We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Acuario Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$297
$236
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$292
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$517
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$318
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$370
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
$520
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$535
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$229
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$480
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
173
78
20
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
78
20
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnamed coconice poolwithin walking distancecollectivo stationhot watercable tvhome away from homeminute walk to the beachlate at nightitalian restaurantkitchenettewalmartavenuemexicoquintataxis
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 274 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and really glad we did. Got a very nice welcome and free fresh coffee in reception. Had fridge in the room and a/c so everything we needed. It was all clean and the pool was lovely too. It's only a 5 min walk from the main street and beach so nicely out of the way. There is on street parking straight outside hotel which was also handy. Overall great value for money and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eldodgemous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

After staying at a somewhat cold 'business' hotel in Cancun, it was a relief to step into the funky lobby of El Acuario! We had a twin room (2 double beds) on the ground floor near the gazebo. Every room has a little area outside with their own hammock. The pool area is really what makes this place - it is so pretty and lovely to look at.

The room was basic but clean. We were glad to have a fridge in the room (not sure if this was standard). The bathroom was small and the hot water wasn't great, but it's hot outside so you don't care in Mexico! The airconditioner in the room was a bit noisy, however we never heard any noise in the hotel itself as all the rooms are built around the courtyard/pool area and don't face the street. The wifi worked well.

This place was about 3-4 blocks from the beach and main shopping strip in Playa. A great location. Playa is fun to walk around in and explore and it was fine not staying right on the beach or over the main street (that would be too noisy and expensive in my opinion).

I would definitely return to El Acuario if travelling to Playa again :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank queenjojo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

thanks to diane and staff had a wonderful 10 days--hope to return soon, because everyone made me feel like family--this is the REAL mexico, not some overpriced resort--love the breakfast in the "yellow shack" around the corner, please give my best to marshall there--i could go on and on but just need to say i miss it and love the mexican people...MIKE

Room Tip: probably any room would be excellent
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77zeppelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We had the kitchenette on the 2nd level #202. Squeaky clean and the whitest freshest sheets ever! Air con, TV, free coffee, WIFI.

Mexican flare, clean, simple, safe and basic. Includes the friendliest cat named Coco who does her daily rounds of inspection and visiting.

Our room (as all rooms) overlook the pool and lovely well-kept garden area.

A few blocks to town but close to some of the tastiest (cheapest) local food around. Thanks Diane for your assistance.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heeter_lyn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I want to thank Diane with all her help to make our holiday perfect.
We stayed only 1 night, but we wanted to come back for our last days, unfortunately they were fully booked. Diane make all her best to help and find us the other hotel with the swimming pool.

Nice quiet place with nice colours.

KIITOS!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anu1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews