We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, even better service”

La Bodeguita del Medio
Ranked #91 of 1,257 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cuban, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: La Bodeguita del Medio was founded in Cuba in the 1940s as a corner store owned by Angel Martinez. The store became a meeting place for local artists who enjoyed getting together for an afternoon 'Mojito'. The place has preserved the ambiance of the romantic Carribean lifestyle that flourished with Havana. Today the Bodeguita del Medio is famous world wide for Salsa music, fine cigars, its original Mojitos and having guests write their thoughts and comments on the walls of the restaurant.
Saltillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food, even better service”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Since visiting the original Bodeguita some years ago, my wife and I try to eat at one every time we're at a city that has one.

This was one of the best service experiences I've had in quite some time. I will say not since going to Napa Valley about two years ago.

The food is also excellent. Nothing fancy, but great execution on simple plates like rice and beans, fried bananas, ropa vieja...

Do yourself a favor, next time you are at Playa del Carmen, go to La Bodeguita del Medio!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMemoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    296
    90
    37
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprised by great atmosphere and friendly service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We found this wonderful place walking down the 5th Avenue, we walked in and found a very special place, beautifully decorated and with a live salsa band, we requested a table near the musicians and then we taste some typical dishes of Cuba call morros y cristianos with a fried pork on the side, everything was delicious, also the waitress call Montse was so nice, thanks for the wonderful time and the tasty mojitos.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
141 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great latin music!!!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The place is very nice with live latin music and people dacing real salsa. Great place to see "professional" latin dancers. The mujitos are great. Excelente atmosphere, happy place!!! Ah... The food? Just OK, nothing especial!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge_Guedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A bad evening in a Cuban Restaurant”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband & I went to dine last night at this restaurant & the service and food were terrible. I wish we would have gone next door to Mi Pueblo Paririlla Mexicana. We went there before& the food and service was fantastic. So don't waste your time going to La Bodeguita. Instead try Mi Pueblo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bdsully93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lunch was rad”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

twice for lunch brilliant tacos (fish and commandante shrimp), excellent complimentary shots of shrimp bisque, great live music, best cerviche we had in 5 weeks in mexico

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodeguita del Medio also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Bodeguita del Medio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing