ruins Early Access Tour Plus Rio Secreto Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Mexico reveals its newly-discovered underground river: Very few places in the world boast conditions that make it possible to witness the extraordinary beauty of an underground river. Rio Secreto is a fantastic journey into a unique system of underground rivers and ancient caverns that reveals both the astonishing interaction of time within the interior of our planet and the miraculous existence of our lives. Come and experience this magical journey with us on your next vacations in Mexico.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Did this trip with my wife In early June and had a really good time.

Our tour guide was Liah and she was excellent. We did not make a reservation in advance and chose to do this tour on a rainy day since it was underground, and we did not regret it. The tour lasted a few hours and was very educational and interesting. Our tour guide was amazing, and she even did the tour in 3 languages. The caves were beautiful, the water was amazing and we had time to swim around , pose for photos and they even served us food once we were done.

The facilities were good to, to change, lock up your valuables and belongings, and they give you all the equipment you need. (wet suit, water shoes, helmet with a headlamp)

Do this tour! But i would do it on a rainy day if possible because its one of the few things you can do in all weather. Ask for Liah ! Although i'm sure the other guides are good too.

2  Thank MtlRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Secreto M, Manager at Rio Secreto, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you MtlRich for sharing your thoughts with us. No matter what the weather is like, Rio Secreto is always an incredible experience! In fact, when it rains here in the Riviera Maya, it is said that it is "a Rio Secreto day"! Glad you had a great time with us. We hope you will come visit us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,698)
There are newer reviews for Rio Secreto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,517 - 2,521 of 5,699 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

The actual caves were good an interesting, didn't care for the guide. He moved ahead quickly without regard to checking to see if everyone was okay or keeping up with the group. You cannot take a camera into the cave, not sure why you can't take a waterproof camera, so they have a photographer. I wanted the pictures and after the cave tour we waited for our picture to be posted to purchase. It was really disappointing, the shots were not good and we had individual pixs of other people rather than ourselves on our own disc. Nonetheless we purchased only one as remembrance of our trip. We also wanted to purchase the shirts they offered for sale. They only had smalls for women and medium for men. Not one of the better tours we have been on while in Mexico.

1  Thank 2NJLUV2TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Pablo our guide was very good. this place was beautiful! The tour wasn't rushed at all. Well worth the money. Be prepared for steep picture prices at the end of the tour, but they are worth it! You'll regret not having them to show family and friends. i would have done it again the next day.

1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Secreto M, Manager at Rio Secreto, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you Sam B for visiting us at Rio Secreto. We are so pleased you had a great time and that you could share this amazingly beautiful underworld with us. Where are your photos? We would love to see them and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Riviera Maya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We've been to the area six times and were finished with zip lining and jeep tours and wanted to see something totally natural. This place is just amazing and so wonderful for preserving the caves and underground rivers. Our guide was very knowledgeable and obviously loved it. The last part of the tour is swimming/floating in beautiful underground pools that is just breathtaking. The lunch that followed was fine. We rent cars when we are here and so our admission was just about $65 per person - which I don't mind at all as the profits go towards preserving this natural wonder.

1  Thank skimama74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Secreto M, Manager at Rio Secreto, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Hello skimama74. Thank you for choosing the Rio Secreto experience this time round on your vacation. We can´t believe it took you 6 visits to the Riviera Maya before coming to visit us. We are glad you did and are so pleased that you had a great time and especially, that you enjoyed the floating part. It really does give you an opportunity to be able to admire these spectacular formations. We operate 3 unique routes in Rio Secreto and would love to have the opportunity to show you a new one the next time you are here on vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Excursion was great. Bought the $70 dvd - took it home, put it in my laptop - AND IT WAS BLANK!!!!!! called them - but no response. All I want is the memories or my $70 back!
Please advise them to provide my money or dvd before you buy yours. The excursion was tremendous - very disappointed!!!!!!

1  Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Secreto M, Manager at Rio Secreto, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Randy H.
Thank you for visiting us at Rio Secreto and we are so pleased you had a great time with us. I am truly sorry that you experienced a technical problem with your photo CD. It is unfortunate that you did not get hold of us to fix the problem. We have had over 300,000 visitors to the Rio Secreto Nature Reserve, most of whom have purchased photo CD's without any problem. I will be mailing you directly in order to obtain your postal details and have your CD sent immediately.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Secreto also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Rio Secreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing