We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food for a rare great price on 5th avenue!”
Review of La Vagabunda

La Vagabunda
Reserve with OpenTable
La Vagabunda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 1,255 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 24th y 26th
Description: Traditional recipes hand-picked from the Mexican countryside create the foundation for Vagabunda's bold menu. Using honest ingredients and modern techniques, La Vagabunda presents authentic Mexican & International dishes with a new twists. Also featuring an unsurpassed selection of tequilas, we guarantee you'll find the bright and vibrant restaurant just as exciting as the food. Since 2000 Local's Favorite for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food for a rare great price on 5th avenue!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

when we arrived in playa del carmen we vowed to never eat in the same restaurant twice...by the end of our stay we had eaten at la vagabunda four times! It's the only restaurant we repeated...2 breakfasts and 2 lunches.
we were hesitant at first as we had ordered tacos in a few other places on the strip and ended up paying wayyyy too much for three 2-bite tacos...not La Vagabunda...the portions were huge and all came with a free drink and chips and dips...and the food tasted great! I don't know what they put in that bean dip but I was hooked! the breakfast portions are huge...you can definately share the especial breakfast, we didn't and had to roll back to the hotel. Oh, and the coffee is brewed not instant and served in big mugs not shot glasses!
The staff were very friendly and attentive often dancing as they walked from table to table and offered each lady her own purse hook at the table.
great location on the strip with perfect people watching capabilities (count how many people scream as they pass the snake guy!) and just an all around cool and comfortable vibe.
With many tables and staff on duty even though the resaurant was always nearly full it never felt busy.
There's a reason why vagabonds like us kept going back for more!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eco_girl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANNONEPLAYA, Propietario at La Vagabunda, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi "eco_girl55"!

We appreciate so much your recomendation.

We are glad to read that food and service were great! This is very important for us.
Thank you for visit us! We hope to see you soon!

Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,560
    949
    242
    91
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentically Delicious!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our first visit to Playa del Carmen, and we were very pleased to find La Vagabunda. The food was sensational. The customer service was exceptional. The servers at our dinner and farewell lunch were on both occasions outstanding. We highly recommend the burritos. This is a must do if you are going to Playa del Carmen, it truly enhanced our vacation. It is a perfect spot for a casual night out, or a leisurely lunch or breakfast for that matter! This place has such a lively & fun atmosphere that I think it would be a fun place to host an afterwork event or a celebration birthday dinner. As for romance, like anything - it could be as romantic as you are. :-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gzzards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANNONEPLAYA, Propietario at La Vagabunda, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi "Gzzards"!

We appreciate so much your recomendation.

We are glad to read that food and service were great!Specialy the burritos. Offer an excellent food and service is our mayor goal.
Thank you for visit us! We hope to see you soon!

Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo new york
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A good resturant”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had here a couple of times. The food was always good, as well as the service.

The first night I ordered lobster. I typically don't like lobster, as I find it too rich-but I was craving for it and I decided that this resturant would be the one I ordered it at. To my suprise it was very good. They grilled it, and it was very yummy.

The other surprise is their chicken wings. As I am from Buffalo New York (famous for their wings), I was curious. It mentioned on the menu that they bread the wings (which is a big no-no in Buffalo).....but I was still curious.

Typically, before wings were famous world wide, Buffalonians would find resturants outside of the Buffalo (namely in the south of the US at first) that offered wings. Always, they were breaded and were terrible.

However, La Vagabunda is the ONLY place I have ever had breaded wings that were good. They do a good job, and have a very buffalonian style wing sauce that is ver appropriate.

GOOD JOB!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mulkern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANNONEPLAYA, Propietario at La Vagabunda, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi "mulkern"!

We appreciate so much your recomendation.

We are glad to read that food and service were great!
Thank you for visit us! We hope to see you soon!

Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a drink!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Recently got back from Mexico. La Vagabunda is the perfect place for coffee and fresh orange juice. We were made welcome by the friendly staff and the drinks were very reasonable. Thanks La Vagabunda!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKR48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANNONEPLAYA, Propietario at La Vagabunda, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Hi "MKR48"!

We appreciate so much your recomendation.

We are glad to read that the drinks are great!
Thank you for visit us! We hope to see you soon!

Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nothing more relaxing drinking Pacifico at La Vagabunda”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great place to stop on a hot day and enjoy a bite to eat and some of the cheapest beer on 5th Avenue.

We enjoyed the guacamole and chips and I had the great Happy Hour deal of two Pacifico's for 44 pesos. My wife had a delicious mango margarita for only 8 pesos. So relaxing sitting close to the street watching the vendors trying to entice guests inside drinking a cold beer. Paradise!

Enjoyed the great service as all of the staff was top notch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANNONEPLAYA, Propietario at La Vagabunda, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Hi "Scott S"!

We appreciate so much your recomendation.

We are glad to read you had a good time at the restaurant!
Thank you for visit us! We hope to see you soon!

Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vagabunda also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Vagabunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing