We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This what a dive center: should be: Safe, excellent staff and great dive sites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tank-Ha Dive Center

Tank-Ha Dive Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Tank-Ha Dive Center is personally attended by the owners and therefore guaranteeing safe and attentive impeccable service on land and sea. All our Dive Masters and Dive Instructors are certified, knowledgeable and experienced so they can lead you on the best dive possible, in the safest way.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This what a dive center: should be: Safe, excellent staff and great dive sites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have been diving for two weeks with Tank-Ha and it was just amazing.
I never met a dive center, which was so excellent organized. They really check all your equipment on correct working (safety first!).
Besides the staff is very friendly and there is no rush at all, because you are on holiday .
The staff really points you the most interesting things to see underwater and do their utmost to let you have a great time. We always had fun a the boat.
The dive sites are close by and they have a direct connection to Cozomel, which is excellent.
Another interesting thing is the small groups of diving: just about 4-5 people.
So, if you are Playa, just go directly to one dive store: Thank-Ha.

By the way, I am diving since 2000 and dived in over 15 countries, so Thank-Ha was not my first dive experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch-Pascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    32
    5
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spijkenisse
1 review
“awsome dive experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

First before i went to playa del carmen (pdc) first lookt on the internet for review's on diving shops
Tank ha has got good reviews so emaild them for some questions got good and fast response on my emails agreed to do a package with 6 dives told them iam certifite diver but just so i got some extra attention in my dives the whole staff is very experienced and relax
I felt very save during my dives the where always in small groups
Equipment is good the use
The boats are save with radio, oxygen, etc Cenotes (dos ojos) and cozumel (palancar garden) are things you must see!!
even did a night dive with them it was a great experience

- the are not the cheapest dive shop
- very experienced
- good equipment
- alot of service
- very good vibe
- own boat to cozumel so no ferry etc
- most importend save to dive with!!

from here back home i want to thank everyone from tank ha for the great diving trips
and if you are going to pdc dive with them, only one thing keep a close eye on your stroopwafels!

greetz

Rik( Netherlands)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rik k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome personal attention”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are experienced divers and this is our first time with Tank-Ha. Our original reason for booking with them was that they have the only direct dive boat to Cozumel. The others require the use of the ferry. This saves a lot of time and energy. As it turns out our experience with them went far beyond that. Manny, thanks for all your help in making sure we always had a diving day. Between weather and the port closures you still made it happen. Thanks also for all the pre-trip emails and information that made arranging our dives a breeze. Very professional and entertaining dive masters. Pancho, Ivan, and Mariana for the ocean dives and Leo for our Cenote dives. You guys are the best! Don't forget the boat crews, they also make each dive trip a pleasure. The shop also rinsed and stored our gear after each dive day and had it ready for the next dive. Tank-Ha is in a great location just off of 5th avenue and is only a short walk to the beach and the boats. Would definitely recommend them and will dive with them again in the future. Just a little side note, you will need to get to the shop on your own.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“First time divers - Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have to echo everything Peter said...we went to Tank Ha for our first ever "real" open water dives (not counting the lake where we got our certification). We emailed Manny and asked for his advice, and he developed a package for us that included two dives off of Playa so we could be sure to get used to the ocean and buoyancy before heading to Cozumel.
Once we arrived, he sent us out with an Instructor and a backup diver for our first two dives - a 1:1 ratio is about as good as it can get! They were patient, helped us figure out our buoyancy in the ocean, and showed us some great fish and coral.
The next day we took the boat over to Cozumel. We were lucky with weather, but if it's windy you may want to something if you tend to get seasick. Two dives in Cozumel, again with a fantastic team who helped every step of the way. On the way back, we saw some dolphins so the captain turned around and circled a bit so we could watch them play. All in all, a much better experience than we were expecting. I am so relieved we found TankHa and were able to dive with them for our first ocean experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dive certification”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of utilizing the services of Tank-Ha and we couldn't of asked for a more caring, patient, and professional crew. Manny who I assume is the shop manager was extremely helpful right from the beginning via email. The care factor and sincerity that Manny brings to work on a daily basis....I would steal him away for my business in a heart beat. Kris was our "beyond patient" instructor. Even though he was coming down with quite an illness he attended to us with a very critical eye...never letting us out of his site or off the hook for not meeting his standards. We plan to return and this time because of the service we will stay in playa and then continue on to Cancun all because of the expertise and care demonstrated by this business.....great hires and we look forward to hopefully taking the crew out for a coupe beers next time we are in

Pete and Tracey

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tank-Ha Dive Center also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Tank-Ha Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing