We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food and really nice service”
Review of Blue Lobster

Blue Lobster
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Lobster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 1,326 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1a sur y 5ta
Description: In July 1996 Blue lobster opens in Playa del Carmen to become a favorite of locals and tourists to enjoy a delicious lobster, fish and seafood. Built with tropical wood, stone slab, thatched roofs and waterfalls that give an extra relaxation touch. We always try to satisfied and exceed our customers’ expectations. Excellent food, polite waiters and a fantastic view of the fifth Avenue will make you spend an unforgettable night.We have capacity for 130 persons on two levels and an air conditioning area to 22. Blue lobster makes a compromising bet on mexican wine and regional sea dishes that result in a perfect union. They have created perfect unions for their wines’ selection through a very special menu that proposes the perfect combination between their gastronomy and their wines. As three dishes’ menu with different wine suggestions in order to please every palate: reds, whites, roses and foamy wines.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We spent 6 days in Playa del Carmen and 3 nights we were eating there!! Really delicious food and nice service!!!

Thank Elisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Fantastic,
Thank you for your preference and your comments, it is one of our goals to have frequent and satisfied visitors, hope to see you back soon.
thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 578 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

My boyfriend & I ate at the Blue Lobster on one of our last days in Playa.
It turned out to be the in our top two restaurants we ate at during our entire trip in terms of service (although our server barely spoke english) as well as food quality.

We both had the lobster/steak combo and drinks- A+.
Only downfall on eating near 5th Avenue was having the "entertainers" come past multiple times asking for tips to play for your table...but this is to be expected when eating on 5th!

Will definitely come back on a future trip to Playa.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank knb0187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thanks for your comments and your visit to Blue Lobster is an honor to be in your favorite places in playa carmen.
Hope to see you soon on your next visit to Playa del Carmen.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The restaurant was very accommodating for 8 people, especially with two small children. Make sure if you have a large party to reserve ahead. Service was was old-fashioned high end and they were very attentive but not overbearing. Great food, we had the Carabella for two, lovely. Steaks were awesome, seafood great and the desserts were excellent. All around great place and would go back in a second!

Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you very much for your visit and comments, it was a pleasure to served you and your family and friends and honour for us to know that your experience in Blue Lobster was good.
Thanks for your comments and hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed 10 days running around in Tulum, with a final day in PDC to re-live days gone by of the "old PDC'. We wanted a good old lobster dinner before flying back to fridgid MN. The corner of I think 12th and 5th used to be very quiet. But as we knew from our last visit 6 years ago, compared to 10 and 15 years ago, and now....wow. Fun to watch the clubers go by but, you could have bought that whole area for little or nothing compared to now! The Blue Lobster meal and service was outstanding! We shared a nice sized Caribbean lobster tail, done to perfection! Tender, and succulent with no off flavors of oils or grills on the lobster, was enjoyed with an amazing scallop, shrimp, chili and lime ceviche . Thanks Blue Lobster for a GREAT last meal this trip to the Yucatan!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MEXISLACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you very much, totally understand your surprise to see how Playa del Carmen has grown incredibly.
Since 1991 we are in our current location and we have seen has trasnformado 12th Street and 5th Avenue.
It is a pleasure to have been able to meet your expectations and have enjoyed their dinner.
Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

If you are in an all inclusive venture out and experience 5th Ave! walk down to 12th and you will find Blue Lobster. We ate there in the evening and the mood of the restaurant was fun and alive and the waitress was so helpful and attentive. The lobster that accompanies meals is a small lobster so they upwell the bigger lobster tails that are sold by weight. I know this would be a pricey visit so I was more then prepared to pay the extra for a great meal. The wine list is extensive and the food is pretty much perfect. There are two alive night clubs down the street and two hook lounges across the street . . . everything you need for a great night on 12th!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Princesstamtam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaciones Publ... B, Public Relations Manager at Blue Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your visit and taking the time to comment about Blue Lobster.
Playa del Carmen is full of surprises and extraordinary places to have fun and enjoy different food. We appreciate your choice and we are very happy not having disappointed you.
Come back soon and thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lobster also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Blue Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing