We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rio Secreto

Rio Secreto
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.98*
and up
Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mexico reveals its newly-discovered underground river: Very few places in the world boast conditions that make it possible to witness the extraordinary beauty of an underground river. Rio Secreto is a fantastic journey into a unique system of underground rivers and ancient caverns that reveals both the astonishing interaction of time within the interior of our planet and the miraculous existence of our lives. Come and experience this magical journey with us on your next vacations in Mexico.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Guerrero Negro, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Dreams”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Fabulous, magnificent!!!! no words to described.

no one allow to carrier own camera. at the end have to buy pics from them, very expensive

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Adn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,100
    839
    185
    49
    28
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Other reviewers will explain the basics of this attraction. I particularly enjoyed the Mayan history of the cave and how the Mayans intertwined the cave and its life-giving water with their beliefs about life. The short Mayan ceremony before entering the cave was interesting. As we were descending into the cave, I looked over at the Mayan man who had done our ceremony and he was smiling and he gave me a little wave. For me, it was a special moment between two people from completely different cultures.
I particularly enjoyed the colors of the cave....the translucent greens and aqua colors of the water were so tranquil. When the river gets deep, you float through the cave. This for me was the special part of Rio Secreto, the water.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sizergh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kantun Chi Cenotes”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Instead of the Secret River, we went to Kantun Chi, Ecopark, just a few miles from other attractions. This Ecopark is so beautiful that tripadvisor shoukd add them to the list as attraction.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TRY IT - YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Magnificent! Enjoyable from start to finish. Everything is provided for the experience - wetsuits, water shoes, helmets with lights, walking sticks (really glad I took one), towels and lunch - all you need is a swim suit. The knowledgeable, considerate, helpful staff are not the least bit pushy - they don't need to be - taking your own camera into the cave would distract from the experience and result in very poor pictures. The pictures taken are incredible and you are given the option to purchase a CD before you leave or purchase online afterwards. We will absolutely go again - there are three different routes you can take in the cave so we can request a different route when we return. This is NOT your typical "what have I gotten myself into" Caribbean excursion - this is a top notch, professional experience!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great caving adventure”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This underground caving experience was amazing. Our guide Alfredo was knowledgable and funny and very patient. The ride to the entrance of the site from the main road was an adventure in itself, but the staff on location were friendly and professional. All equipment is included - some wetsuits were a bit frayed, but many were new and you don't actually need to wear one if you don't want to. The tour consisted mostly of walking and some swimming, and lasted approx. 1.5 hours - but I could have stayed in there for much longer! At the end of the tour, there is a nice buffet to enjoy before heading back to the hotel. Great experience, highly recommended!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Secreto also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Rio Secreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing