We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweseome broiled lobster”
Review of Blue Lobster

Blue Lobster
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Lobster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 1,310 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1a sur y 5ta
Description: In July 1996 Blue lobster opens in Playa del Carmen to become a favorite of locals and tourists to enjoy a delicious lobster, fish and seafood. Built with tropical wood, stone slab, thatched roofs and waterfalls that give an extra relaxation touch. We always try to satisfied and exceed our customers’ expectations. Excellent food, polite waiters and a fantastic view of the fifth Avenue will make you spend an unforgettable night.We have capacity for 130 persons on two levels and an air conditioning area to 22. Blue lobster makes a compromising bet on mexican wine and regional sea dishes that result in a perfect union. They have created perfect unions for their wines’ selection through a very special menu that proposes the perfect combination between their gastronomy and their wines. As three dishes’ menu with different wine suggestions in order to please every palate: reds, whites, roses and foamy wines.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We at here on our last night in Playa del Carmen and we are so glad we did. I remembered eating here with my family about 6 years ago and remembered they had great seafood so my husband and I tried it this trip. Wonderful atmosphere, service, and food. We both had shrimp cocktail, lobster bisque soup, and broiled lobster tail. It was amazing. Then we were offered coffee flavored liquor drinks on the house after our meal. I highly recommend for seafood dinner.

Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you very much for your visit and for your feedback
We appreciate your business and hope to see you soon
thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 513 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were recommended Blue Lobster by our driver coming into PDC, and later by a bartender. As is typical in PDC, the service was excellent. However, the food did not come close to matching the standard of the service. A lobster risotto tasted far too strongly of bell pepper, and the rice was overcooked. Similar situation with a seafood pasta. For an appetizer, we shared a tuna tartare that was not as flavorful as it should have been. I assume they were having an off night in the kitchen as reviews here suggest Blue Lobster should outshine our experience. I would not go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hellolizzie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thanks for your visit and for your comments
Unfortunately The Blue Lobster experience was not entirely pleasant for you.
We work very hard to have satisfied visitors and when events like this happen it is not god at all, we are very concerned.
Sorry and we ask for a second chance as it is very important for us to meet our goal. Visitors satisfied.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Went here with a group we met on holiday and everyone loved the food and the service was brilliant. They even put two extra fans by our table as it was a really humid night. The size of the lobsters are incredible. This place is worth a visit.

Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you very much for your visit
It was a pleasure having you in Blue Lobster
Thank you for sharing your comments and hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Calamari and Guacamole was very good. Lobster Risotto and lobster pasta very good! Husband had scallops and they were very good also! Service good.

Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

We love your feedback
Thanks for your visit and for sharing your experience at Blue Lobster
We like to see you soon back to Blue Lobster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The meal was fresh and delicious. The server was knowledgeable, pleasant and helpful. The prices were comparable to low- Mid range American restaurants

I would recommend this place and I would go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gmbowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thanks for your visit and for sharing your comments.
It was an honor to have you in Blue Lobster and we'd be happy to see you back one day.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lobster also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Blue Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing