We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Drinking Chocolate”

Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ah Cacao Chocolate Café offers natural well-being with premium coffee, chocolate, cacao and vanilla products, direct from the Mexican countryside. The store celebrates the Maya origins of chocolate, Mexico's gift to the world. Specialties include dark chocolate brownies, 100% cacao treats, coffee drinks prepared by professional baristi, and a wide range of packaged gifts (including chocolate cosmetics) for chocolate and coffee lovers.Your purchase in Ah Cacao supports local Mexican families and wildlife conservation projects.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Drinking Chocolate”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Mayan Hot Chocolate was very good, and up to par for drinking chocolate. Not impressed with the to go coffee we ordered. Service was a bit slow inside and pretty cramped for waiting. Outside seating is large and comfortable. Would have liked to try some other menu items.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IlliniMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,737
    626
    132
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MMMMM... Chocolate :)”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I go to Ah Cacao very often. Actually so often that the staff knows me there :) I LOVE the brownies, the chocolate mouse and the chocolate frappe, and if YOU also love chocolate you should visit Ah Cacao as soon as possible :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rikkita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dark Chocolate”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I personally loved the Mayan hot chocolate, but it failed to impress my three teens. They're not dark chocolate lovers. There is a plain hot chocolate on the menu. Didn't get a chance to sample it. I suspect if the plain hot chocolate is not as rich as the mayan chocolate, the kids would have been happier.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We stopped here every morning . . .”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

. . . and most evenings as well. Great coffee, lattes, expresso, and cappuccino, as well as brownies that were so good, we were glad we didn't find out about them until later in the week, because we all would have gained a few extra pounds. Seek out this coffee shop instead of Starbucks . . . you'll be glad you did!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RADelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had a 3oz cup of sipping chocolate, and my husband had the 3oz cup of Mayan chocolate. Just the right size for a cup of yummy, forget dessert try this instead.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chungo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing