We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“high quality, great flavor”

Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ah Cacao Chocolate Café offers natural well-being with premium coffee, chocolate, cacao and vanilla products, direct from the Mexican countryside. The store celebrates the Maya origins of chocolate, Mexico's gift to the world. Specialties include dark chocolate brownies, 100% cacao treats, coffee drinks prepared by professional baristi, and a wide range of packaged gifts (including chocolate cosmetics) for chocolate and coffee lovers.Your purchase in Ah Cacao supports local Mexican families and wildlife conservation projects.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
207 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“high quality, great flavor”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

What a refreshing treat after a hot day walking around Playa del Carmen! We got a frozen chocolate/coffee drink, and the flavor was so intense and refreshing! Service was efficient and friendly, and the restaurant was spotlessly clean. Wish I could go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerKristenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,734
    624
    131
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Tasty Frappe!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were recommended to come here rather than Starbucks by the Thomson rep and we were so glad we did.

We watched the world go by in 5th avenue from a table outside and enjoyed the best chai frappe and espresso frappe I've ever had. We had to come back once more before we left just for another one!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenixoncemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fine coffee and chocolate place”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Meanwhile there are 3 Ah Cacaos in fast growing Playa del Carmen, all on or very close to 5th Av., and they are nice and easy places to sit down and rest a bit, especially at night when you don't want to go to one of the rather overprized restaurants. You know what you get, and you can watch people over fine chocolate products or a great coffee. They also have nice presents, in case you need some for invitations or saying thanks to someone you met here, or for taking home as a souvenir.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“... amazing, amazing, amazing!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

... go here, NOT starbucks! this is the BEST coffee + coffee products by far.... and the chocolate croissants are the best anywhere. don't miss this for wonderful breakfasts + snacks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank senoracsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always enjoy our Ah Cacao”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Over the years we have frequented Ah Cacao daily on our vacations. We have always had great good, coffee, chocolate drinks, and service. It's a great place to sit and people watch. We have made many friends at Ah Cacao! Edgar is the best!!! Hola Edgar y gracias por todo!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank purpleorchidCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing