We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“... amazing, amazing, amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe

Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ah Cacao Chocolate Café offers natural well-being with premium coffee, chocolate, cacao and vanilla products, direct from the Mexican countryside. The store celebrates the Maya origins of chocolate, Mexico's gift to the world. Specialties include dark chocolate brownies, 100% cacao treats, coffee drinks prepared by professional baristi, and a wide range of packaged gifts (including chocolate cosmetics) for chocolate and coffee lovers.Your purchase in Ah Cacao supports local Mexican families and wildlife conservation projects.
csh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“... amazing, amazing, amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

... go here, NOT starbucks! this is the BEST coffee + coffee products by far.... and the chocolate croissants are the best anywhere. don't miss this for wonderful breakfasts + snacks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank senoracsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,681
    604
    125
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always enjoy our Ah Cacao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Over the years we have frequented Ah Cacao daily on our vacations. We have always had great good, coffee, chocolate drinks, and service. It's a great place to sit and people watch. We have made many friends at Ah Cacao! Edgar is the best!!! Hola Edgar y gracias por todo!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank purpleorchidCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Perfect coffee easy service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The staff smiled as soon as I walked in, they remembered my coffee from the day before, amazing. Latte and a home made brownie... YUM. Many varieties of drinks available with great tasting cakes. This is real coffee cafe... Well done

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MyHoliday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best coffee place in Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I have been a whole month in Playa del Carmen and we went almost daily to Ah Cacao on Constituyentes. Cappuccino is always perfect at the right temperature. Very friendly staff. Free Wifi. A lot less expensive then Starbucks. Just a great little place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ulysse1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Try the "sipping" chocolate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I tried two of the locations along 5th ave, and I kept coming back, bringing more friends. Excellent lattes and caps, and sometimes I opted for the decadent dark choco of the sipping kind.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing