We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst experience in 4 weeks in Playa”

Fusion Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #89 of 1,257 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Okatie, SC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst experience in 4 weeks in Playa”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Really wanted to like this place as the view was very nice, but that was all it had going for it the day we visited. They had two tables with large groups which may have been the reason our experience was so bad. The waiter took our order, brought our drinks and was never to be seen again. After an hour of waiting, had to ask someone else for our food. Food finally arrives and my fish tacos are full of bones. Not a pleasant experience. And the margaritas were just okay.

I did not punish the waiter as I feel this was not his fault, but the fault of management to not have staffed the place for the large parties they had. Shame on them.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2dineoutOkatie_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    411
    94
    34
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lots of atmosphere”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Loved sitting right on the beach at night with our own kerosene lamp. Seats up front were low, as were the tables, which made it literally a very laid-back experience! Would have loved to come back during the day to appreciate the view. Band was fun, we even danced a bit. Food was not memorable, reliable mexican, but as I recall portions were large. Not easy to find, at the end of a small alley.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Live Loud Music, weak drinks”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The bands for the week I was next to Fusion were all good, but too loud at bar to chat. Great out on beach, especialy w/ fire dancing, but we only went once cause the drinks are too expensive and weak, even after we asked for mojitos that had a taste of rum.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A harmonic spot for day & night.”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We were there at night , saw the general concept with carribean style dressed waitresses and bartenders and very good music selection ... We were there at noon having a nice lunch with quite a quick service and good Mochitos on a beach side seats. Will try to be back there for sure!

Helpful?
Thank Zhanna1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location and Live Entertainment”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I planned to visit Fusion on my last night in Playa based on the recommendation of a local resident. On the night I went they entertainment was a belly dancer and two live bands, of the three I enjoyed the salsa band the most. I asked to be seated outside which is on the beach and was quickly accommodated, and within five minutes naturally it began to rain. Everyone shuttled inside the restaurant which still had plenty of room to accommodate all of the patrons. I ordered a margarita and fish tacos while there. The margarita was good the fish tacos would have been good as well if they hadn't been sodium free. The only thing I could taste was very fresh fish, and sauteed veggies, no seasoning. Perhaps I happened to just get unlucky that night, but it was a little disappointing. Luckily the drink, location, and entertainment made up for my lack luster meal. I'd visit again to make sure it wasn't a fluke, the location is just adorable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abangura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fusion Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Fusion Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing