We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Chocoholics go here!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe

Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe
Ranked #1 of 34 Dessert in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ah Cacao Chocolate Café offers natural well-being with premium coffee, chocolate, cacao and vanilla products, direct from the Mexican countryside. The store celebrates the Maya origins of chocolate, Mexico's gift to the world. Specialties include dark chocolate brownies, 100% cacao treats, coffee drinks prepared by professional baristi, and a wide range of packaged gifts (including chocolate cosmetics) for chocolate and coffee lovers.Your purchase in Ah Cacao supports local Mexican families and wildlife conservation projects.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chocoholics go here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The amazing Mexican chocolate is served in many different ways here, including body lotions of all things. The chocolate ans chili ice cream was to die for but my absolute favorite was the chocolate mouse. Made my eyes roll back in my head lol.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonita491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,471
    521
    112
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
“Deliciously moist cake ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

After visiting this cafe 5 times i have to say this is an incredibly indulging cafe to come for excellent coffee and deliciously moist cake. I have tried almost all of the cakes but the carrot cake is my favourite. Friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere, you must choose this place over the several Starbucks dotted along this road. There are 3 ah cacao along this busy road and each as equally as nice as the other. Definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank mermaid-246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Everything Chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Not only was there Mayan Sipping Chocolate delicious! So was the Chocolate Frappé. I also pick up a brownie, the chocolate soap, vanilla and hand soap. I am in love!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diamond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“awesomeness in a cup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

have a small cup of Mayan chocolate for a couple of bucks, and just enjoy the people watching. highly recommend purchasing your vanilla here as it is top of the line stuff, about 9 USD. picked up a bottle for my chef friend who says same bottle goes for 27 CDN at a Toronto swanky grocery store. They also sell sexy little bottles of chocolate massage oil as well as shampoo for a couple of bucks, and they make great little gifties. this is a never-miss spot for me when in PDC or Cancun.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eloisegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“your chocolate fix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

if you are in the mood for chocolate,this is the place.right in the middle of 5th ave.there hot chocolate is delicious,they only problem is that is so humid here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oscar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing