We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime.”
Review of Rio Secreto

Rio Secreto
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.98*
and up
Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Rio Secreto Plus: Admission Ticket in Playa del Carmen
More Info
$146.00*
and up
Combo Tour: Tulum Ruins Early Access Tour Plus Rio Secreto Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Mexico reveals its newly-discovered underground river: Very few places in the world boast conditions that make it possible to witness the extraordinary beauty of an underground river. Rio Secreto is a fantastic journey into a unique system of underground rivers and ancient caverns that reveals both the astonishing interaction of time within the interior of our planet and the miraculous existence of our lives. Come and experience this magical journey with us on your next vacations in Mexico.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you do nothing else while in Playa del Carmen it should be this.Not only is it mind expanding it is incredibly relaxing. One leaves not only in touch with nature and with ones self you will also have feel more balanced,.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank seanandgrant19d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,351
    898
    187
    51
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must when you visit PDC”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very impressive trip, beyond our expectation. I was thinking whether I should go to Xcaret or Rio Secreto. After reading reviews of both, I chose Rio Secreto because I brought my mom (60 years old) there and I don't think she can be out in the sun from 8a.m. to 9 p.m. It turned out that I made the right choice.. the experience there was awesome, breathtaking, amazing,etc. words aren't enough to explain. My mom loves this place the most during our visit in Mexico. I recommend you to take the tour. It's something to do once in a lifetime. The experience in the cave made all other imperfection minor and negligible. We ended up buying the photos too. The only complaint is that the size/pixel of the photos should be bigger, given the price we paid. However, most of the photos are less than 500KB.. some are even less than 200 KB.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nature at her best....”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

When we arrived at Rio Secreto we did not really know what to expect. Our daugher got to pick our excursion and she picked Rio Secreto and it turned out we were all glad that she did. The staff is great, the lunch was great, but the real attraction is the cave. It is beyond words. The cave is an underground world that few have ever had the chance to see. Our tour guide Rodrego, was the best. He was very well informed, knows the cave and has a great sense of humor. The tour itself is 1 1/2 hours of walking through water exploring the natural beauty of a huge cave. It is a physcial walk but well worth the effort. When all the lights were turned off it is dark,dark,dark. I didn't know what dark was until it went dark in the cave. If you get the chance don't pass it up. It is a one of a kind adventure.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Adventure Underground”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I toured the Rio Secreto as part of a highly recommended cruise excursion. I was absolutely amazed to be part of a newly discovered cavern system that has been hidden from human eyes for centuries, that is until 2006. Our tour guide was very enthusiastic in bringing us through the caverns sometimes wading, sometimes, swimming, sometimes crouching and squeezing through. The lunch served afterward was a delicious buffet of local foods. While cameras are not allowed, there are several photographs taken during the tour that are made available for purchase after the tour is complete.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FLDIsneyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible experience!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Amazing and other-worldly!
The water is chilly so make sure to get a wet suit that fits!
Talk to your guides - they know an awful lot about it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Secreto also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Rio Secreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing