We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Delish!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe

Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe
Ranked #1 of 42 Dessert in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ah Cacao Chocolate Café offers natural well-being with premium coffee, chocolate, cacao and vanilla products, direct from the Mexican countryside. The store celebrates the Maya origins of chocolate, Mexico's gift to the world. Specialties include dark chocolate brownies, 100% cacao treats, coffee drinks prepared by professional baristi, and a wide range of packaged gifts (including chocolate cosmetics) for chocolate and coffee lovers.Your purchase in Ah Cacao supports local Mexican families and wildlife conservation projects.
Lancaster, OH
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delish!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stopped at the 2 different coffee shops in PDC several times. Everything we had was wonderful. Had a couple cappuccinos and iced frappe's. The hubby had a piece of cheesecake one evening and said it was good. Purchased some cocoa and chocolates to bring home. All in all I would definitely make this a stop on your trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iemmaklutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,601
    569
    122
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ahhhhddictive Cacao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The chocolate there is just amazing. Definitely one of the best, especially the "Chocolate Tradicional" and "Chocolate Maya". I never got to try their coffee, as I couldn't get enough of their chocolate everytime I went. I also recommend bringing back their cacao powder and cacao beans to enjoy when back home, or to offer as nice gifts. The atmosphere is relaxed, with a very friendly staff. They also have free wifi.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tri168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ah Cacao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

really healthy chocolate and wonderful brownies chocolate mouse and great hot chocolate all made from natural cocao beans

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LUBELULA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hot Chocolate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

For years I have gone to Ah Cacao for brownies - very rich, very good. I don't like coffee (Ah Cacao is also a coffee spot) and never thought of myself has having a chocolate thing like many. Then one cool evening I decided to try the hot chocolate. It is wonderful! There are two locations on 5th Ave. now so it's easy to get to. The brownies are still good and they sometimes have very nice and affordable gifts. There is a really nice jewelry store across from the one on 5th and Constituentes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chuckofdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Sat here now after amazing cake and ice cream shake and ice tea. Staff are attentive and ensure you are served quickly and timely . The staff are friendly and the cafe is clean and tidy and a really lovely place to sit and watch the world go by

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shellsina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing