We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of La Caprichoza

La Caprichoza
Ranked #205 of 1,280 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, International
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
st. louis,u mo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stumbled onto this place 8 years ago and have been back every time we visit Playa which is about 11 trips now. We have always had great food and service there and Lorenzo our waiter always seems to remember us and this trip he spotted us and ask why we were not sitting at one of his tables ? To which we felt guilty about not seeing or asking for him!
But the food whether it's simple Mexican cuisine or a awesome shrimp diablo or lobster dinner the food is always great! Plus it's a great place to sit above 5th ave and watch all the people pass by
Well worth the visit can't wait to be back in May!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kzieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    94
    38
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SAINT JOSEPH
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We celebrated last night.
Down the avenue we went to La Caprichoza - Flambee Mexican Cuisine

No sax player last night, this time a local person playing flutes of all kinds - kinda kool and very romantic.

We started with the guac made at the table - remember??

Then surf & turf - lobster and steak for me - & big shrimps for my wife - cooked at the table, cooked in tequila, white wine, garlic and sour cream,
Shrimps were very good!
We finished it off with the Flaming coffee drink - WAY KOOL MAN!!!

Get your picture taken and wait for the surprise, it is very different.

For a fun night out on the town in Playa Del Carmen you must try this restaurant!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quickpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average food, great service”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

The food was average. The salsa, guacamole and queso fundido however, were really good. The service was excellent. Our waiter was friendly and really made us feel welcome. I liked the open air atmoshere. A man playing a flute was enjoyable. If you can, sit at a table by the railing so you can see outside. They had buy one, get one drinks when I was there. And they will keep them coming until you say stop!

Some crazy guy will come over to your table and put big sombreros on your head and take your picture, put the picture on a tequila bottle and try to sell it to you. Cute souvenir. I bought one. Then you can get the picture on Facebook the next day.

Overall, I enjoyed my experience here. I was not wowed, but also not disappointed either.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MT0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cadillac Margarita's”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Order everything table side, Cadillac Margarita, guacamole, Tequila & Garlic shrimp, Banana Foster

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank TCB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great salsa, a nice view, but mediocre food”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My family and I stopped here for dinner. The restaurant was pretty empty so we got a seat right by the railing, which was nice for people watching. The live pan flute music was nice but a little louder than I would have liked.

As for the food, the salsa was outstanding! I quickly gobbled down a bowl by myself. Unfortunately, the rest of the food wasn't nearly as good. My mixed fajitas were less appealing than you'd find at a chain restaurant, and my son's chicken fingers were rubbery. The rest of my family was content with their meals.

Thanks to other tripadvisor reviews, we were prepared for the offer to take our photos in ridiculous hats and we politely declined.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nachos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caprichoza also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Caprichoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing